Studied till secondary 4 in NT stream.... Left the school without completing the school leaving examination. Means faked 'N' level for NT. Joined hotel as accounts clerk for a length of 2 years and finally, left the hotel and enlisted to join SAF for 2 years too. Upon ROD, he was lucky enough to be recruited by a Oil & Gas Industry and had been working for 2 years as Administrator and some IT task.Originally posted by huaiwei:Yeah lah..but I want to know more about his actual paper qualifications, as well as his medical background, age, etc etc lah. Maybe I can try asking some people in recruitment...see how lah.
Sigh...you are unlucky then. I was amongst the last batch to join whereby I slipped through the eyesight requirement!Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Just went to VSC website... Eyesight must be less than 500 deg... then i automatically disqualified liao... cos mine's around 800..
sigh....dont think we can help him liao lah. 3 O levels minimum. And be proficient in English. Well, some of you may argue how come uniformed forces need paper qualification when they can be super marksman or can run 2.4km in 7mins. Well when it comes to matas, especially when we are talking about your typical NPCO patrolling the streets, it is no longer about just chasing after criminals and hand them over liao, as was the case in the NPP days. Today's NPCOs are expected to be familiar with the laws, be able to communicate effectively with the public, be able to conduct simple investigation work, and there are tonnes of administrative work to do as well, just to name a few. This is the simple reason why they have upped the minimum educational qualifications for POs.Originally posted by hohosaint:Studied till secondary 4 in NT stream.... Left the school without completing the school leaving examination. Means faked 'N' level for NT. Joined hotel as accounts clerk for a length of 2 years and finally, left the hotel and enlisted to join SAF for 2 years too. Upon ROD, he was lucky enough to be recruited by a Oil & Gas Industry and had been working for 2 years as Administrator and some IT task.
So basically, he has nothing but competancy.
Well, another one of those senseless requirements... even though i'm Pes A and didnt have problems with my eyesight at all in the Army... not as though police cannot wear specs on duty.. Heh, had thought it'll be quite interesting to be a cop in my free time, meanwhile helping to rid the streets of undesirable elements...Originally posted by huaiwei:Sigh...you are unlucky then. I was amongst the last batch to join whereby I slipped through the eyesight requirement!
Aye...at least u are refering to volunteer work leh. How about those turned away from getting a full time job? Maybe even more jialat.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Well, another one of those senseless requirements... even though i'm Pes A and didnt have problems with my eyesight at all in the Army... not as though police cannot wear specs on duty.. Heh, had thought it'll be quite interesting to be a cop in my free time, meanwhile helping to rid the streets of undesirable elements...
They feel more secured and it is a true factor. To me, a person holding a pistol on hand will be safer than one person holding a knife.Originally posted by huaiwei:Aye...at least u are refering to volunteer work leh. How about those turned away from getting a full time job? Maybe even more jialat.
Police can wear specs and contacts, of coz, but I suppose it is a basic contingency requirement for the worse case scenarios loh. If you wear specs, sekali drop your specs in a scuffle how? Instantly blinded and overpowered liao especially at night?
If you think the eyesight requirement is wierd, the height the weight one is also abit strange if you think about it. I have a friend who is so anxious about getting into either the regulars or VSc, but he cant even get through VSC, all because too short by a few cms!
I suppose the police, and by extension the VSC, is still very much a public image thingy lah. People naturally feel better seeing a bigger sized and non-bespectacled officer around, I suppose?
Huh...dont understand this line leh...Originally posted by hohosaint:They feel more secured and it is a true factor. To me, a person holding a pistol on hand will be safer than one person holding a knife.
Muahaha......that will be good news for me.Originally posted by houndy:10 yrs from now.. i think to be normal PO must have degree already sia.. hahah..
Originally posted by houndy:10 yrs from now.. i think to be normal PO must have degree already sia.. hahah..
INSPECTOR dont talk so much ok... just because you are an INSPECTOR..Originally posted by huaiwei:Muahaha......that will be good news for me.
Aiyah seriously, expectations of policing work is changing so much liao lah. You guys write so much more then us. I keep telling my regular collegues they can write faster then me in my exams. You are expected to be able to be familiar with the law, something not even very much required before. Oh, and you guys realise just how multilingual you are?? Walao eh....its nothing unusual for you guys to converse in like over 4 languages leh! Its nothing usual to find degree holders being effectively monolingual in comparison!
Inspector?Originally posted by houndy:INSPECTOR dont talk so much ok... just because you are an INSPECTOR..
Hehe... No matter who is in the blue uniform. As long as it has a pistol to protect the public and others... HEY.... I feel safer!Originally posted by huaiwei:Huh...dont understand this line leh...
Errrmm....................Originally posted by houndy:INSPECTOR dont talk so much ok... just because you are an INSPECTOR..
HAHAHAHAOriginally posted by houndy:INSPECTOR dont talk so much ok... just because you are an INSPECTOR..
Laugh wat laugh....wat inspector lah....Originally posted by malcolmloke:HAHAHAHA
Hoho...this thread gets saved everytime someone is involved in VSC.Originally posted by Luke1976:Hurray!
I *finally* got a letter for VSC interview next week!
What to expect from the interview ah? Got any tips?
Monday night? Geez....I have another friend who is going for the same interview as you then.Originally posted by Luke1976:Thanks huaiwei,
I will post here again on Monday nite to let you know if I am accepted
No...male. You interested? I can intro.Originally posted by houndy:oh....female??? hmmm...
Dont fail your medical can liao?Originally posted by Luke1976:Woohoo! I passed the interview liao. I was given a medical apointment letter. Does this mean I am in?
This evening there was a lot more guys than girls, and don't have any really chio ones around. Too bad...