As we know, nowadays the economy is hit badly ... I am an overseas degree holder, Degree in IT, University of Newcastle, 26 this year, fresh grad. I am looking for a job in Software Engineer. My expected salary is $2500. I got calls from job agencies that keep demoralise me by saying .. now the economy is so bad ... should ask for $2000 starting salary .. bla bla bla or get a starting job experience first bla bla bla ... And all fresh grads are competing with each others bla bla bla
I feel so demorised. Am i asking for too much ? or that agency is jus out to scam me.
I got no idea seriously
Go sign up for Police as a senior office la...
pay higher...
maybe u can consider their suggestion...u can just lower u expectation for this very period...tc
Originally posted by SquarePants:As we know, nowadays the economy is hit badly ... I am an overseas degree holder, 26 this year, fresh grad. I am looking for a job in Software Engineer. My expected salary is $2500. I got calls from job agencies that keep demoralise me by saying .. now the economy is so bad ... should ask for $2000 starting salary .. bla bla bla or get a starting job experience first bla bla bla ... And all fresh grads are competing with each others bla bla bla
I feel so demorised. Am i asking for too much ? or that agency is jus out to scam me.
I got no idea seriously
now alot headcount freeze so dun expect too much but 2k is reali too little... maybe reduce 2.2k-2.3k....
U can don`t go thru agency mah. Go direct to employer lor.
Originally posted by lonewolf71:U can don`t go thru agency mah. Go direct to employer lor.
I go direct employer .. no one reply me lol
Originally posted by SquarePants:As we know, nowadays the economy is hit badly ... I am an overseas degree holder, 26 this year, fresh grad. I am looking for a job in Software Engineer. My expected salary is $2500. I got calls from job agencies that keep demoralise me by saying .. now the economy is so bad ... should ask for $2000 starting salary .. bla bla bla or get a starting job experience first bla bla bla ... And all fresh grads are competing with each others bla bla bla
I got no idea seriously
what class of honours did you get? or did you get masters/phd?
At least for the MNC I working at, monthly starting pay for overseas degrees is $100 less than for NUS/NTU grads.
Originally posted by eagle:what class of honours did you get? or did you get masters/phd?
At least for the MNC I working at, monthly starting pay for overseas degrees is $100 less than for NUS/NTU grads.
I am jus a normal bachelor degree with grades all above 70+
No honours
Originally posted by eagle:what class of honours did you get? or did you get masters/phd?
lol.... in my company overseas degrees got more then local grad... alot more...
can u elaborate on ur "overseas degree"?
which uni?
wat major?
isit DL?
Is there any difference between part time and full time degree ?
Because my degree is obtained from singapore .. and i study part time
Will employer shun part time degree more then full time degree ?
I did Degree in IT, university of newcastle... btw
Originally posted by SquarePants:
I go direct employer .. no one reply me lol
then u know something is wrong lor ![]()
Originally posted by SquarePants:As we know, nowadays the economy is hit badly ... I am an overseas degree holder, Degree in IT, University of Newcastle, 26 this year, fresh grad. I am looking for a job in Software Engineer. My expected salary is $2500. I got calls from job agencies that keep demoralise me by saying .. now the economy is so bad ... should ask for $2000 starting salary .. bla bla bla or get a starting job experience first bla bla bla ... And all fresh grads are competing with each others bla bla bla
I got no idea seriously
they get a month of whatever your salary is dont they?
no reason for them to make you ask for less unless its really a good reason
Originally posted by dragg:they get a month of whatever your salary is dont they?
no reason for them to make you ask for less unless its really a good reason
the recruitment consultant needs to meet quota or it'll be his/her turn to look for a job ![]()
as long as the agency is not recruit express......
recruit express? ewww...
anyway, all agencies are meant to screw u one way or another. so dont take it to heart.
just take the job la.. the old saying goes; "ride on a buffalo and look for a horse".
Btw FireIce i find that u dun like recruit express wor .. why ah ? lol
I got a friend(girl) told me that recruit express got a manager that gives her bad experience .. because she tried to ask the manager how much salary she will get, the manager ask her "you want me to tell u how much u are worth ?", majiam like "selling body instead of working" quote. so she had this bad imprssion abt them leh.
and recruit express must pay $50 for donno what isit ...
This is DL right?No wonder.I guess 2000 would be a good pay for you.I wouldn;t even think of hiring some one who had DL.
no honours ah.... maybe around $2k+
For first class honours, starting at pte sector around $3k onwards all the way till $3.8k at certain govt agencies (shall not name them)
For 2nd upper honours, around there... pte sector maybe $100 lower than 1st class for some companies... No difference for govt agencies...
For keppel corp, 2nd lower honours is about $2.4k before CPF deduction.
And so far, 3rd class honours pple (my friends) haven't found a job yet :(
And for TS's case, it's not from a local uni... So... depends...
Sign on seems the best choice if you are in dire need of money ![]()
Better take whatever jobs you can now.
Despite what you might read about smaller pay increases for next year in the papers, it's all BS.
Next year will be a terrible year with huge unemployment rates and very low salaries. ![]()
Originally posted by Bkokoen21:Squarepants u are consider lucky as u are offered $2000 without honors. I graduated with 2nd upper class honors and my salary only $1800,
too little lar...You might as well go and teach tuition. Can get another $1800.
Originally posted by Bkokoen21:Squarepants u are consider lucky as u are offered $2000 without honors. I graduated with 2nd upper class honors and my salary only $1800,
you're a foreign talent from india issit ? .... how come so little ? ....
are you a local or overseas grad ? ....
Originally posted by jaydunkfull:oh noo whats wrong with recruit express? im under them.
don't blame them bah .....
it's firstly the influx of cheap foreign talent ... secondly it's partially industry specific I think .... it's bad karma to be in the IT sector now ...