I was referring to the Inspector rank which was commissioned by President only for those attended the Police Cadet Course... But not for those attended SAF OCS which commissioned SAF onli nia...Originally posted by huaiwei:I dunno what you talking leh. You refering to the ranks commissioned by who or what?
Hmm...I actually tot its the other way round, that only all SAF officers are commissioned by the president, and not SPF SPOS?Originally posted by hohosaint:I was referring to the Inspector rank which was commissioned by President only for those attended the Police Cadet Course... But not for those attended SAF OCS which commissioned SAF onli nia...
Should the above information is incorrect... Apologise for the mistake because I was told by my future sister-in-law who worked for the force mentioned about the above.Originally posted by Kaczynski:Heya...
I dont think so...To the best of my knowledge, Commissioned Officers receive their commissions on the authority of the President, although the President normally only attends one of the 4 commissioning parades through the year..(normally the one held in late Jan)
SC or NSPI, SPF or SAF, Commissioned by President or not, we are all doing our service to this Country![]()
yes . according to the Singapore Armed Forces Act Cap 295, 10 , " officers of the Singapore Armed Forces shall be appointed either by the President or by the proper authority who or which may, without assigning any reason, cancel any such appointment."Originally posted by huaiwei:Hmm...I actually tot its the other way round, that only all SAF officers are commissioned by the president, and not SPF SPOS?
Very informativeOriginally posted by malcolmloke:yes . according to the Singapore Armed Forces Act Cap 295, 10 , " officers of the Singapore Armed Forces shall be appointed either by the President or by the proper authority who or which may, without assigning any reason, cancel any such appointment."
Appointments in the SPF are governed by the Police Force Act 24 of 2004.
Appointment of Commissioner
6. —(1) Subject to subsection (2), the President may, on the advice of the Cabinet, appoint a public officer to be the Commissioner of Police.
(2) The President may refuse to make an appointment, or to revoke the appointment, of the Commissioner if the President, acting in his discretion, does not concur with the advice or recommendation of the Cabinet.
Appointment, etc., of other police officers
7. —(1) Subject to the provisions of the Constitution, a senior police officer shall be appointed, promoted and confirmed by the Public Service Commission or the relevant Personnel Board established under the Constitution, as the case may be.
(2) A police officer below the rank of inspector shall —
(a) be appointed by the Commissioner or a commanding officer; and
(b) be promoted or advanced in grade by the Commissioner.
They will be implementing it soon. Should be starting with the 117th or 118th intake.Originally posted by malcolmloke:I wonder if it's still the practice for SPF to get their OCTs from SAF BMTC?
Last I heard is that they are thinking of getting the OCTs from outstanding trainnees during the basic training phase in TRACOM? Has this been implemented or it is just a rumour?
Sometimes I really wonder the need for NSPI/NSI. Their postings/ job scopes are so limited. It seems like a waste of money/ time. ANyone heard of NS Inspectors posted to operational duties? Don't think so right?![]()
I see... at least the recruits at TRACOM have something to work towards to, if they desire.Originally posted by DummiesInc:They will be implementing it soon. Should be starting with the 117th or 118th intake.
Wah...then they have to train how long more? Another 9 freaking months??Originally posted by Sagara:yea.. outstanding trainees @ TRACOM will go to OCT ... 1-2 per squad according to my FI..
dun think so lah...since they already have police knowledge liao....Originally posted by huaiwei:Wah...then they have to train how long more? Another 9 freaking months??