Hey...not exactly peanuts loh....there ARE still a number of people who seem to be doing full time VSC..macham every day do duty leh, more full time then the regulars!Originally posted by malcolmloke:Well, maybe lor? Especially when the economy is so bad. Go full time VSC can at least earn some money?
Though peanuts
Eh... that is because u r still singleOriginally posted by huaiwei:Hey...not exactly peanuts loh....there ARE still a number of people who seem to be doing full time VSC..macham every day do duty leh, more full time then the regulars!
Last month I did only 6 duties, and 2 in-service/meeting, and I already clocked 100 hours liao. Thats $280, enough to pay for my daily expenses for the entire month and more!
Heh, I am the very model of a good citizen. I have never run afoul of the law, not even a parking fineOriginally posted by huaiwei:It is very unlikely for you not to be called up for an interview lah, unless you dont meet the basic requirements (I had a friend who tried his luck even thou he isnt Pes A or B), or you have some emm......sensitive stuff in your records which they get suspicious over?
Actually an interview session just ended about a few weeks ago leh, so you might have to actually wait up to 4 months for them to call you up!
Originally posted by huaiwei:It is very unlikely for you not to be called up for an interview lah, unless you dont meet the basic requirements (I had a friend who tried his luck even thou he isnt Pes A or B), or you have some emm......sensitive stuff in your records which they get suspicious over?
Haha.. interesting thoughtOriginally posted by anthony77:Does Police NSF have PES C? I should think so right? Wonder why VSC don't accept PES C People. Even though they are not so fit, I'm sure they can contribute in other ways.
Maybe those PES C guys can volunteer in NPCC instead
Anthony
Hehe....depends on luck one lah. Take my situation:Originally posted by Luke1976:Heh, I am the very model of a good citizen. I have never run afoul of the law, not even a parking fine
4 months is a really long time! I was expecting 2 week or a month latest.
I managed to pass my IPPT just recently. Hopefully I won't put on weight in 4 month's time. Haha!
Well, coz VSC wants to have a basic admission criteria similar to the regular side? Quite alot of reasons why they wish to do this I suppose.Originally posted by anthony77:Does Police NSF have PES C? I should think so right? Wonder why VSC don't accept PES C People. Even though they are not so fit, I'm sure they can contribute in other ways.
Maybe those PES C guys can volunteer in NPCC instead
Anthony
Not surprsing here. I believe the point being that a VSC officer has the same powers as his regular / NSF/ NSmen counterparts when on duty. Hence if the recruitment people deem that a higher level education qualifications is required to handle such tasks effectively, I believe the same will be applied to VSC?Originally posted by huaiwei:Well, coz VSC wants to have a basic admission criteria similar to the regular side? Quite alot of reasons why they wish to do this I suppose.
For example, I noticed they used to allow people with practically any degree of myopia in. The ruling was "6/9 with or without spectacles." A year after I signed on, they changed it to "must not exceed 500 degree," exactly the same as for the regulars.
I wont have been able to join if I applied now!
Also, they increased the minimum education requirement, just like what has happened for the regulars. Now, VSCs need minimum 3 O level credits, when they used to accept ITE certs of any kind, and even N level too I think?
dont think VSC have in TP.... hey but there is VSC in CCU sia.. not badOriginally posted by hohosaint:I was thinking to be a VSO as partime law enforcer. But problem lies on I'm more interested to be a TP (Traffic Police) rather than conventional types. Any advices?
No parking fine???? sure anot....Originally posted by Luke1976:Heh, I am the very model of a good citizen. I have never run afoul of the law, not even a parking fine
4 months is a really long time! I was expecting 2 week or a month latest.
I managed to pass my IPPT just recently. Hopefully I won't put on weight in 4 month's time. Haha!
Originally posted by huaiwei:Well, coz VSC wants to have a basic admission criteria similar to the regular side? Quite alot of reasons why they wish to do this I suppose.
For example, I noticed they used to allow people with practically any degree of myopia in. The ruling was "6/9 with or without spectacles." A year after I signed on, they changed it to "must not exceed 500 degree," exactly the same as for the regulars.
I wont have been able to join if I applied now!
Also, they increased the minimum education requirement, just like what has happened for the regulars. Now, VSCs need minimum 3 O level credits, when they used to accept ITE certs of any kind, and even N level too I think?
Because I was told by friend that VSC allows us to work in TP but covers weekend operation duties. Perhaps, I was deceived by them...Originally posted by houndy:dont think VSC have in TP.... hey but there is VSC in CCU sia.. not bad
Hmm.. I have always thought that there are VSC in TP.Originally posted by houndy:dont think VSC have in TP.... hey but there is VSC in CCU sia.. not bad
Er...just to clear up the rumours, TP confirm have VSC. But if you read my earlier posts, their general posting policy now is for all new trainees to serve at least 6 months in a line unit first before being posted to these "specialist" units, including TP.Originally posted by hohosaint:I was thinking to be a VSO as partime law enforcer. But problem lies on I'm more interested to be a TP (Traffic Police) rather than conventional types. Any advices?
Hmm....we do have VSCs (actually quite a number of them...hey, not surprising when most VSCs are relatively older right? ) who end up having medical conditions, and are excused from IPPT. From what I know, they still perform their duties?Originally posted by malcolmloke:Not surprsing here. I believe the point being that a VSC officer has the same powers as his regular / NSF/ NSmen counterparts when on duty. Hence if the recruitment people deem that a higher level education qualifications is required to handle such tasks effectively, I believe the same will be applied to VSC?
Just wondering if a VSC ( not a VSC trainee) is downgraded, will he be asked to leave? Should not be right?
Someone told me about matas being quite well paid....here is one example yeah?Originally posted by houndy:To all TP, my car number is SFM 5**9 R.... pls dont summon.. cannot put full number.. wait people scarthed..heart pain... hahaha..so just see the first and last ok liao....
Wah new car ah..Originally posted by houndy:To all TP, my car number is SFM 5**9 R.... pls dont summon.. cannot put full number.. wait people scarthed..heart pain... hahaha..so just see the first and last ok liao....
Wah?!? Peanut salary can buy new car leh... That must be SOME peanut eh....Originally posted by houndy:where got well-paid....my peanut salary...hahaha...VSC then rich.. always drive to work one...
Yah loh... E.g. Go PCC, park at SGH carpark.... quite a distance actually. Still must cross road somemore...Originally posted by huaiwei:Hahaha....funny siaz...but framkly, I dont see alot of regulars driving a car to work. Maybe its just due to practicality since they cant park anywayz.
Haha... also some form of exercise mahOriginally posted by yst:Yah loh... E.g. Go PCC, park at SGH carpark.... quite a distance actually. Still must cross road somemore...
Hmmm..... actually, I would rather push a lorry up the slope with the hand brake on....Originally posted by malcolmloke:Haha... also some form of exercise mah