haha thnx guys.
@jeln: after SA for me is jus check career@gov to see if ur status change or not. after which if shortlisted they will sms and email u for ur AD details. At least thats wad i been thru.
@weymas: haha is ur course manager a nice person? lol. anyway. cya in HTA soon =D feels like its NS time again. zzz cz i was from spf in ns.
Originally posted by jk87:haha thnx guys.
@jeln: after SA for me is jus check career@gov to see if ur status change or not. after which if shortlisted they will sms and email u for ur AD details. At least thats wad i been thru.
@weymas: haha is ur course manager a nice person? lol. anyway. cya in HTA soon =D feels like its NS time again. zzz cz i was from spf in ns.
H Jein,
For me, i got a reply for AD dialouge one month after my SA. Received a SMS first to inform on the date of diaouge. Followed by an email stating details.
Hi jk87,
congrats on being offered on SPO! when should the status of 'shortlisted' be change? mine was put to shortlisted when i received email for SA. Im from NS SPF too. which DIv were u attached?
Went for my clinical interview today. Hope board interview can come soonest. Moulding already...
To share my timeline for others as reference;
22nd April: Application
22nd May: SA
1st July: AD Dialouge (suppose to be on 22 June. Was postpone due to bad haze)
19th July: Clinical Interview
Hanging on still.
Sharing My journey for those waiting wannabes:
Dec 12: applied for position as SPO
05 Feb 13: Sent mail to reinstate my application that was neglected in dec 12.
07 feb: SPF replied my mail
*20 Feb: SA
*21 Mar: Manpower dialogue
*17 Apr: physcologist int
13 May: skipped board interview (unable to make it)
*31 May: board interview
7 June: SPF sent mail for medical appt
*19 June: personally scheduled medical check up
10 July: SPF called and apologized to ignore wrongly sent email for 2nd round medical
19 July: sharing my story here and celebrating my 6 months soon of waiting technical speaking :)
Apparently it seems like its one stage each month.
Originally posted by jk87:haha thnx guys.
well i think it should be him taking ur squad, since he said he will be taking C6 but we can't confirm it.. heh.
he's generally quite nice, but i won't say much.. i'll just let you experience it for urself.. haha. but one thing's for sure, he's probably one of the best course managers around.. he'll arrange a tightly packed schedule so that the whole syllabus can be cleared before the leadership phase.
when u come in, do feel free to look for me and my squad (C3). chronologically we're currently the most senior squad (C7/2012 is currently in nepal), so if u and ur squad have any questions or doubts, look for us and we'll do our best to help u guys.
@Whyzee: My status changed shortlisted like 2 days after SA leh. hmm not before SA. ooh i was from tanglin div. TY npc as npco during my ns. u? haha
@weymas: Haha thanks for those help offered! anyway.. think i private mail u some qns in order not to bomb this forum. lol. thanks again!
Hey jk,
Congratulation on your successful appointment. So when's your orientation ?
@james: thanks! orientation is from this coming wed onwards. i will see u soon in hta too ok! ur medical is jus days after mine... since im placed in this kinda last min.. i believe u shld enter the nxt batch!
@whyzee: woah AOFI sia. fit arh someone! jus dun b too nervous for interview lo.. apart from that i see no reason that u will fail. ooh.. b prepared if they ever ask u anything about spf in board interview... like since u served ns before.. wad feedbacks will u have for SPF to improve SPF or something... cz i kena.. zz.
Originally posted by jk87:@james: thanks! orientation is from this coming wed onwards. i will see u soon in hta too ok! ur medical is jus days after mine... since im placed in this kinda last min.. i believe u shld enter the nxt batch!
@whyzee: woah AOFI sia. fit arh someone! jus dun b too nervous for interview lo.. apart from that i see no reason that u will fail. ooh.. b prepared if they ever ask u anything about spf in board interview... like since u served ns before.. wad feedbacks will u have for SPF to improve SPF or something... cz i kena.. zz.
congrats JK87! any idea when the next intake is scheduled?
Originally posted by jk87:@james: thanks! orientation is from this coming wed onwards. i will see u soon in hta too ok! ur medical is jus days after mine... since im placed in this kinda last min.. i believe u shld enter the nxt batch!
@jk87,
Thanks for the heads up! Set me to start thinking now. haha. Possible to pm me some of the ques that they asked u in Board interview?
Many thanks!
Originally posted by a1b2c3b4:congrats JK87! any idea when the next intake is scheduled?
@a1b2c3b4: hey thanks. im not sure thou..from what i heard from recruitment side is oct has a confirmed batch.. in between may have intake but they are not sure yet.. however quite a few of u said theres 9 intake this year and the last is c9 at oct rite? mayb u can check w weymas or those that are alrdy in training if they heard anything about it from inside?
@whyzee: yup pm-ed u
Originally posted by jk87:@a1b2c3b4: hey thanks. im not sure thou..from what i heard from recruitment side is oct has a confirmed batch.. in between may have intake but they are not sure yet.. however quite a few of u said theres 9 intake this year and the last is c9 at oct rite? mayb u can check w weymas or those that are alrdy in training if they heard anything about it from inside?
wow october, that's still far away! :/ anyway, JK87, did you just graduate from university? when did you first apply on career@gov, and when did you go for your SA? thanks!
Originally posted by jk87:@a1b2c3b4: hey thanks. im not sure thou..from what i heard from recruitment side is oct has a confirmed batch.. in between may have intake but they are not sure yet.. however quite a few of u said theres 9 intake this year and the last is c9 at oct rite? mayb u can check w weymas or those that are alrdy in training if they heard anything about it from inside?
Hi jk87,
Thank you so much! congrats again for successsful appointment!
hi fellow applicants and seniors,
*my apologies for the incoming WOT as my first post.. :p
been lurking around for awhile since my decision to apply for SPO. had just been called up for my clinical interview recently.
but now i am stucked in a crossroad with a very good offer from private sector, in the engineering field. i can see that the manager and director are on a very positive impression of me especially the manager, due to certain similarities shared among both of us in terms of interest, viewpoints and background.
i am not a money person and if i can confirm my place in SPF now i will definitely choose being an SPO. but now, i still have a panel interview to go through and i really am at lost of what to do.
the minimum period of employment of the said company is 3mths and i am told that if we pass through the SPO selection, contract will be signed around sept and training will start at Oct.
so now i am kinda forced to make a decision. to take the risk and reject the above mentioned coy, or to give up and just take the offer given. i had already rejected an offer from an SME earlier on as i decided to try for this.
i have interest in both being an engineer and policeman, as both are very noble and respectful profession to me.
i know its a bit useless for me to ask as nth is 100% in a selection process, but how good a chance is it to get through the panel interview? as in usually only 15% make it or 85% make it? or 50:50..
i am a fairly confident speaker and had no problems so far with interviews with both MNC and SME.. but i admit i am a little jittery during my AD dialougue. *blush* guess i really want this path so badly until i became really nervous.
Originally posted by Haiz2006:Hi xuande,I hope I can address you as an applicant still waiting which I share an opposite stand as compared to you. I went thru all stages already not knowing the outcome and still stuck in a decision whether to take up the offer if everything turns successful. Few years being an engineer has bore me down both public and Pte sector (public is paying well, Pte has good exposure) deep down I want to be extraordinary and being police I feel I can do that, but I know it's not an easy job either....I like the police work but i have some uncertainty regarding the work life balance and spending time at home with family. I will not sugar the scope of a pass out SPO---the first year or so will be tough, adjusting to shift work and learning a whole new skill set. As an IO, if you are investigating a case and your subject gets arrested on the weekend, you may have to go back on the weekend to record his statement and settle his bail. As a Team Leader, you may get recalled to lead security operations during public holidays such as National Day, Christmas, even Chinese New Year, on top of your normal duties. While there are a lot of leave, missing out on a special public holiday with a loved one is sometimes not really replaceable even with 3 or 4 days of leave.But this is the sacrifice all police officers understand and are willing to make. The dynamic and uncertain nature of this job is what makes it exciting. The impact police make on our fellow citizens’ safety and security is what makes it meaningful and worthwhile. We see a side of Singapore that only police officers know of, a side that we work day and night to protect our countrymen from.The wait for the result is tormenting and if you want to play bastard or If I were you, I will take up the engineer job while entering to wait for the process of police since it is so long anyway.. Too many factors to consider anyway, if u r working then dont have to quit and continue waiting.. If u are not, go for the job first and wait for police..and if you are confident speaker, show leadership, calm speaker you can pass the interview at ease..Till now I can't decide either...
thank you, Haiz2006, for your effort to reply me :D
its actually my plan all along to do that, to work as an engineer first while waiting for SPF results.
however now it clashed with the offer i got outside. because i expected things to be a lot slower (like confirm in jan'14)..
so since spf will be confirming by sept if all goes well according to the recruitment officer, it means i will not be able to fufill the min service period of the outside offer, which means i will have to reject the offer if i want to continue with the SPO application.
what bogs me down now is im thinking what if i reject this good offer i got and end up i fail the SPO selection then it will be like i sacrifice all my offers and i end up with nothing.
so now i just want to know how much risk is involve.
but your reply did help me, by enforcing the reason why i choose to sign on. though sometimes i, if not all applicants, surely wish they will speed up the process a little bit more.. :p
well, blame myself though for not planning for my career earlier. should have applied for it while i'm still in school.
Glad I can help, good luck man...Same thinking as an engineer...too, taste first den go for police..no regrets lah.
Ur case can be settled, go for new job and wait for SPF, if result is pass and offer given; delay your entry for training and fulfill the employment of 3 months.. Put yourself in a undergraduate's shoe which will be similar as you ... Let the employer know after 1 month -2 month job don't suit you actually, they will understand and source for new candidate even earlier than you expected..
is it possible to choose when u want to start the HTA training if u're selected?
i think i'll be going for it. fingers crossed now. gonna give it my best effort on interviews for the board. and best of luck too for all the applicants here.. :D
Originally posted by CcW:is it possible to choose when u want to start the HTA training if u're selected?
if u have a valid reason to delay your start date, you can let recruitment know so they can slot u in for the next intake.
another week of waiting has passed. :/
Originally posted by xuande:
hi fellow applicants and seniors,
*my apologies for the incoming WOT as my first post.. :p
been lurking around for awhile since my decision to apply for SPO. had just been called up for my clinical interview recently.
but now i am stucked in a crossroad with a very good offer from private sector, in the engineering field. i can see that the manager and director are on a very positive impression of me especially the manager, due to certain similarities shared among both of us in terms of interest, viewpoints and background.
i am not a money person and if i can confirm my place in SPF now i will definitely choose being an SPO. but now, i still have a panel interview to go through and i really am at lost of what to do.
the minimum period of employment of the said company is 3mths and i am told that if we pass through the SPO selection, contract will be signed around sept and training will start at Oct.
so now i am kinda forced to make a decision. to take the risk and reject the above mentioned coy, or to give up and just take the offer given. i had already rejected an offer from an SME earlier on as i decided to try for this.
i have interest in both being an engineer and policeman, as both are very noble and respectful profession to me.
i know its a bit useless for me to ask as nth is 100% in a selection process, but how good a chance is it to get through the panel interview? as in usually only 15% make it or 85% make it? or 50:50..
i am a fairly confident speaker and had no problems so far with interviews with both MNC and SME.. but i admit i am a little jittery during my AD dialougue. *blush* guess i really want this path so badly until i became really nervous.
Well, during my SA I took a peek and saw the number of names on the list, and based off information from this forum (6-10trainees per intake, roughly 9 intake per year, and one SA every 2weeks-1month), the numbers are quite depressing in terms of success rate (i.e. 95% will not be selected for various reasons). Of course, this number is highly inaccurate, because it does not include people who decided to withdraw, higher number of intakes, different number of trainees per intake, different number of applications at different times of the year, and various other reasons. Ultimately, I think the important thing is to know that they will be assessing you as an individual; that is your suitability and fit to being a police officer; and not in comparison to other applicants. Based on this fact itself, I would not trust that estimation that I've made. So like what many others have suggested thus far, just do your best :)