Singaporeans cant seem to think logically. First they complain speed limit too low. Then they think mata chia can get from point A to point B in 5 mins.Originally posted by lwflee:Yes, maybe inefficient is not an accurate description for the situation. Let's just say a 30 min response time is unacceptable to Shade and to me. Is 30 mins the response time the SPF is aiming for? I certainly hope not!
Singapore isn't a huge country. As such i really do not see the rationale for setting such a slow response time. Maybe we need more cops on the beat and on patrol?
Originally posted by huaiwei:Singaporeans cant seem to think logically. First they complain speed limit too low. Then they think mata chia can get from point A to point B in 5 mins.
Yeah we sure need more cops on the roads and on patrol. Anyone prepared to pay more tax?
So, do u propose we cannibalise the bikes from TP (and have more people complain about the "lack of police presence on the highways" ) or are you prepared to pay more tax because of that?Originally posted by sgboy:Prehaps the police can learn from SCDF by using bikes (not traffic police).Prehaps it may help in a bit since bikes is much more cheaper than police car (Volvo for NPC, MPV - Rocher NPC).
I dont see why you need to correct my reply, because I did not mention a word on SCDF ambulances in that particular post.Originally posted by sgboy:Can I correct a bit of your reply.
SCDF Ambulances are despatched from the nearest fire post/ fire station and seldom from hospital. Unless the ambulance is on the way back to their station and suddenly there is a ER call but no ambulance is available from the station.
We do understand that the traffic may sometimes be heavy but you see, SCDF introduce Fire Bikes & Paramedics Bikes. That means they can get to the scene before the arrvial of others. Why can't SPF introduce this service also.
Ic. Police late, people complain. Too many police, people complain too.Originally posted by sgboy:Sometimes I don't under the police,
when you need real help, they came late. Their service pledge is to arrive within 15 minutes urgent cases and 30 minutes for non-urgent cases.
Once, my house got a snake, then came 3 police cars with about 9 officers. Funny right, 3 officers were trying to catch. the rest were standing near the gate. One of them even talk on the mobilephone with don't who the hell.
Then there is once my house got intruder. I called 999 and they came in 10 minutes. Very fast. But imgaine 3 cars of officers surrounding one intruder? I use the word surrounding and that's true.
All these shows how SPF is so efficient.
Oh.....so when they use bike...very fast right! Reach the scene liao. Wah...got snake. How? Equipment cannot carry on bike. Have to wait for car to come. Wah..got somebody bleeding. Bike cannot carry first aid box. Wait for car come again.Originally posted by sgboy:Prehaps the police can learn from SCDF by using bikes (not traffic police).Prehaps it may help in a bit since bikes is much more cheaper than police car (Volvo for NPC, MPV - Rocher NPC).
Because the mata chia gave way to the ambulance?Originally posted by shade343:Actually my point is real simple. The SPF seems to be inefficient. It took 25 minutes to reach the scene of crime. Ambulance takes lesser than that. My point is, why cant the police come earlier or at least at the same time with the amnulance?? The police is needed to impose order at the scene of crime as soon as possible. Not come when the entire incident is over and the victim or assailiant is no where to be found. Im not talking about whether police or ambulance should come first. Im talking about, public order should be restore as soon as possible.
Hmm...ok. The thing like I said,when a fight breaks out, it is the wish of the public for order to be imposed as soon as possible. The efficiency Im talking about here refers to how fast the SPF is able to impose the order as soon as possible. I consider 25 minutes to be very long and Inefficient.Originally posted by Kalel:Haha this thread getting interesting, but let's just be rational and avoid getting heated up on this issue.
When you quoted ambulances arrives earlier than police, it really depends on the situation at hand right, and also on other possible factors as from where the ambulance or police is dispatched from. There are times when the cars can reach in time possibly due to the fact that 1) resource is available or 2) car is possibly nearby to the scene where attention is needed.
It it almost impossible for both ambulance and police to arrive simultaneously as dispatching takes a whole different matter in this instance..
But be reassured la, that the people in blue are dedicated in what they do, and of course protection of life and property is the top of their agenda.
Don't quote on efficiency as like some posters have mentioned, this depends on the definition of efficient, and is subjective. What may be efficient to me may be considered otherwise by another.
I doubt any of us are able to fully reply to the concerns of the orignal poster of this thread, so why not post to the relevant department and share with us on the reply..
Well said!!!finally some1 humane toking sense...its really unfair to say police force stink when u dun know whats their side of story. man.....really fil sad to see so many "tyrant" people demanding unreasonabily when they like to be spoon fed.Originally posted by Eating Snake:Good summary SGBoy ... anyway your snake case - how long ago was that? If it's too long ago it wouldn't be fair to list it as an eg of police inefficiency cos you assume the police haven't made any improvements since then. I had a snake at my place too and I called the pest control - maybe that would free up some police time.
As for police and ambulance response time I think it would also be unfair to conclude that police or SCDF are inefficient based on 1 incident / 1 story.
I've seen police arrive before ambulance at a death case. The ambulance pronounced the man dead and were off again in 5 minutes. The police had to stay there to settle the stuff for about 2 hours ++. I guess that's why the ambulance can arrive faster because their job is first aid + rush to hospital, need not stay at the place for too long.
I dialled 999 before for an unconscious man and they sent the ambulance too - the ambulance couldn't find the place though I gave the exact address. Again the police got there first. But I wouldn't say SCDF is inefficient tho - it happens - even taxi drivers aren't familiar with the roads. One-off incident, very hard to judge lah. Just hope they do their best. In whatever job we do, if we're on one side, very hard to understand the other side. Waiters - demanding customers ; Customers - clumsy waiters etc. etc.
tao tia tao gong gong then mai read lor KPOOriginally posted by Quinsy:Blah blah blah...all your posts so long. read liao tao tia, tao gong gong. SImplyfya abit ay sai buay?
bo bian lah, sometimes 'dio diao'....surely u have heard dat. dats y i smart ! hang up the phone 15 mins b4 7.30pm/8am ! like dat no call-ins...then i quickly ask someone stand-in for me and i go toilet camp and read newspaper then bluff say constipation ! to play safe i 7.35pm/8.05am then come out to return arms...Originally posted by FireIce:yah SPF bery ineffective in being punctual about knocking-off
always knock-off so late
make me wait......feed mosquitoes......
yah, i wanna be attached to PMO...1 mth enough liao, the pay must be PMO's 'grade'....Originally posted by coke6976:Well said!!!finally some1 humane toking sense...its really unfair to say police force stink when u dun know whats their side of story. man.....really fil sad to see so many "tyrant" people demanding unreasonabily when they like to be spoon fed.
i mean these ppl must be some anti mata or at office kena bullied by their bosses thats y they r toking like this. mayb kena fine by police b4?or wanna join police kena rejected?man ....i surehope singapore start 1 reality show call "changing lane", let those ppl who dun understand other's job like police, army, scdf, coroner be attached to them 4 1 mth or so. then they will know how other fils.....
wah, i suppose your team mates must have been cursing away...Originally posted by chunyong:bo bian lah, sometimes 'dio diao'....surely u have heard dat. dats y i smart ! hang up the phone 15 mins b4 7.30pm/8am ! like dat no call-ins...then i quickly ask someone stand-in for me and i go toilet camp and read newspaper then bluff say constipation ! to play safe i 7.35pm/8.05am then come out to return arms...
if FRC then i will say pr-set no batt ask them call hp, then on hp i ask them wat location then i will 'bomb' one super far location so other cars will go attend for me. since its not on air when later own teammate ask i will say 'i tell them where i am then happen dat the location is too far'....heh, like dat is 'si wu dui zhen'
dats y i always 1st to return arm. once i return arm then is safe from saigung liao...even if they wanna drag me go also cannot liao....must know how to play hide and seek when 7.30pm/8am is approaching...if u dunno where to camp then sure dio headshot....
SONG !
nah, i only recorder....want to blame also blame the driver...hahaha. i am so innocent one....Originally posted by cornyfish2000:wah, i suppose your team mates must have been cursing away...
You sound like my NS chaps in my NPC leh...although they still not as irriatingly lazy as you.Originally posted by chunyong:nah, i only recorder....want to blame also blame the driver...hahaha. i am so innocent one....
of cos lah, i put up a site teaching them how to survive...hahahahahhaaOriginally posted by huaiwei:You sound like my NS chaps in my NPC leh...although they still not as irriatingly lazy as you.
Can I have the url please.Originally posted by chunyong:of cos lah, i put up a site teaching them how to survive...hahahahahhaa