High tech comes with a price? But seriously it does seem a good investment. More efficient. I wonder how durable , how shock-resistant it is?Originally posted by anfuni:wah... so EX!
Looks like a long time ago thoughOriginally posted by qazplm:Here are some news on MPOD....
"From next month, 150 policemen on patrol in Housing Board estates will carry with them a palmtop that can access the particulars of people with a criminal record, as well as the registered numbers of stolen vehicles kept in the police data bank. But the information can only be accessed with a password. The palmtop can also double as a phone, and when fitted with a small attachment, turns into a digital camera. If all goes well during the six-month trial, all officers will carry the Hewlett-Packard Jornada 928. The device was developed over six months at a cost of S$1 million. (Straits Times 22 Feb 2002) (3)"
above are extracted from
http://www.getforme.com/Info_police.htm
and more news here...
http://www.infosyncworld.com/news/n/1504.html
http://www.tec.gov.sg/palmtops%5Bnews%5D.htm
Price is S$ 1, 599
where got so expensive.. quite cheap already...Originally posted by anfuni:wah... so EX!
Reminds me of lotus notes.....Originally posted by houndy:Cheap what... since they always get close to extinct programs and close to extinct computers...
Haha.. sometimes I think hor, the decision makers are at a lose-lose situation also ? You want new techonology, you want something new, you have to pay high price. However, if you really subscribe to it, you get backlash from the public for "overspending" or " wasting public funds", especially when economiy is bad. It's evident from the various letters to the government forums.Originally posted by houndy:Cheap what... since they always get close to extinct programs and close to extinct computers...
its suppose to be already out of production....Originally posted by huaiwei:Well, I wasent too comfortable with the idea that they are using the HP Jornada...isnt that an extinct model (and product line) by now?!
Good question! But dun know as yetOriginally posted by FireIce:will SPF outsource their IT dept?
Strange looking mata... And no more that discipline lookOriginally posted by boyish love:My opinion is they should get a new more hippy police uniform. Something that is comfortable to wear and not restrictive. Now the blue one, i feel sorry for matas, in singapore too stiff and hot. Look smart yeah, but not practical.
We are in the 21 century, new design man! Some special track suit will be cool, can also attract more aspiring young mata waanabe.
Originally posted by huaiwei:Well, I wasent too comfortable with the idea that they are using the HP Jornada...isnt that an extinct model (and product line) by now?!
Originally posted by houndy:Cheap what... since they always get close to extinct programs and close to extinct computers...
Originally posted by huaiwei:Reminds me of lotus notes.....
I dont deny that usually the "new" things that are implemented, usually were either not-to-date or out-of-production gadgets. But perhaps if you were in the "management" level, you will know what are the SOP to these. Its also practice in private companies too. I can't remember its written inside which Act. But its like when you open for tender, you need companies to bid. And usually the one with the lowest price will win the tender. And MPOD actually started in 2002, when they are in the pilot phrase of giving it as a trial run. So HP Jornada its still one of the best gadget then.Originally posted by malcolmloke:Haha.. sometimes I think hor, the decision makers are at a lose-lose situation also ? You want new techonology, you want something new, you have to pay high price. However, if you really subscribe to it, you get backlash from the public for "overspending" or " wasting public funds", especially when economiy is bad. It's evident from the various letters to the government forums.
And if you get "not so up to date", well, people also criticise?
If say something happens, oh well, the public may blame of the level of techonology. As in," how come we did not use the best technology?" and blah blah blah...... when in the first place, many are against "wasting money" ?
Hmm....
I believe thats what we have been discussing here...Originally posted by boyish love:If the design is done right, i think mata will look cooler!!! with better material will enhance movement and wearability.
now is smart is smart, and strict, but very boring.
new space age mata easier for new generation to relate too.
OUTSOURCE?Originally posted by FireIce:will SPF outsource their IT dept?
Let me quess....are you an NPCC cadet??Originally posted by boyish love:My opinion is they should get a new more hippy police uniform. Something that is comfortable to wear and not restrictive. Now the blue one, i feel sorry for matas, in singapore too stiff and hot. Look smart yeah, but not practical.
We are in the 21 century, new design man! Some special track suit will be cool, can also attract more aspiring young mata waanabe.
Aiyah..but the "new" uniform basically looks the same as the old one..from the outside what!Originally posted by qazplm:I believe thats what we have been discussing here...
The new uniform should look better and cooler too~
*smiles*Originally posted by huaiwei:Aiyah..but the "new" uniform basically looks the same as the old one..from the outside what!
Haha.. as long comfortable and don't appear too sloppy can liao I guess?Originally posted by houndy:It is the same... and besides the name tags are not ready... you look like one clown wearing that...
No.... there is another new belt in pilot phrase now~Originally posted by malcolmloke:Haha.. as long comfortable and don't appear too sloppy can liao I guess?
Other than the material and a sligth change in the design of the uniform ( e.g. the new side pocket), is there a change in others such as say the belt? Don't think so right? After all they just implemented the new belt some 3-4 years ago?
Its actually on the side.....Originally posted by huaiwei:Er..before I forget to say....my colleage saw someone wearing the new pants at our NPC. He say two very obvious slits on the front....and he say is looks absolutely horrid and unprofessional.
Whoops.
why cant they just let us hand the thing from our belts instead?