Originally posted by shade343:Today I was at whampoa food center when a fight broke up between 2 old man. The fight became very violent when one of them started hurling durains at the person. I called the police and guess what?....They took 25 minutes to arrive!!! They actually send somebody down from the Tanglin police HQ division instead of the nearest Neighbourhood police post(Jalan Besar NPP)(Location is just 5 mins from the location of incident). I couldnt believe it. What took the police so long? By that time, assailant managed to pack all the durains away and the victim was left bleeding on the head. Why SPF so ineffective? This is not the first time, I witness the SPF so ineffective. The previous time they took 10 minutes to arrive at a scene which 1 person was trying to strangle the other.
Originally posted by ctstalin:wah lao, if u know the NPP is 5 mins away, y u muz call 999?
Who remebers the NPP's number? HQ has no contact with NPP ah?Originally posted by ctstalin:wah lao, if u know the NPP is 5 mins away, y u muz call 999?
can walk in wad...Originally posted by shade343:Who remebers the NPP's number? HQ has no contact with NPP ah?
there u are....Originally posted by shade343:Who remebers the NPP's number? HQ has no contact with NPP ah?
The thing is, nobody from NPP came down. It was the police from HQ that came down. They should have sent somebody from NPP. Hope the victim havent die yet. His head bleed very jialat.Originally posted by FireIce:there u are....
u call HQ
HQ forward to right division
call forward here forward there
inform patrol car
blah blah blah
(use common sense, u dun need to be in SPF to know such procedures)
Same thing as traffic accident. They will take a longer time to come. Ambulance arrived faster than the mata car.Originally posted by FireIce:(moved from CC)
LOL.Originally posted by Manager433:Same thing as traffic accident. They will take a longer time to come. Ambulance arrived faster than the mata car.
But if someone report bank kana rob by some robbers arming themself with a couple of AK, they may come even later hoping the robbers ran away first
Pls lor. The guy was standing in front of a pile of durains and he was grabbing it and hurling it at the victim. Who would dare to restrain him? If you were me would you do it?Originally posted by dreamlander:I think all sort of incidents happen everyday, instead of asking why the police come late, we should ask why none of the people present have the guts to help and hold the (etc. robbers, ppl causing trouble...) until the police come. They also have a set of directives to follow you know... If the police station is really so near, why not someone pinned down the guy while another go to the station and ask for help.
I got kind of disappointed when I heard ppl relate the incident so well,which means they are one of the ppl present and yet they appear to be just watching and waiting for someone doing the job to come. Come on! what's the colour of you IC?
if singaporeans can carry guns then we help loh.Originally posted by dreamlander:I think all sort of incidents happen everyday, instead of asking why the police come late, we should ask why none of the people present have the guts to help and hold the (etc. robbers, ppl causing trouble...) until the police come. They also have a set of directives to follow you know... If the police station is really so near, why not someone pinned down the guy while another go to the station and ask for help.
I got kind of disappointed when I heard ppl relate the incident so well,which means they are one of the ppl present and yet they appear to be just watching and waiting for someone doing the job to come. Come on! what's the colour of you IC?
x2 i agree.Originally posted by shade343:Pls lor. The guy was standing in front of a pile of durains and he was grabbing it and hurling it at the victim. Who would dare to restrain him? If you were me would you do it?
Pls think b4 you type. Dont blindly blare out that ppl are not willing to help ect etc. It depends on the situation. And yes. I hate being questioned by the police. I called them and I get myself in unnecessary trouble. While the police was questioning me, ppl were staring at me like Im some kind of guilty thief.
Why must they take down my details? They seem more interested in the witness then the assailant and the victim.
It's not a matter of being a hero or anything... why do you want to get something in return? I admit that if you are the only one trying to help, it's a bit of embarrassment for some ppl, especially if you let the guy get away or something, ppl will said you act smart. but that should not hinder you decisions to do the things that you think are right, neither is the possibility of getting injured. I'm not telling you to fight with someone with a gun, but at least do something right? If everybody plays a part, this world will be a nicer place to live in.Originally posted by dragg:x2 i agree.
dreamlander,
it is always easy to state after the fact. everybody wants to be a hero but nobody wants to get hurt in the process. there are cases of people helping out and end up injured. what do you get in return? a plaque and/or a letter of commendation? i admit i dont have the guts to do it. pratice what you preach. i am happy for you.
what you have just said works only in an ideal world. but the world is far from ideal. trust that i am not being sarcastic. the world will be a better place with more of people like you. too bad there really aren't many. i do not know about people from other countries but as a singaporean i can surely say that we are one big selfish lot.Originally posted by dreamlander:It's not a matter of being a hero or anything... why do you want to get something in return? I admit that if you are the only one trying to help, it's a bit of embarrassment for some ppl, especially if you let the guy get away or something, ppl will said you act smart. but that should not hinder you decisions to do the things that you think are right, neither is the possibility of getting injured. I'm not telling you to fight with someone with a gun, but at least do something right? If everybody plays a part, this world will be a nicer place to live in.
The thing is, as long as you called the police, you already had the intention to help. Once you call the police, its the police responsibility already. Not yours. So the Police should be cricticised for failing to respond quickly. The moment the guy became violent, I called the police immediately. The police should be down within 5 minutes.Originally posted by dreamlander:It's not a matter of being a hero or anything... why do you want to get something in return? I admit that if you are the only one trying to help, it's a bit of embarrassment for some ppl, especially if you let the guy get away or something, ppl will said you act smart. but that should not hinder you decisions to do the things that you think are right, neither is the possibility of getting injured. I'm not telling you to fight with someone with a gun, but at least do something right? If everybody plays a part, this world will be a nicer place to live in.
muahahahaOriginally posted by pipi & poot-poot:Jus like in d movies sial....
once everydin end den d cops arrive...
I agreed with you. But with the proper guidance, I believe it can be done. After all, every ppl come into this world with a pure heart. It's not their fault, it's the law of evolution(aka. law of the jungle), eat or to be eaten. but a miracle gives born to intelligence, which allows one to act beyond his instinct, and have the ability to make choices. It's a precious gift.Originally posted by dragg:what you have just said works only in an ideal world. but the world is far from ideal. trust that i am not being sarcastic. the world will be a better place with more of people like you. too bad there really aren't many. i do not know about people from other countries but as a singaporean i can surely say that we are one big selfish lot.
are you a religious person?Originally posted by dreamlander:I agreed with you. But with the proper guidance, I believe it can be done. After all, every ppl come into this world with a pure heart. It's not their fault, it's the law of evolution(aka. law of the jungle), eat or to be eaten. but a miracle gives born to intelligence, which allows one to act beyond his instinct, and have the ability to make choices. It's a precious gift.