Yeah.Sigh, you know, schools during our time, were so much straightforward..and I can remember the simple joys of running around the quadrangle during my primary days..Originally posted by hisoka:true i suppose but his friend's case about detention is really dumb..... maybe he can make noise after he grads after all O lvls is not revocable by the skool unlike the stupid university degree
CCA now plays more and more a part in a students life.Originally posted by hisoka:true i suppose but his friend's case about detention is really dumb..... maybe he can make noise after he grads after all O lvls is not revocable by the skool unlike the stupid university degree
It's a whole load of bull.If it were me in this situation today, I would have gone to the press and terok terok whack the school's reputation over some detention and the disparity with the actual definition of CCA and "improvised" definition.Originally posted by Pitot:CCA now plays more and more a part in a students life.
Playing truant for CCA is just like it for class. So you get the same punishment.
Besides, getting detention is good enough. Some schools have caning.
That is why they changed the name from ECA, EXTRA Curricular Activities. To CCA, CO- Curricular Activities.Originally posted by LazerLordz:It's a whole load of bull.If it were me in this situation today, I would have gone to the press and terok terok whack the school's reputation over some detention and the disparity with the actual definition of CCA and "improvised" definition.
I had my fair share of battles with school administration in the past.And they never got the better of me.
The parties responsible are getting out of hand.It's time for a serious policy review.
how long r u into this ncc thingy?? few mths? as long as its not more than a yr its quite ok.. however regarding the detention thingy.. quite common lor. Its like a measure to prevent pple frm skipping ccas and noe the importance of it but trust me tey not so bo liao to always give detention one lor. if u hate it, just dun go and soon ur name will fade away from the attendence list.. some of my frenzs are examples. Aniway chior is mroe than enuff to keep u occupied. Eventually u will have to drop one cca as 2 is quite heavy for sec. Chior is especially heavy compared to NCC. The amt of cca pts u can chalk up with chior alone can give u an A. Trust me just drop ncc if u seriously hate it and can't kope with it since takin up 2 ccas isn't a policy in ur sch.Originally posted by huaqing:In my school u only need to have one. But i got two CCAs, another one is Choir, and i enjoy that.
I really hate this NCC thingy lah, everything they also want u to do well in NCC, then pump u like siao...besides, the NCOs are very good at spreading propaganda to us, like "if this time we cannot get 20 marksman then everyone pump 70" and things like that...
I have two friends in NCC who also wanna quit, and one of them stopped coming to NCC trainings already. However, the NCC teacher in charge says that when other ppl are having training then he must go and see the teacher and get detention. ALso, it is said that although my friend dun hav to go to trainings anymore, whether he can go to JC or not remained to be a problem to him.
What shall i do? Haiz, realli wanna leave this hell soon!
nay the case was he wanna change eca and not allowed lor not like he play truant theres a diff from classes. the eca were supposed to be by choice.Originally posted by Pitot:CCA now plays more and more a part in a students life.
Playing truant for CCA is just like it for class. So you get the same punishment.
Besides, getting detention is good enough. Some schools have caning.
haha, its CCA now..Originally posted by hisoka:nay the case was he wanna change eca and not allowed lor not like he play truant theres a diff from classes. the eca were supposed to be by choice.
and it seems its not compulsory since there is no requirement to have the eca for advancement
but then my school got caning one leh...Originally posted by kenshin_himura:how long r u into this ncc thingy?? few mths? as long as its not more than a yr its quite ok.. however regarding the detention thingy.. quite common lor. Its like a measure to prevent pple frm skipping ccas and noe the importance of it but trust me tey not so bo liao to always give detention one lor. if u hate it, just dun go and soon ur name will fade away from the attendence list.. some of my frenzs are examples. Aniway chior is mroe than enuff to keep u occupied. Eventually u will have to drop one cca as 2 is quite heavy for sec. Chior is especially heavy compared to NCC. The amt of cca pts u can chalk up with chior alone can give u an A. Trust me just drop ncc if u seriously hate it and can't kope with it since takin up 2 ccas isn't a policy in ur sch.
so if u dun wan to taste rotan den dun ever skip detention..Originally posted by huaqing:but then my school got caning one leh...
SOft?! what do u mean?Originally posted by Pitot:But apparently parents nowadays are not agreeing on this..
Kids these days are soft.. too soft..
About the fact that many kids cannot take physical punishment.Originally posted by huaqing:SOft?! what do u mean?
i used eca cos i feel its the same the cca term is just a rebranding exercise liek calling bus drivers bus captain or toilet cleaners sanitary officers or somethingOriginally posted by Pitot:haha, its CCA now..
Oh, just telling him tt punishments are common.
I know.To me..it shall always be ECA.Fun days too..played rugby in primary school and can see all the cars and trishaws riding past the fieldOriginally posted by hisoka:i used eca cos i feel its the same the cca term is just a rebranding exercise liek calling bus drivers bus captain or toilet cleaners sanitary officers or something
The reason why they change is because they expect it to be part of a students life now. Thats why all the punishments for skipping cca.Originally posted by hisoka:i used eca cos i feel its the same the cca term is just a rebranding exercise liek calling bus drivers bus captain or toilet cleaners sanitary officers or something
Some students who choose not to have one in school, have outside activities..and it should be really voluntary.Originally posted by Pitot:The reason why they change is because they expect it to be part of a students life now. Thats why all the punishments for skipping cca.
But the prob is, many students dun have one or just cant select one..
So, the school just allocate one to them.. Which in turn is one they do not wish to participate in.. I mean if you dun wan to participate.. but u are forced to attend..
So many just skip their ccas.. which dosent help the prob at all..
actualyl eca was expected to be part of the student's life also if i recall correctly........Originally posted by Pitot:The reason why they change is because they expect it to be part of a students life now. Thats why all the punishments for skipping cca.
But the prob is, many students dun have one or just cant select one..
So, the school just allocate one to them.. Which in turn is one they do not wish to participate in.. I mean if you dun wan to participate.. but u are forced to attend..
So many just skip their ccas.. which dosent help the prob at all..
Outside activities can be considered in my school. But you have to go to principal again..Originally posted by LazerLordz:Some students who choose not to have one in school, have outside activities..and it should be really voluntary.
Why should backing out of a national system be seen as a "crime"..whatever happened to learning and nurturing, nowadays..it's all about performance index and whatnot.
By forcing them to participate, it would have destroyed whatever leftover curiosity they might still initially possess la..
yeah expected, but no detention nor caning for not turning up, only that you risk getting zero points under the PEARLS system.Originally posted by hisoka:actualyl eca was expected to be part of the student's life also if i recall correctly........
the allocation is a problem i agree and its the system so i guess we agree with the problems there.
the forced attendance is pretty much a problem.. however the isn't a real need for the students to participate as i said, its not needed for advancement there fore its not necessary and therefore no need for the detention. they should instead offer something else he finds acceptable or waive it....... detention is a wase of time btw
I'm the last batch with PEARLS. Now they all use LEAPS liao..Originally posted by LazerLordz:yeah expected, but no detention nor caning for not turning up, only that you risk getting zero points under the PEARLS system.
whats a pealrs and leap?? the point reduction/adding system for ecas they "invented"??Originally posted by Pitot:I'm the last batch with PEARLS. Now they all use LEAPS liao..