Pls lor. The hijack is in '91 and STAR only formed in '93. Can't compare as they perform different roles.Originally posted by mhcampboy:yes its by SOF cause the hijackers are making political demands. if its a petty thief trying to escape singapore by hijacking a plane...then STAR will come in.
Who is comparing?Originally posted by kcetha:Pls lor. The hijack is in '91 and STAR only formed in '93. Can't compare as they perform different roles.
Come across a "Special Ops Report" magazine and that showcase the special forces of the world and they have one issue that features STAR Unit. See the link below. If i am not wrong, this is the 1st Special Force Unit from Singapore to be feature in it. Even SOF is not in it. Their reputation is far beyond Singapore.
http://www.specialoperationsreport.com/pages/features_issue6.html
The Gurkhas really live up to their name...Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:for goodness sake, the hunt for the 3 robbers is not called "patrol". it's true tt Gurkhas don't do patrol, but they were sent to Tekong for the search operation on the 18th MARCH last year. They operated in their own small grps. Whats commendable is that 2 out of 3 of the robbers are caught by Gurkha troopers. Pls read up in archives if you'd forgotten the facts.
Look, do you think SAF allows detailed report of any sort in one of our most elite force, the SOF?Originally posted by kcetha:Come across a "Special Ops Report" magazine and that showcase the special forces of the world and they have one issue that features STAR Unit. See the link below. If i am not wrong, this is the 1st Special Force Unit from Singapore to be feature in it. Even SOF is not in it. Their reputation is far beyond Singapore.
is there anyone here that is on the STAR team? as in real...no lies....Originally posted by Pitot:They are essentially the SWAT team of singapore.
STAR team is a unit of Special Operations Command
well, they sound pretty exciting...Originally posted by kcetha:Pls lor. The hijack is in '91 and STAR only formed in '93. Can't compare as they perform different roles.
Come across a "Special Ops Report" magazine and that showcase the special forces of the world and they have one issue that features STAR Unit. See the link below. If i am not wrong, this is the 1st Special Force Unit from Singapore to be feature in it. Even SOF is not in it. Their reputation is far beyond Singapore.
me tooOriginally posted by Acerguy_007:Erm can i know more about them?
Originally posted by Pitot:Pls do not mix STAR and SOF up.
STAR is part of the Singapore Police Force. The personnel in STAR are Police Officers.
SOF are part of Singapore Armed Forces. They are military men.
STAR is essentially the SWAT team of Singapore. If there is war. The commandos will of cos fight the war. Not STAR. STAR is used to enforce the law in high risk situations. For example, Hijackings of bus, airliners. Hostage situations. So on and so forth. Star is heli-ops capable. And can also handle ops at sea. They are cross trained.
Ok, some may wonder why have STAR when we have SOF? THis is because. STAR members are police officers. The main difference between a STAR member and a SOF member is, a STAR member has arresting powers. SOF members do not.
STAR is formed to enforce the law. SOF is to protect our country.
guess what those in the hijacked bus would say...Originally posted by Mospeada:
hijacking sbs bus in singapore...that will be big news
ezlink card? hahahaOriginally posted by Mospeada:guess what those in the hijacked bus would say...
paiseh leh....i use ezlink card...no money with me leh....
Believe you have not seen the SOF HALO gear F cool and their underwater insersion gear star one dry dry one...Originally posted by wwwQ:STAR uniform more cool.
join the singapore police force as a regular, and then wait for open placement.Originally posted by UnheardUnknown:How to join star?What are e requirements? thks in advance
join the singapore police force as a regular, and then wait for open placement. minimum requirements would be silver for ippt and 1st class for shooting, i believe. but of course, there are other types of screening [physical and mental] to go through as well...Originally posted by UnheardUnknown:How to join star?What are e requirements? thks in advance
i see... well, if you want to know more you can always pm me.Originally posted by UnheardUnknown:Many thanks! Im thinking of joining aft NS now study for o lvl 1st haha