Originally posted by pwnz0r:
At this stage, join VSC for the purpose of trying out police training while continuing your studies. You need your certs 100% or else you are as good as worthless, be it in the eyes of the SPF, private sectors, gahmen and in fact the public at large.
I won't be surprised if you decide that police work isn't all that glamorous and you regret it.
This urge to join SPF is a temporal, one that will stick with you for the rest of your life. I sugges you put aside that urge and focus on your studies.
It may seem fun to you at this time, but to be doing the same mundane tasks day after day, without much hint of any promotion is very very sickening. You will feel unappreciated especially when you see younger and your equal level colleagues who have better qualifications move on to better positions, and you stuck there for 5-8 years in the same rank. How does being an o leveler in the same rank for such a long period compared to just a couple more years of completing your NITEC.
Do what you want, just don't regret when comes the day you wished you followed all these posts.
EDIT: Oh ya, remember that being a bottom feeder in any organisation means that people will step on you and you just have to accept it, even more so in a uniformed organisation. Your superior reprimand you for the slightest infringements, you just have grin and say yessir, it won't happen again sir, no sir, its all my fault, yessir, i'm useless.
i know that police work is difficult.. by right, every jobs have their difficulties and hardness.. i believe that even i dun become a police and work other place, i will still have hard time.. you think got easy job de meh? even cleaner of a little salary, the work can be hard and tiring too~ next time i go out society work i still have to take that kind of hardness.. a lot of teenagers use studying to escape working or even NS.. i just think that, "no this need" .. i can just start working part time or volunteer to gain working experience while young.. since i am interested in police, and there is police volunteer.. i would like to try.. btw, did you know that i am now deciding to enter for VSC rather than full time? of course i am still continuing to studying full time~