Originally posted by sacredsoul89:Yea STN medic is interesting but I dont think I can handle it. I in MOC already so stressed. I think I go stn, I depressed lol.
dun worie, I was also like you before..
but going out for ambulance calls, you'll see stuffs which you might nvr thought possible..
Final Theory and Final PAM completed. Today is Final EX. Tmr is POP day...Woohoo. Actually supposed to have medical attachment next week but they cancel liao lol. Posting out tmr.
Originally posted by sacredsoul89:Final Theory and Final PAM completed. Today is Final EX. Tmr is POP day...Woohoo. Actually supposed to have medical attachment next week but they cancel liao lol. Posting out tmr.
so how was your final ex, still got two right - both day/nite ex..
so where you being posted to..
Finished final ex today. I only did the day one. I was a casualty for the night ex. We took turns but some people had to do both day and night ex. Also, got any medic vocation that has to do with statistics?
Originally posted by sacredsoul89:Finished final ex today. I only did the day one. I was a casualty for the night ex. We took turns but some people had to do both day and night ex. Also, got any medic vocation that has to do with statistics?
so how's your final ex, did you guys had to re-start 1/2 way during the ex due to some blunders made & where you guys did ur final ex..
I still remembered for my final nite ex, it was pouring so heavily & with regards to the medic vocation that has got to do with statistics, I don't think there's any..
We only got semula once during the day ex coz the OIC didnt report to the ground commander straight away and also set up the FAP wrongly. After that, it was fine. No more semulas.
Btw, got posted as a Hospital medic. Got to report to HQ on monday to find out which hospital I go to.
Originally posted by sacredsoul89:We only got semula once during the day ex coz the OIC didnt report to the ground commander straight away and also set up the FAP wrongly. After that, it was fine. No more semulas.
Btw, got posted as a Hospital medic. Got to report to HQ on monday to find out which hospital I go to.
ok, no offence but hospital medics not as gd as ambulance medics coz you won't get to experience wat you've learnt during your MOC & apply it in real life situations..
None taken. Yea I understand that. I prefer to go medical centre or smth but dont know why kenna hospital. Like only the worst get sent there right?
i didn't know medic got final ex etc. what is it like?
is it as shiong as ERS?
Just have to setup First Aid point. Its just to prepare you for reservist coz from what I gather, you got to do that for medic reservist.
Originally posted by sacredsoul89:None taken. Yea I understand that. I prefer to go medical centre or smth but dont know why kenna hospital. Like only the worst get sent there right?
no offence again but medical centre medics also kinda boring vocation coz you'll only get to see those recruits or whoever who is not feeling well but administer flu jabs for example..
unless if that's what you really want & you stay near CDA then its not a problem but still nothing beats being an ambulance medic aka station medic..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i didn't know medic got final ex etc. what is it like?
is it as shiong as ERS?
there are two - day & nite final ex..
anything wrong, got to restart from the very beginning & I mean load everything up the lorry and restart from there..
still remembered I did my final nite ex in the pouring rain over at MTV..
Originally posted by sacredsoul89:Just have to setup First Aid point. Its just to prepare you for reservist coz from what I gather, you got to do that for medic reservist.
got to correct you on this, you might not get the medic vocation again for your reservist..
Originally posted by QX179R:there are two - day & nite final ex..
anything wrong, got to restart from the very beginning & I mean load everything up the lorry and restart from there..
still remembered I did my final nite ex in the pouring rain over at MTV..
same same. but i want to know what's the scenario?
for me, it was like usually fire cases, say.. 6 casualties caught in burning building, etc.
or mass casualty.
for ambulances what is ur scenario like?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:same same. but i want to know what's the scenario?
for me, it was like usually fire cases, say.. 6 casualties caught in burning building, etc.
or mass casualty.
for ambulances what is ur scenario like?
our instructors or the paramedic in charge will let the casualities know what will be their injuries, either P0, P1, P2, P3 or P4..
but we being the medics to rescue them won't know what are their injuries till we found them..
after we assess then we bring them to the triage area aka 1st aid point..
Originally posted by QX179R:our instructors or the paramedic in charge will let the casualities know what will be their injuries, either P0, P1, P2, P3 or P4..
but we being the medics to rescue them won't know what are their injuries till we found them..
after we assess then we bring them to the triage area aka 1st aid point..
in a way.. doesn't sound as shiong la. (exercise, not real life)
fire floor can really be chaotic during exercise. sibei frustrating if you don't get the back up you need while you are squatting with an uncontrollable fire in front of you. the acrid smoke make your eyes water and painful, you have to find casualties, and make sure you don't die in the process. everyone plays a part. imagine one sabo kia, turn off the water while you are fighting a flash over, or one goondu rambo, rush in solo, without hearing his friend signal that water is up. (that happened in my ERS course actually lol)
need to hv entrance and exit strategy, need to watch out your air supply don't run out.
but i really find u guys amazing at those bandage things, i can never remember what bandage is for what wound. except the donut one. for knife wound.
what's the hardest part of a paramedic field ex?
Originally posted by QX179R:got to correct you on this, you might not get the medic vocation again for your reservist..
Oh. According to my encik, either get medical platoon or Rescue battalion. Btw, final ex on a thursday night in MTV really fun.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:in a way.. doesn't sound as shiong la. (exercise, not real life)
fire floor can really be chaotic during exercise. sibei frustrating if you don't get the back up you need while you are squatting with an uncontrollable fire in front of you. the acrid smoke make your eyes water and painful, you have to find casualties, and make sure you don't die in the process. everyone plays a part. imagine one sabo kia, turn off the water while you are fighting a flash over, or one goondu rambo, rush in solo, without hearing his friend signal that water is up. (that happened in my ERS course actually lol)
need to hv entrance and exit strategy, need to watch out your air supply don't run out.
but i really find u guys amazing at those bandage things, i can never remember what bandage is for what wound. except the donut one. for knife wound.
what's the hardest part of a paramedic field ex?
yeah, during my medic life as an ambulance medic, I didn't get to use the "donut" bandage & that is for impaled object..
the only thing which I don't like was to go thru the tear gas part whereby you need to enter a room with tear gas, take off your hood of the CA suit then shout out your name & ic number..
for paramedics field ex I'm not too sure because paramedics are regulars whereas medics are NS..
Hey guys, been a while since I posted in this thread. I got posted to the medical orderly course. Same batch like Sacredsoul but was posted to station. I wanted medical centre also initially, was abit terrified when Encik called my name and released my posting.
Been two days in station now, today is my off day. Kind of stressful and scared to let the paramedics and the station medic in the station down. Still nervous in calls and other stuffs. So many things to improve so little time. I'm so going to be dead in station.
Originally posted by QX179R:yeah, during my medic life as an ambulance medic, I didn't get to use the "donut" bandage & that is for impaled object..
the only thing which I don't like was to go thru the tear gas part whereby you need to enter a room with tear gas, take off your hood of the CA suit then shout out your name & ic number..
for paramedics field ex I'm not too sure because paramedics are regulars whereas medics are NS..
i mean medic
Originally posted by silvernitrate:Hey guys, been a while since I posted in this thread. I got posted to the medical orderly course. Same batch like Sacredsoul but was posted to station. I wanted medical centre also initially, was abit terrified when Encik called my name and released my posting.
Been two days in station now, today is my off day. Kind of stressful and scared to let the paramedics and the station medic in the station down. Still nervous in calls and other stuffs. So many things to improve so little time. I'm so going to be dead in station.
relax.... =) most important is to get out of the station on time.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i mean medic
the hardest part would be to get everyone working together as a team..
silvernitrate you which station?
yes, for those who have been posted to station as ambulance medics, kindly share which stn are you from..