Hi guys, went for the psychologist interview today, the psychologist told me for the last interview there will be a psychologist, the senior management and the HR people. So its not just the CP himself? And other than the interview, what else would be done for the last round? Anymore form filling? Just wanna make sure so that I wont be tat unprepared like I did for the character referees for the first round. Thanks.
Originally posted by skythewood:call to zoo, they will refer to police?
I thought is call police, refer to zoo...
nope. if people call for Police, somehow the resource will still be sent down to the scene. even if, by right, Police should not be attending to the case e.g. instances of non-poisonous snakes.
Originally posted by Anshinkan29:Hi guys, went for the psychologist interview today, the psychologist told me for the last interview there will be a psychologist, the senior management and the HR people. So its not just the CP himself? And other than the interview, what else would be done for the last round? Anymore form filling? Just wanna make sure so that I wont be tat unprepared like I did for the character referees for the first round. Thanks.
normally, panel interview will be just that. a conversation with the panel. just prepare yourself like how you normally would for interview sessions and you will be fine. =)
Originally posted by Anshinkan29:Hi guys, I have just received a sms from SPF today regarding my application for SPO, I was called up for a selection on the 22nd Jan 09 and I have some questions wondering if you guys can help me.
1. What is the selection test about?
2. Except my certs and documents, anything else that I need to bring?
3. What is the average waiting time for selection result?
4. I've heard that there are 2 interviews, so if I pass the first selection, what are the chances for me to pass the second? Because at the same time I have went for a teaching interview and I'm afraid if I pass my teaching interview, I would be asked to sign contract with MOE and which means I wont be able to join the SPF.
5. What is the recruitment ratio of SPO compared to PO? I've heard that the chances of getting recruited are very slim, is it so?
6. As I'm a lady, what is the recruitment ratio of police women compared to policemen? Are women at a disadvantage?
Thanks alot!
if i'm holding a hostage, or trying to suicide. i'd only talk to a really feminine female officer =)
all the best!
Originally posted by Tiggerific:nope. if people call for Police, somehow the resource will still be sent down to the scene. even if, by right, Police should not be attending to the case e.g. instances of non-poisonous snakes.
Yup. The resource will go down and refer to zoo.
Originally posted by skythewood:Yup. The resource will go down and refer to zoo.
erm... actually, no. once the resource is at scene, the resource will convey whatever animal it is, i.e. python / cobra / monitor lizard / iguana / squirrel / dog / cow etc to divisional headquarters, where the animal will be kept in custody. only after that will the animal be sent to the zoo, by the Police, unfortunately.
Originally posted by skythewood:Yup. The resource will go down and refer to zoo.
Not all snakes go to the zoo.
Originally posted by Tiggerific:erm... actually, no. once the resource is at scene, the resource will convey whatever animal it is, i.e. python / cobra / monitor lizard / iguana / squirrel / dog / cow etc to divisional headquarters, where the animal will be kept in custody. only after that will the animal be sent to the zoo, by the Police, unfortunately.
yup, it will always refer to zoo...At which stage it will be refered to zoo varies for different division, and depending on animal.
If it is a tiger, resource will standby for zoo, and shoot it if necessary, etc... If it is monkey...
Originally posted by skythewood:yup, it will always refer to zoo...At which stage it will be refered to zoo varies for different division, and depending on animal.
If it is a tiger, resource will standby for zoo, and shoot it if necessary, etc... If it is monkey...
i think, if it is a tiger *touch wood*, the resource will still have to engage it if at scene. shoot / tase it if a threat to life is imminent. if not, just giving the tiger space, cordoning off the area and managing public order for that location will do.
anyway, my point is, if resource has been despatched and is at scene, they will still have to manage and resume once the incident is done. even if it is a matter best handled by external agencies, the police still have to pick it up once the call has been made. external agencies will always wait and / or come into the picture only after the end of the incident.
Sorry, OT abit, I just went for my selection assessment today. After filling in forms and psychometric test, then the personnel asked every1 to come back at 2pm. But when we got back, I got called the 2nd, and I was told I am done for the day and may leave. But others continued by having body checks etc. Does it mean I kena rejected already? Or still got chance I may still get called up? Paiseh to OT...
Originally posted by skythewood:call to zoo, they will refer to police?
I thought is call police, refer to zoo...
No. Its call to police, refer to your friendly neighbourhood yellow pages directory for a pest control company.
Because if its truly a tiger, the zookeepers with the trank guns are activated before the police or the army.
Police are not suppose to shoot the animal, unless in self defence when the tiger attacks the officer or passerby before the zookeeper arrives.
and if its a venomous snake. PO might return to station to collect the pump gun, to kill the snake. But there is rules to discharging that pump gun. So errm......not really convenient to mention them here.
One enterprising PO, loan a bamboo stick (that hang out laundry kind), ka chiao the cobra to curl itself onto the bamboo pole, then smack the snake on the pole here and there to kill that snake.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
No. Its call to police, refer to your friendly neighbourhood yellow pages directory for a pest control company.Because if its truly a tiger, the zookeepers with the trank guns are activated before the police or the army.
Police are not suppose to shoot the animal, unless in self defence when the tiger attacks the officer or passerby before the zookeeper arrives.
and if its a venomous snake. PO might return to station to collect the pump gun, to kill the snake. But there is rules to discharging that pump gun. So errm......not really convenient to mention them here.
One enterprising PO, loan a bamboo stick (that hang out laundry kind), ka chiao the cobra to curl itself onto the bamboo pole, then smack the snake on the pole here and there to kill that snake.
actually VK, usage of pump guns have been discontinued for quite some time now. nowadays, it's left to 'enterprising' alternative use by POs instead...
shoot if necessary... the guide line for shoot or don't shoot always stays the same...
later the snake listen to the flute,
den siam all the 10bullets how?
Let's say snake attack man. PO tries to shoot the snake and hit the man. very very possible... so this one is also hard to say.
snake attack man, see senario lor.
take baton swing n whack!
headshot can liaos
Originally posted by skythewood:Let's say snake attack man. PO tries to shoot the snake and hit the man. very very possible... so this one is also hard to say.
no lah, we don't shoot at snakes. if snake *touch wood* attacks man, we render preliminary first aid and call for ambulance. No offence disclosed mah.
How to charge a snake for Voluntarily Causing Hurt [if the man is bitten] or Criminal Force [if the man is spat at by the snake]?
Usually, people don't engage the snake. instead they will call for police.
if *touch wood* a policeman gets bitten by a snake, then at most service injury lor. seek medical treatment after the incident.
Originally posted by Tiggerific:no lah, we don't shoot at snakes. if snake *touch wood* attacks man, we render preliminary first aid and call for ambulance. No offence disclosed mah.
How to charge a snake for Voluntarily Causing Hurt [if the man is bitten] or Criminal Force [if the man is spat at by the snake]?
Usually, people don't engage the snake. instead they will call for police.
if *touch wood* a policeman gets bitten by a snake, then at most service injury lor. seek medical treatment after the incident.
..............I know police don't shoot at snakes............
wondered why no snr officers actually come here and respond to these questions...??
good luck guys
Eh, I just received a letter after my board interview asking me to go for medical check up, may I know whats the chance of me getting in now?
Originally posted by Anshinkan29:Eh, I just received a letter after my board interview asking me to go for medical check up, may I know whats the chance of me getting in now?
Very, very high mate. Unless you have a serious medical condition, the checkup is but a mere formality.
Fingers crossed. All the best! =)
Congrats Anshinkan29!
Thanks guys! Ok finally having peace of mind, since the letter did not mention anything about the results of the interview. Been really a difficult 2 mths. I'll go for the check up tmr and get u guys updated. Thanks again. =)
Originally posted by Tiggerific:actually VK, usage of pump guns have been discontinued for quite some time now. nowadays, it's left to 'enterprising' alternative use by POs instead...
I am soooo old....
I am going for the selection this thurs.. anyone also going?