Originally posted by ^C ^:
yeah also better than the "golden pillow"
You can go join Lucy Monostone.
tis rhythm of life copied one of japanese drama.
Recently its only huang jin lu and just in Singapore that are the good shows released by mediacrap.
Its because mediacrap does not do any wu xia or period shows with the setting in the 1950s-60s thats why every show seems like a clone of the previous one.
Its not really all the actors are crap lah I feel. They are not really given a chance to shine with the rubbish scripts thrown to them.
However, I agree that Elvin Ng is merely a pretty face with no acting ability. Makes me cringe most of the time when I see him acting. And don't even get me started on Dawn Yeo's acting...
well, i have to agree that last time, singapore drama is good, eg, during the time of SBC and TCS, cos last time, the backstage are made up of all hong kong crew that the then SBC hired from HK..... the kind of genre that we used to have are plentiful, have you watched the old dramas? many of them are still very good, up to now
But during the times of Mediacorp, i would say that they have walked downhill, have any of you realised how long they didnt make any �装 drama??? many years already...........cos they think that its more economical to make similar kinds, like those family drama, cos easy to produce and cheap
I believe that the best period was during when channel u and mediacorp before merger, cos got competition. Now, without competition, they throw all kinds of trash to us........ we become their trash bin...
But i would just like to highlight that, nowadays sources of entertainment is so much... eg internet tv, satelite tv, SCV, computers.... etc etc, i hope any of the higher level mediacorp ppl read this, and pull up their socks, dun throw any more trash to us. WE HAVE CHOICES OTHER THAN THEIR LOCAL TV
Originally posted by angel7030:ya,...those young males and females koreans or japs all go for surgery one lah, only young look nice, all make up thick thick, full whitening therapy, face lift, plant hairs here and there, too bad many aunties fall for it. I find them not realistic unlike down to earth HK or even singapore one that talk about realistic of life a bit better.
Anyway, singaporeans alway complain about singaporeans one lah. The mentality is anything out of singapore is deem good.
i find it disgusting to see so many kids nowadays so engrossed with fake beauty
damn
Originally posted by 798:tis edwin ng really cmi! the moment i watch him really turn me off dat i decide to switch off my tv immediately.
acting still mono n wtf mediacock is pushing him just becos he is some kinda campus superstar?
he really dunno how to act
he act no expression 1
and also, looks ok only
only he got good body
yups. last time used to have HK scriptwriters also. thats why past years dramas really was so fantastic... also last time those HK cameramen also more professional, the way they shoot stuff really is commendable.
mediacock is afterall a profit organisation what, their drama time belt (aka advertisement revenue) all for family to watch one.
was recently watching The Vagrant (Bao Zi Dan) at 12am from Mon - Wed, gotta admit Li Nanxing acting skills was superb, shots were nice also. Storyline was equally awesome.. :)
drama is going downhill here! ROAR! HELP!
what the show now showing on channel 8 9pm? cannot make it leh. same old faces, very boring too..low budget i think.
Originally posted by snowfoxx:well, i have to agree that last time, singapore drama is good, eg, during the time of SBC and TCS, cos last time, the backstage are made up of all hong kong crew that the then SBC hired from HK..... the kind of genre that we used to have are plentiful, have you watched the old dramas? many of them are still very good, up to now
But during the times of Mediacorp, i would say that they have walked downhill, have any of you realised how long they didnt make any �装 drama??? many years already...........cos they think that its more economical to make similar kinds, like those family drama, cos easy to produce and cheap
I believe that the best period was during when channel u and mediacorp before merger, cos got competition. Now, without competition, they throw all kinds of trash to us........ we become their trash bin...
But i would just like to highlight that, nowadays sources of entertainment is so much... eg internet tv, satelite tv, SCV, computers.... etc etc, i hope any of the higher level mediacorp ppl read this, and pull up their socks, dun throw any more trash to us. WE HAVE CHOICES OTHER THAN THEIR LOCAL TV
the �装 shows cannot make it ah, they fly here and there, the fighting very blur one. no skills.. the old dramas are really super. now showing channel 8 11pm one.. i really forced to sleep early.
Originally posted by gigabyte14:your fucking korean/japanese/taiwan worse
all in the end is romance only
and the actors and actresses, all are young people as main characters all the fucking time
HK DRAMA RULEZ
Yeah, 101% Agree HK drama got mixture of everything, balance i would say.
Korean/jap(sucks!)/taiwan same type. they just change some background.
singapore media hub?? a dream just like sg soccer in olympics ar?? wait till year 5008 oso dont have..
story lines always about the same, people always shouting and raising voices. affect viewers negatively. read tong xin yuan and such.
crappy CGI dreaming of rivalling hollywood ( read sg version condor heroes)
taiwan drama always using young beautiful people. but story always copy jap comics or jap/kor dramas.
k drama always cry n cry about love.
so far only HK n Jap drama is ok..
Singapore? Media Hub? bah. it won't be until they:
spend more time and effort during production.
get new types of plot lines during pre production
stop doing family related shows. Really! its boring.
get actors n actresses who can really act.
dub most of the actors voices. they sound forced.
Originally posted by jacqn:Yeah, 101% Agree HK drama got mixture of everything, balance i would say.
Korean/jap(sucks!)/taiwan same type. they just change some background.
japs n koreans have some varety too. k dramas have a recent 1 which talks about a art auctions, and the japs even have a drama with a 14 year old getting pregnant. and they have covered occupations like pilots, air stewardess', magicians... stuff you will never see on local tv productions.
watched from young but havent watch local drama since years ago... the scripts lacked in creativity and it was damn predictable to the point that i sometimes know what what certain actors would say...
why we cannot have 'smart' serials like Kurosagi, Death Note and Liar Game ? though it probably would be an epic fail with all the ??? in our elderly locals' heads.
Originally posted by Sagara:watched from young but havent watch local drama since years ago... the scripts lacked in creativity and it was damn predictable to the point that i sometimes know what what certain actors would say...
why we cannot have 'smart' serials like Kurosagi, Death Note and Liar Game ? though it probably would be an epic fail with all the ??? in our elderly locals' heads.
lol deathnote?
edwin ng as kira? ni nan xing as L? felicia chin as misa?
they dont even push young stars with certain style.
what they push?
u see the 9pm show , big size , normal face , cant talk
calling a going-to-40 man acting a university man around 25 yr old <- LOL
tolong...
Sg channel 8 dramas has far too many typical...
Dramas centered around the family- A few couples, children, elders. and outsiders
Third parties and love triangle... and then violence, cops get called in... family being broken and torn apart. Try to make good, 1 person suceeds...then jealousy and black mailing.
Too predictable!
The scripts are utterly dull and usually rehash the same old themes, and that applies to both Channel 5 and Channel 8. Comedies tend to take after Under One Roof or PCK, but the gags are lame. Family dramas, as mentioned earlier, always have some kind of love triangle, crazy webs of love and hate, some silly feud over money and plenty of weeping and gnashing of teeth.
The scriptwriters need to be allowed, or allow themselves to, move away from the same old cathartic formula. They need to be given a free reign, and to write what they can imagine, as if it were art, and enjoy it.
Screw the family-friendly, neighbourly and nation-building themes for once. Break the old stereotypes. Give us über-cool, complex and original characters like Gregory House and Adrian Monk, and build teams and plots around them.
Oh, and I didn't find 'The Noose' funny at all. For proper humour, try watching 'Have I Got News For You' or 'Nevermind The Buzzcocks'. There's no need for queer wigs and costumes, give us satire and mickey-taking straight from the hip. And the censors need to ease up on this.
LOL the noose... Apparently I heard its got a bigger budget than normal, and also have more scriptwriters on it. BUHAHAHHA. so you all dont like it? Must feedback to my friends @ mediacock :D
amen bother