Originally posted by CyanSupra:wah...
you guys who went for the spo medical checkup so fast get response already?
I appiled for JO post and went for the medical since early Jan 09.
Until now still waiting for letter.
Only SPO got the priority to get the letter faster?
no lah, AFAIK the result very fast one. Cos blood test is on the spot know result, urine test takes awhile in the lab to get the readings. So all in all, if Raffles Medical never drag too long. The report can be out 2 days after the check-up. Then pass to vital.org then to SPF.
JO alot of people, so is mass-intake...even if selected they will also arrange a date for them to all come in and have some ceremony ? Not so sure.
Originally posted by Anshinkan29:o.O? ok..were you the guy that knows yun chun?
Ok I called vital and they said they received my results on 23rd and haf already sent it out to spf today...at ard 6 -_- can I faint? Just missed the first batch to be notified by a few hrs...dots......................
doesn't matter, the orientation is late April and enlistment in early May so u got lot of time to prepare.
Originally posted by nightzip:
Hi Envisage, it is okay if its PO, you can start as PO first, then if you perform well, there is always a chance for promotion to SPO around 2-3 years later. The reason for maybe putting you on a waiting list is perhaps the degree you have does not come with Honors. Is it an engineering degree? Cuz which course you took could also be related.
No, no, no, no, no. You have gotten it horribly, horribly, wrong. Who fed you this information? Because it is misleading, not to mention totally wrong.
Chances for promotion to SPO exist, true. But they are few and far between, and do not come around 2-3 years later. Heck, even one's first promotion will not come around 2-3 years. Not generally, anyway.
Anyway, for what it's worth, the chance to convert from PO to SPO will only come after an average of 10-12 years. Yes, it is that long. And even then, conversion is not a certainty.
This is why people will always ask you to get your degree first and come to SPF, so you can start off as an SPO [if approved] straight.
Just thought I would clear this up for the benefit of this thread's readers.
Originally posted by Tiggerific:No, no, no, no, no. You have gotten it horribly, horribly, wrong. Who fed you this information? Because it is misleading, not to mention totally wrong.
Chances for promotion to SPO exist, true. But they are few and far between, and do not come around 2-3 years later. Heck, even one's first promotion will not come around 2-3 years. Not generally, anyway.
Anyway, for what it's worth, the chance to convert from PO to SPO will only come after an average of 10-12 years. Yes, it is that long. And even then, conversion is not a certainty.
This is why people will always ask you to get your degree first and come to SPF, so you can start off as an SPO [if approved] straight.
Just thought I would clear this up for the benefit of this thread's readers.
yes. typically, for JO to go SO, for NOW is VERY hard. even if possible normally the JO would have been in the force for 10+ yrs 1st.
in 2001 i personally saw one such instance...by then they say the management limiting the number of JOs->SOs liao..
promotion wise i think i dun want to say the system out here...not so nice. got strategy one...want to post to new place must oso time it well...dats all i wanna say.
Originally posted by nightzip:
Hi Cyan, you should be proactive and call them up or email to check with them. Do not be passive in finding work. :)You might like to ask Anshin about the numbers to call? Call up the medical checkup side to see if reports are sent.
Well , I did call them.
In fact for 2 days.
1st day , nobody answer the phone for the whole day.
On the 2nd day , finally somebody answered the phone and I was told that he was not the in-charge but asked me to leave down my name and IC no. while he will ask the in-charge to call me back.
(Why nv ask for my contact no.? So , I thought they can find my number thru my profile)
In the end , I nv received any calls till now.
Originally posted by CyanSupra:
Well , I did call them.
In fact for 2 days.
1st day , nobody answer the phone for the whole day.
On the 2nd day , finally somebody answered the phone and I was told that he was not the in-charge but asked me to leave down my name and IC no. while he will ask the in-charge to call me back.
(Why nv ask for my contact no.? So , I thought they can find my number thru my profile)
In the end , I nv received any calls till now.
email them. i did email them (vital.org) to check and they respond on the same day, ard 5pm.
The letter asking u to go medical got an email address and phone number, do drop Mahani an email with your full name.
Good luck and cya on end April for the orientation !
hi pplez, what is the email address to enquire on status?
Just called spf again yesterday regarding my application. The officer said cuz I'm a SPR so need approval from higher authority, so I asked is there any previous case that had e same problem as this and the officer told me I'm the first SPR that pulled thru till this stage o.o anyone know what's my chance of getting recruited? Any would be abel to make it into the May batch? Thanks
hi guys...i am a newbie here wanting to be the man in blue...(",) i just got an sms regarding a selection assessment for SPO this wed. I would like to ask a few questions regarding the interview process:
1) Is there any interview sessions conducted during this selection assessment? If there is, with who?
2) The sms indicated casual wear,...wad do you guys wear for this selection assessment? Don want to overdress or underdress ah...
3) Do I have to take IPPT at any of the interview phases?
Originally posted by 2wheels:2) The sms indicated casual wear,...wad do you guys wear for this selection assessment? Don want to overdress or underdress ah...
You cant go wrong with smart casual.
a) Try covered shoes, from sneakers to loafers to your leather shoes & heels. Ladies to avoid sandals, cos you are not going to a market.
Preferably one you wear socks with and when you take them off, they wont stink to high heaven and kill off people around you. (If it does, you should apply to be a assasin instead.)
b) Socks. preferably without holes at the toes. And ladies.....fishnet stockings with short shorts are kinda frowned upon. You are not expected to perform pole dancing, so kinda leave that outfit at home please.
c) Long Jeans or denim dress/skirt is okay, just make sure its not torn at places and preferably a dark colour.
d) Wear a collar shirt aka a polo shirt at the very least. For females, a blouse, a polo shirt or a outfit that looks presentable to your b/f's parents.
4) Some cologne or at least a deodarant will be nice. (Look to (a) for my reasonings.
5) Some grooming will be nice too. Clean tidy looking hair & face. Females please do have some colours on your cheeks and your lips. NOT 3 LAYER ICI PAINT!
6) Bring your original documents plus some photocopies to give to the officers. Maybe bring along a A4 plastic folder hold your originals certs and so on and to keep out the rain.
7) Did they mention you need to bring along a PT kit to change into? If not, then forget number 7.
I saw ppl wearing berms going for the assessment selection.
Anyway, polo and jeans can already.
can tuck out shirt also...neway must remember to bring a jacket nxt time...so cold ah the plce.
for those going for the selection assessment, this is wad is goin to happen there:
psychometric test for 3-4 hr followed by lunch and then filling up tons of forms (end arnd 4-5pm). No tattoo check was done, except declaring on piece of paper. No need to bring tshirt or shorts. At least that is wad happened yesterday for me. Tothose who went yesterdy...all the best! (",)
anyway what they ask during the dialogue??
mine has been postponed twice, and exam is coming soon :(
Originally posted by No9:anyway what they ask during the dialogue??
mine has been postponed twice, and exam is coming soon :(
simple things, is more for u to ask questions and they briefing u the job instead i think (mine was more of chitchat cos i serve NS in police so i know hows the job like already). the same women will be in the panel interview
I see, thanks for the info .
Belmont, the dialogue is 1-on-1 or several candidates are together at the same time?
Hi No9.. I went for the dialogue last friday. It was a 2 to 1 session. An Assistant Director and another lady from the manpower.
Will be going for a interview with the pyschologist next mon. Anything that I shld prep myself?
Originally posted by Wind0518:Hi No9.. I went for the dialogue last friday. It was a 2 to 1 session. An Assistant Director and another lady from the manpower.
Will be going for a interview with the pyschologist next mon. Anything that I shld prep myself?
psychologist is not a test, u can't/won't fail that so the next determining stage is the panel interview (The gals interviewing u during dialogue will be there as well). i got my positive outcome 5 days after panel.
congrats belmont!
`hi guys i went to the panel interview already on 2nd april, then i went for the medical on 3rd april. Saw the doctor tick the box indicating that im fit for employment. but now im waiting for the call or letter from spf. called Ms Mahani just now and she said that my medical results still not in and will normally take 1-2 weeks. does anyone know what will happen after this?
hi, i went for the selection assessment on 8th April which involve doing alot of tests in the morning and return to fill in tons of forms after lunch. There were around 20+ people present for the selection assessment.
They sms me on 9th April evening asking me to go for dialogue session on 14th April.
Now there only left 6 people for the diaglogue which i guess many was either being screened out, or allocated to another dialogue session.The session was divided into 2 parts, 1st part is some physical examination, whereby you need to do some stretching. 2nd part of the day was the dialogue session. 2 interviewers were present, one was the assistant director of manpower, the other was from manpower but position unknown. The diaglogue beginning with them asking me some questions just like what a normal interview would be. Mine last for like 10+mins. I mentioned something about my Community involvement in RC and they was quite interested with that and keep asking me questions like what was my role in RC, what was my Position, and what i usually do in RC. I replied by saying i am the assistant treasurer, i involve in setting up mother's day celebration, breeze walker activities, block and floor party etc etc.
Was wondering when would they give me a reply? Whats was the chance of me being successful ? I know that they say will give me a reply between 1 - 2 weeks, but would it be like a next day reply through sms just like what happened after my selection assessment?
Originally posted by Westpoison:hi, i went for the selection assessment on 8th April which involve doing alot of tests in the morning and return to fill in tons of forms after lunch. There were around 20+ people present for the selection assessment.
They sms me on 9th April evening asking me to go for dialogue session on 14th April.
Now there only left 6 people for the diaglogue which i guess many was either being screened out, or allocated to another dialogue session.The session was divided into 2 parts, 1st part is some physical examination, whereby you need to do some stretching. 2nd part of the day was the dialogue session. 2 interviewers were present, one was the assistant director of manpower, the other was from manpower but position unknown. The diaglogue beginning with them asking me some questions just like what a normal interview would be. Mine last for like 10+mins. I mentioned something about my Community involvement in RC and they was quite interested with that and keep asking me questions like what was my role in RC, what was my Position, and what i usually do in RC. I replied by saying i am the assistant treasurer, i involve in setting up mother's day celebration, breeze walker activities, block and floor party etc etc.
Was wondering when would they give me a reply? Whats was the chance of me being successful ? I know that they say will give me a reply between 1 - 2 weeks, but would it be like a next day reply through sms just like what happened after my selection assessment?
yes
yes? Yes for which question?
Originally posted by Westpoison:hi, i went for the selection assessment on 8th April which involve doing alot of tests in the morning and return to fill in tons of forms after lunch. There were around 20+ people present for the selection assessment.
if u get to go for the panel then they will sms u to go for psychological assessment else u will receive a letter (i think).
Originally posted by CCKdude:`hi guys i went to the panel interview already on 2nd april, then i went for the medical on 3rd april. Saw the doctor tick the box indicating that im fit for employment. but now im waiting for the call or letter from spf. called Ms Mahani just now and she said that my medical results still not in and will normally take 1-2 weeks. does anyone know what will happen after this?
u will get a letter asking u to get 2 sureties to go down to sign papers 3 weeks or so later. u should enlist around end May bah...btw, r u named Gary by any chance ? ahah