Originally posted by sulfur:1st post.
BP, next fri as in 19 Jun? I'm having my panel interview on that day too.
Also wondering wat qns will they be asking too.
Dunno how to prepare...
Anyway some qns about the spo course:
First 2 weekends got confinement (like bmt)?
Also, while finding info about the course, I came across the iPrepNS website. While wat it describes is about training for nsf, i tot spo course would be somewhat similar. Thenn I looked at the field training for spf (http://iprep.ns.sg/field-training.html):
(description for physical training)
" ....5km runs everyday and a 10 km run once a week."
........... wow. Even when I was a nsf in army training for ahm also nv ran that xiong. (6km>8km>10km>12km progressive training at most thrice a week only)
For those that r already in the spo course, is that really that intensive? Think I better train up liao....
Hey sulpur
Yup its 19 June.
Wahaha.. seems quite tough le.. have to go thru bmt kinda lifestyle againzz...
I was from navy - meaning i never run so far and long be4 lol.. I think i am a sure gonner
Originally posted by BPguy:Hey sulpur
Yup its 19 June.
Wahaha.. seems quite tough le.. have to go thru bmt kinda lifestyle againzz...
I was from navy - meaning i never run so far and long be4 lol.. I think i am a sure gonner
If wat sulpur said is true, I am a goner as well coz I just cant run far fast enough.
Hey Glenn, I didnt notice your pm till now coz still a newbie. Really sorry about that. I saw your email address from the mass mailing from Vital so I guess we may be course mates....
Btw, I heard that the pay cut will only affect those with a pass degree. Is that true? Coz it makes more sense to cut the pay of those with honours and merit as well.
haha i sure gone case too. got small belly somemore. haha. kyze, it's alright man.
When i called them up they said my pay will be affected and i have honours. Did u sign the training deed already? Cause she (the vital person in charge) said she has to wait for confirmation of my pay first before i can sign. Did u get the same msg? Not sure if it's because Im a fresh grad and they are still waiting for my grades. hmmmm.
If wat they say on the website is true, i think everybody is gone case unless the guy was from commando, ndu or something.
Seriously, 5km run everyday seem a bit too much, there should be a day of rest in between runs for the body to recover. Run like that everyday confirm got lot of people complain leg pain one...
Btw i heard from the recuitment officer for fresh grads still waiting for their results, they will pay them the basic salary 1st, then wait till their grades come out then back pay them? I think the pay cut will affect everyone regardless of grades bah? If anything, I think it should be the 2nd upper and 1st class honors guys that should be getting the pay cut. They are the ones that are going to go though the same training but getting an ASP pay....
Wahaha...
seems like all of us all gone case sia..
A few years after national service and we are all "nua tang " le lol
I think the pay cut is applicable to all regardless of which degree u got lo. IF not alot of ppl sure complain de.
I have not signed the training deed yet, similar to your case. However, the lady from Vital sent me an email on tuesday confirming my temporary pay, which is less than the advertised one as I have not submitted the full transcript yet (fresh grad). The salary, terms and conditions will be changed once they recieve our finalised transcript and degree cert. Not sure abt back pay though.
This is what she said in the email: SPF has confirmed that the pay cut will only affect graduates with pass degree. I have my reservations though, and trying to get more confirmation with SPF.
I tried to call the police recruitment but no one pick up the phone. Someone from there called me on tuesday but I didnt pick it up. Damn.......
This is what I've gathered from Ms Mahani:
1) The pay cut will only affect graduates with pass degree.
Anyway, graduates with 2nd upper honors and above are only getting ASP rank and not exactly "ASP pay". The increase in pay for each level of honors is relatively constant according to the salary scale.
2) Graduates without full transcript will get 90% of the pass degree pay + NS allowance (if any). This might be further subjected to slight changes since pass degree will be affected by the pay cut.
90% * (2650 + NS allowance)
The full amount will be back-paid once the full transcript is received.
3) The sign-on bonus will not be affected. It will be 4000 for INSP entrant and 4500 for ASP entrant, even if you have yet to receive your transcript.
Hope this helps :)
Hey gratitute,
What do u mean by : graduates with 2nd upper honors and above are only getting ASP rank and not exactly "ASP pay"? If not gettting ASP pay then get the rank for wat use also?
Hi everyone, I am planning to join the police force as a senior officer after my uni degree at unisim. Thing is, I am taking General Studies Programme. Will it be accepted? I am currently as a regular in the navy. Plan to leave once after finishing my NS liability
I also checked the website. The salary for a pass degree and finish NS is $3190. Is that the actual pay? Also, during the 9 months training, will I be paid the full amount or I will be paid an allowence?
In the navy, I was PES C, excuse sailing. Other than that I am perfectly fine. Can I still apply and appeal?
Originally posted by Percussion_guy86:Hi everyone, I am planning to join the police force as a senior officer after my uni degree at unisim. Thing is, I am taking General Studies Programme. Will it be accepted? I am currently as a regular in the navy. Plan to leave once after finishing my NS liability
I also checked the website. The salary for a pass degree and finish NS is $3190. Is that the actual pay? Also, during the 9 months training, will I be paid the full amount or I will be paid an allowence?
In the navy, I was PES C, excuse sailing. Other than that I am perfectly fine. Can I still apply and appeal?
Hey Percussion_guy86,
I was also from navy however i was posted onboard ship! You are one lucky guy to be excuse from sailing!!!
As for ur qns:
Yes will be paid full pay according to ur qualification when u are training.
Need at least PES A or B (http://www.spf.gov.sg/career/so_entry.htm#top)
Qualification wise u have to check with SPF themself cause not all degrees are accepted by them.
BPguy:
I was thinking that the pay scale is meant to reflect the honors obtained, and the corresponding rank is awarded according to the pay bracket (min/max) for each rank.
Honors -> Pay -> Rank
As opposed to:
Honors -> Rank -> Pay
Hence, the statement "go though the same training but getting an ASP pay" might not be the ideal line of reasoning if the pay is not tied to the training nor rank, but to the honors obtained. Have yet to express my opinion on whether the pay cut should apply across the board, just thought that the above might not be the best approach.
I'm not sure of the HR methodologies and principles though, so feel free to share :)
ok i pretty sure about this since i have an spo friend who has been working for a long time:
Your degree only affects your rank and starting pay (all shown in the web site). BUT the bulk of your pay comes from your performance and NOT your rank. So for those who are worried that just because you are going in as an inspector, you'll always earn less than those who go in as asp, it's not true. I know alot of cases (from my friend) where after 2-3 yrs, some insp earn more than asp. So it's really how hard u want to work for it. But of course don't talk about those overseas scholars, you'll NEVER catch up to them.
I just hope they let me sign before i have to go rt for army!!!! haha.
hi strontium, thks for answering some of my qns.. :)
can i check, are trainees allowed to bring handphones into hta? how about handphone with camera? pda?
thks!
hey guys, do you NS guys pass your annual IPPT? if so, then the HTA training should be quite manageable bah...
hi all.. long time since i contributed.. pls allow me to just share some of the info that I acquire from the various ppl..
i'm currently working for a stat-board organization and will be signing the training deed on monday.. Miss Mahani from vital sent me an email confirming my salary which is consistence with what was advertised.. i have a 2nd upper honours.. i’ll have receiving slightly more due to my previous working experience.. i have also confirmed the figure with the recruitment side, Mr Johnny that my salary will not be affected. (My interviews were in april, not sureabut what will happen for the future)..
what i had gathered from Mr Johnny is that so far the sign-on bonus has not be affected, but that does not means that it will not.. so we keep out fingers cross..
as for handphone, i'm not too sure about trainees.. however i'm very sure that regular police are allow to carry phones with camera as my brother is in the force..
yes, i agree that if you pass your annual IPPT, HTA training should be quite manageable..
hope that the above answer some of the queries.. feel free to pm me if there is any personal queries..
Originally posted by gratitude:BPguy:
I was thinking that the pay scale is meant to reflect the honors obtained, and the corresponding rank is awarded according to the pay bracket (min/max) for each rank.
Honors -> Pay -> Rank
As opposed to:
Honors -> Rank -> Pay
Hence, the statement "go though the same training but getting an ASP pay" might not be the ideal line of reasoning if the pay is not tied to the training nor rank, but to the honors obtained. Have yet to express my opinion on whether the pay cut should apply across the board, just thought that the above might not be the best approach.
I'm not sure of the HR methodologies and principles though, so feel free to share :)
Haha gratitute,
Are you saying regardless of what degree we have, everyone should start with the same rank, however, pay can be adjusted according to the class of honours we got?
Am i right? Haha
That might be a resaonable way. But if u look at it another way, its a strategy for the force to "attract potential better in academic" candidate. They need additional incentives to attract ppl with good grades if not everyone who apply will only be normal degress (no pun intended to these ppl).
Percussion_guy86 wrote, Hi everyone, I am planning to join the police force as a senior officer after my uni degree at unisim. Thing is, I am taking General Studies Programme. Will it be accepted? I am currently as a regular in the navy. Plan to leave once after finishing my NS liability
During the career exhibition / job fair at SIM, the police recruitment booth was there,
so...
Originally posted by sulfur:If wat they say on the website is true, i think everybody is gone case unless the guy was from commando, ndu or something.
Seriously, 5km run everyday seem a bit too much, there should be a day of rest in between runs for the body to recover. Run like that everyday confirm got lot of people complain leg pain one...
Btw i heard from the recuitment officer for fresh grads still waiting for their results, they will pay them the basic salary 1st, then wait till their grades come out then back pay them? I think the pay cut will affect everyone regardless of grades bah? If anything, I think it should be the 2nd upper and 1st class honors guys that should be getting the pay cut. They are the ones that are going to go though the same training but getting an ASP pay....
5KM Run = Too much???
My mileage per week for jogging is 20-30km.
Normally 2-3 running session
Pay u know how to take , but commitment dunno how to give.
Originally posted by CyanSupra:5KM Run = Too much???
My mileage per week for jogging is 20-30km.
Normally 2-3 running session
Pay u know how to take , but commitment dunno how to give.
5km is NOT too much, did that all the time back while still a nsf.
I'm saying 5km EVERYDAY (as quoted on the iPrepNS website) seemed a bit too often. Even back in BMT, they have endurance run 1 day and maybe gym or circuit training the other day so you can rest your legs.
Now 2-3 running sessions per week seemed much more reasonable (I'd take a 8km run 3 times per week over 5km run mon to fri). It's not the distance, it's the frequency.
And since when does commenting on training being tough = no commitment?
And what pay? I wasn't even in yet .
Hi all,
I just came back from the panel interview yesterday. Well, One thing I need to clarify is that receiving the medical checkup letter does not mean you are 'guarantee' selected for the SPO post. I asked the officer in charge and hisreply was that they need to do the panel and med checkup concurrently, so as to expediate the process.
Yesterday there were about 6-7 applicants for the board interview, including myself. I believe all of us had received the med checkup letter. Since I was the last interviewee, I saw the 2 applicants which were ahead of me also went to fill up some form and receive the med checkup letter after their board interview.
As for those forumers who received the med checkup letter and was eventually appointed, I believe they are the lucky one.
Well, I hope I will eventually become one of them as well, though I think I screwed up the interview abit...
dino88 what happen during ur interview?
Why u say u screw it up?
Well, I just didnt feel good after the interview. One thing for sure is they will ask those 'situational question' and how you handle and manage it.
And during the interview, they keep giving me wierd expressions, makes me feel that what I am saying were completely irrelevant...
Hi Dino,
Where was your panel interview?
I had my selection assessment yesterday @ Cantonment, 7 guys , 22 ladies!
Process were pretty much the same as found in previous threads, form-filling + physical examination. Now comes the wait...
Originally posted by Envisage06:Hi Dino,
Where was your panel interview?
I had my selection assessment yesterday @ Cantonment, 7 guys , 22 ladies!
Process were pretty much the same as found in previous threads, form-filling + physical examination. Now comes the wait...
It was at the second floor, Police HQ. However, before the panel interview, there will be some sort of verification done, on the forms that we had filled up. The rest of the applicants will also be waiting in that room as well.
When it was about to be our turn, we will be ushered to another room by one of the recruitment officer.
Finally, when the panel interview was done, we (1 by 1 of course) were lead to another room, just adjacent to the panel interview room. It was then we filled up some forms, and the medical checkup letter was issued to us.
What position did you apply? How come is at cantoment complex instead of Police HQ?
Originally posted by dino88:Hi all,
I just came back from the panel interview yesterday. Well, One thing I need to clarify is that receiving the medical checkup letter does not mean you are 'guarantee' selected for the SPO post. I asked the officer in charge and hisreply was that they need to do the panel and med checkup concurrently, so as to expediate the process.
Yesterday there were about 6-7 applicants for the board interview, including myself. I believe all of us had received the med checkup letter. Since I was the last interviewee, I saw the 2 applicants which were ahead of me also went to fill up some form and receive the med checkup letter after their board interview.
As for those forumers who received the med checkup letter and was eventually appointed, I believe they are the lucky one.
Well, I hope I will eventually become one of them as well, though I think I screwed up the interview abit...
hmm... so far who went thru the panel interview, got the medical exam letter, went for checkup, but end up kena rejected?