Originally posted by Westpoison:How to Ace the panel interview? Dont want to go all the way to panel interview then fail it.
the psychrometric test u did in the 1st round will generate a very detailed report abt u...so they roughly know if u can fit in anot already so the rest is see ur character and how u deal with things.
the gal before me got a sense of humour i think...the panel were bursting with laughter...good or bad i dunno cos i dunno if she made it through anot.
just be urself, be frank lor....
Originally posted by issankho:Anyone know how long i got to wait after the psychologist interview? Thanks.
1-2 week bah...very fast one.
Can share with us what the panel ask you during the interview?
Originally posted by Westpoison:Can share with us what the panel ask you during the interview?
sort of standard one lah...just try to show u have the traits to be a Senior PO can liao. i oso got screw up a little bit but apparently, still "ok" to pass it. :)
Make sure u know wat u are going into...real life encounters and stuff...not like army where everything is staged and takes place in SAF grounds. we work in public areas, not "safe" grounds so anything can happen and no "alamak, nvm... we start over again".
Panel interview is different from dialogue session right?
I just went for the psychologist interview this morning. Basically the purpose of this interview is to gather information about me so and to prepare the panel for the last interview. One part take to take note is that the psychologist will ask me some questions regarding the answers i made during the first selection assessment.
The last thing to do now is to wait for panel interview.
any1 gg in as PO nxt thurs?
Originally posted by Westpoison:I just went for the psychologist interview this morning. Basically the purpose of this interview is to gather information about me so and to prepare the panel for the last interview. One part take to take note is that the psychologist will ask me some questions regarding the answers i made during the first selection assessment.
The last thing to do now is to wait for panel interview.
all the best~!
Gentori, ya panel is diff from diagloue session. Dialogue is the 2nd round where panel is the 4th (last) rounds of the selection process.
N09, Thank you.
Hi everyone,
I am new to the forum and I've learnt a lot reading this forum so far.
I'd like to ask few things to the experienced people like you on the application for the SPO post:
I did my Bachelor degree in an overseas university, Master of Engineering and Ph.D. in Nanyang Technological University. All in the field of electrical and electronic engineering.
Currently, I am working in the R&D area related to electronics...
But, well… I have always appreciated and admired the work of the police. And nowadays, I am seriously considering a career switch from the overly demanding but “still boring” academic circles into the “action–packed” (am I right in this assumption?:)) police force…
At this point I do have the following questions:
1. Is the SPO application still on?
2. I am 32 years old. (height: 1.8m, weight: 78 kg… physically fit... No NS experience, though.). I don’t mind my age, but does my age pose any problem with the job application for senior police officer? My Singaporean friends say that being above 28 years old makes things extremely difficult for someone to be hired for such a post… :(
3. I am an electronics engineer. So will it be awkward for me to apply for SPO post? Are there any examples of such career shifts in the police force? It would be nice to know from among you or your friends so that I can justify my decision to whomever asks about it. :)
4. I have read the job description in the website, but can you tell me more about what is being an SPO like?
5. Regarding the salary: The starting salaries are around 3.5k… Is there any bonus? Can I ask for an increased starting salary based on my post-grad degrees? And what is the typical salary of an SPO after he has worked for, let’s say, 3 years?
6. Based on your forum replies, it is very unlikely that I get accepted into the force. BUT let's say it happened.. The residential training at Home team acad is something like in the army is it? Do they have any scheme that allows you to go off at 6pm, and come back at 7:30 a.m for the next day of training? My house is along Jalan Bahar, leh. :)
Thank you for your time,
Looks like a lot of travelling in the afternoon for the orientation ... remember to top up ez-link card.
Originally posted by SnakeyKong:Looks like a lot of travelling in the afternoon for the orientation ... remember to top up ez-link card.
yah lor but i tot they will drive us there ? haha.
Originally posted by alper:Hi everyone,
I am new to the forum and I've learnt a lot reading this forum so far.
I'd like to ask few things to the experienced people like you on the application for the SPO post:
I did my Bachelor degree in an overseas university, Master of Engineering and Ph.D. in Nanyang Technological University. All in the field of electrical and electronic engineering.
Currently, I am working in the R&D area related to electronics...
But, well… I have always appreciated and admired the work of the police. And nowadays, I am seriously considering a career switch from the overly demanding but “still boring” academic circles into the “action–packed” (am I right in this assumption?:)) police force…
At this point I do have the following questions:
1. Is the SPO application still on?
Yes
2. I am 32 years old. (height: 1.8m, weight: 78 kg… physically fit... No NS experience, though.). I don’t mind my age, but does my age pose any problem with the job application for senior police officer? My Singaporean friends say that being above 28 years old makes things extremely difficult for someone to be hired for such a post… :(
Hard to say
3. I am an electronics engineer. So will it be awkward for me to apply for SPO post? Are there any examples of such career shifts in the police force? It would be nice to know from among you or your friends so that I can justify my decision to whomever asks about it. :)
Yes. Nobody will have prior experience as PO unless he serve NS in police.
4. I have read the job description in the website, but can you tell me more about what is being an SPO like?
Leading a team of POs. Macro-management
5. Regarding the salary: The starting salaries are around 3.5k… Is there any bonus? Can I ask for an increased starting salary based on my post-grad degrees? And what is the typical salary of an SPO after he has worked for, let’s say, 3 years?
Can attempt to ask for more pay if you make it through. Pay after 3 yrs depends on performance.
6. Based on your forum replies, it is very unlikely that I get accepted into the force. BUT let's say it happened.. The residential training at Home team acad is something like in the army is it? Do they have any scheme that allows you to go off at 6pm, and come back at 7:30 a.m for the next day of training? My house is along Jalan Bahar, leh. :)
Maybe. Ask during the dialogue session.
Thank you for your time,
Haha, we are driven mah. BMW.
Originally posted by SnakeyKong:Haha, we are driven mah. BMW.
those who drive pls auto carpool hor ! dun gekgek run off...hahaha
1) May not be online. Can be via newspaper advert.
7) Meeting with CP?? Huh?? For scholars ah??
The entire process time varies. Mine was quite fast...
thanks for the answers, Belmont...
I'd appreciate others' inputs, but that's a start anyway. :)
Does being a PR rather than a citizen affect (i.e. degrade :) ) the individual's chances of getting the SPO post?
cos, I've applied for the s'pore citizenship last month, still no reply...
now I can't really decide : shall I apply for the SPO now or wait until they 'hopefully' grant me the citizenship?
Until when is the SPO application, btw? Any deadline?
Originally posted by gratitude:Hello, from what I have roughly gathered in this thread, the typical selection assessment is as follows? Perhaps Belmont or someone who has been through the entire selection assessment can help clarify the details?
1) Online application and mailing of relavant documents
2) Selection assessment (3 hours of psychometric assessment + forms filling + measure height/weight/tattoo declaration etc.)
3) Dialogue (assistant director of manpower + another manpower officer)
4) Psychologist interview
5) Panel interview
6) Medical
7) Meeting with CP
It took around 1 month after application to receive the selection assessment notification, and another 1 month to receive the dialogue notification. In between the selection assessment and dialogue, they even sent me a letter to inform me that they will schedule me for the dialogue soon, perhaps due to the length of time in between.
Apparantly most people on this forum went through the stages much faster, so it might mean that I am always one of the borderline cases hehe. Or perhaps they have more time to deal with me, since I'll only finish my NUS exams in May and might not be able to join the very next training intake (not sure when though).
Following is my experience,
1)Online application.
2)They reply within 2 weeks, the HR department ask me to mail them my photocopied documents.
3)After like 2 weeks, they sms me asking me to go down for selection assessment 1week later. It basically did 2 things. First do alot of test which did from 10am to 1pm. After which break for lunch. Later on from 230pm to 5pm fill in forms and varifies original documents.
4)The next day the smsed me, asking me go down for dialogue session next week. Which is 6days length diff between Selection assessment and the next round.
5)Went for the dialgoue. Did some physical checks after with will go on to the proper interviews. Finished everything by 1pm.
6) waited for 5days, they called me asking me to go down for psychologist interviews. Length between 2nd round and 3rd around is 7days.
7) I am now 2 days after the psychologist interviews and waiting for panel interviews.
By the way there shouldnt be the meet with CP that u mentioned. After medical check up should be contract signing. After which will allocate to HTA. So between panel and medical check should be around 1week and between medical check and contract signing should be 2-3weeks. After which wait 2 more weeks for HTA.
In conclusion, this is a very lengthy process.... From online application till successfully got into HTA should take around 13 weeks? From 1st round till got into HTA should be 9 weeks.
So if everything go sucessfully, i still left 1 week to see panel, 2 weeks to get positive result asking me to go Medical check up, and 4 more weeks to contract signing, lastly 6more weeks till getting into HTA. ......
Originally posted by alper:thanks for the answers, Belmont...
Does being a PR rather than a citizen affect (i.e. degrade :) ) the individual's chances of getting the SPO post?
now I can't really decide : shall I apply for the SPO now or wait until they 'hopefully' grant me the citizenship?
Just apply. If they reply then its good, if not just give it a pass.
Originally posted by alper:thanks for the answers, Belmont...
Hi,
I suggest you just apply for the post, I'm a SPR holder and I just got my approval done on Wed, after a long wait of near 1 mth. However, I believe the chance of recruitment is the same. So just give it a shot and keep your fingers crossed ya? Good luck =D
Anyone know what is the Most common rank for a non Scholar senior police to land up with till retirement?
Anyone know how much does a DSP and a superintendent earns?
Originally posted by Westpoison:Anyone know what is the Most common rank for a non Scholar senior police to land up with till retirement?
Anyone know how much does a DSP and a superintendent earns?
Maybe DAC or AC bah...alot of factors one. Dun think til so far lah.Just relax and go for the panel, no need everyday come here farm for info to "use" for panel.
your character and way of doing things will more of less determine if you get the job. I repeat, ITS WHAT YOU ARE.
lol. Thanks for the guidance. Now farming for info lah. Just curious thats all. haha.
Hi,
Juz went for the board interview this morning. After the interview i received an envelope informing me to go for my medical. Realising that that not everyone receive that envelope. Any idea what are my chances now?
Thanks