You can actually look out in the Recruitment session as there are already some departments have their own recruitment exercise. They are depts like, Police Coast Guard, Police Dog Unit and Police Intelligence Department. There will be more departments going to have their own intake, so do look out in the recruitment session if you are interested.Originally posted by Prodigy:damn...i was thinking of applying for PO around NOV-DEC this year...lets hope they open it at that time!
30 per month? That is a surprisingly high number. I tot they are only about 3 C courses per year?Originally posted by houndy:Like about one squad each month..30 men at least..
I believe is about 20 - 30 per squad for SPO....Originally posted by huaiwei:30 per month? That is a surprisingly high number. I tot they are only about 3 C courses per year?
I beliebe the website you saw is also the one I saw. I was initially confused too.Originally posted by arrggh:How is the selection process like? Is there any physical test on that day? I wanna sign up, but cannot pass my 2.4km run leh. How? Also, what is the entry rank for 2nd lower honors grad? I went to the career fair few months ago, they told me it is Insp, but when I check the website, it states ASP.
Yeah.. I have yet to hear of 30 for a C course squad. In fact the maximum I've heard is about 20 per squad.Originally posted by qazplm:I believe is about 20 - 30 per squad for SPO....
so Far i have only heard of maximun 6 Squads per year....
So i believe houndy's information that "its 30 person per month" most likely will be a wrong infomation given...
2nd lower Hons will be Insp....Originally posted by arrggh:How is the selection process like? Is there any physical test on that day? I wanna sign up, but cannot pass my 2.4km run leh. How? Also, what is the entry rank for 2nd lower honors grad? I went to the career fair few months ago, they told me it is Insp, but when I check the website, it states ASP.
Not really that right, as i believe scholars are in a different selection exercise. So ranking/salary/job etc etc will be slightly difference from SPO.Originally posted by malcolmloke:I beliebe the website you saw is also the one I saw. I was initially confused too.
My take on this is that if you are on a overseas scholarship, the moment you sign on the dotted line, you will be appointed as ASP when you finish your C course. Even if you do not get your 2 upp Hons. The assumption here is that if you qualify for the scholarhip you should be a 2 upp material ? Not necessary so of course.
However for rank and file , direct entry ,I think that you will join as Insp if you do not get a 2 upp hons and above.
As for IPPT wise, the official requirements for admission doesn't require a pass in IPPT lah. At least that's what the website says. However I believe it will be an advantage to you if you pass or even do well for IPPT? After all competition is so keen for a post.
But if you do get into the force, just like any officers, you have to pass IPPT during your course and your sibsequent annual IPPT to be considered for promotion.
Just my guess, moderators , am I right?
Haha well if you look back, you will have noticed that I was asking how many of those new officers were SPOs, and you said....30 per month!Originally posted by houndy:You all talking about C course is it? i thought for nomal officers.. i was meaning for normal officers lah.. 6 squads a year only? when i went into TRACOM there were 8 squads including ours.. hmmm...
hahahaha is it.... see wrongly lah... we dont need so many overpaid people also lah... too many SPO spoil the soup...it is better to have a few good men, then many lousy men rightOriginally posted by huaiwei:Haha well if you look back, you will have noticed that I was asking how many of those new officers were SPOs, and you said....30 per month!
Yes... that is what I mean...what I meant was that scholars are different. From my understanding and what is on the website, they will be ASP upon graduation, regardless of their "quality " of degree.Originally posted by qazplm:Not really that right, as i believe scholars are in a different selection exercise. So ranking/salary/job etc etc will be slightly difference from SPO.
I do remember it states from Degree to 2nd lower Hons is Insp and only 2nd upper Hons and above is qualified for ASP. The new webby only states "good hons" which is not very clear, perhaps you have to ask when you are going for your interview. As it makes quite a difference if you entry with a rank of ASP compare to a rank of INSP.
Cheers..
I think only the recruitment people themselevs can give you a definite answer on that.Originally posted by arrggh:Do the recruitment ppl at SPF give heavy weightage to CCAs/ECAs? Does anyone know what is the acceptance rate like for SPO? What is the percentage of applicants being selected?
Aiyah... maybe in a year's time will be better?Originally posted by huaiwei:Sigh...seems like so many folks tend to ask questions which seems to somehow quantify what SPF wants to see in us before accepting us?
I think sometimes it ends up boiling down to their intuition.
So what can we do? Puah like there is no tomorrow loh. Study as hard as we can, do as much as we can outside school, build up a resume which makes every one else's look like toilet paper....
Isnt that what is to be expected in a highly competitive society like ours?
Yeah....its like playing stock markets I guess.... Sometimes hit..sometimes miss. But all we want it one hit!Originally posted by malcolmloke:Aiyah... maybe in a year's time will be better?
You die liao huh?Originally posted by houndy:just apply lah.. talk so much.. get then get.. dont get so be it lah...unless you die die want to be a police officer...like me...
I would think the majority of people who think this much about application are indeed in the "die die wanna be" category!Originally posted by houndy:just apply lah.. talk so much.. get then get.. dont get so be it lah...unless you die die want to be a police officer...like me...
Well, if the force rejects you for some security reasons... reject means reject what. They die die don't want you and you won't know the reason.Originally posted by huaiwei:I would think the majority of people who think this much about application are indeed in the "die die wanna be" category!
haha.. traffic fine consider or not?Originally posted by houndy:But i know you cant have records is you want to join though, including your immediate family background also.. heard if your parents well sort of doing those kind of not so legal work or have spent time in jail for some sort of not so legal things.. you will be affected as well.. hmmm...and also you cannot be associated with any SS gangs...