It's because the plaintiff's story is unbelievable. Plus, she has history of conning her ex-employer for compensation by pretending to be mad. This was attested by the medical note from one of the shrink that she consulted and spoke to before. She was even paid $30,000 compensation when she left the job.Originally posted by newcomer:haha, i actually spent more than an hour this morning reading 5 pages of mumbo jumbos. nvm that.
am i the only person wondering how come the plaintiff is being examined more rigoulously than the defendants?
I think its only now when its so damm obvious that the whole bleedy family and lover are lying. At the start, the way the press, esp. the New Paper ran the articles, like in sympathy for the mad dog. I read one or two articles where the writer seemed happy that the slutty lying daughter replied so aggresively etc and when the mad dog said she don't like lawyers etc.Originally posted by newcomer:yea, lol.
it seems the media are casting a shadow of doubt on the plaintiff. no matter, sg courts don't have juries anyways
Not nothing better to do, but no $ to do! So need to create a scam hoping to get enough $ for herself, her lover and disgusting children (but in a way can't blame them, if grow up with mad dog for mother, it would be hard to have scruples and conscience!)Originally posted by Baby_Nutz:She nothing better to do meh?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:i don't know the catholic stand on this, but i'm not sure that you can suka suka baptise someone. cuz for my church baptism comes after the person receives salvation and forsaking his old ways, then have to go through baptism classes and the leaders will monitor to see if the person is ready for baptism etc.
[b]
Husband of woman in exorcism suit asked doctor to change records
By Julia Ng, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 22 November 2007 2218 hrs
SINGAPORE: Tempers flared on Thursday during cross examination of the husband of Amutha Valli – the woman who is suing the Novena Church for alleged forced exorcism.
57-year-old Suppiah Jeyabal, a taxi driver, said he had only seen his wife in a trance once. But he was uncomfortable with it as he thought it was a result of being over-zealous in Hinduism.
He said he never allowed Amutha to go into trances in front of him or their children, and he sought medical attention to help her suppress those acts.
According to records, Amutha told National University Hospital (NUH) psychiatrists that she had started performing trances at Hindu temples from the age of 12.
She had even asked doctors to scold her so that she could invoke a trance for them to observe.
Doctors said she could control her trances.
Between 1986 and 1989, Mr Suppiah admitted Amutha to NUH four times and took her there for outpatient visits on 12 occasions, but he maintained doctors never spoke to him about the trances.
Mr Suppiah got angry when defence lawyer Tito Isaac asked why he had called Dr Jimmy Lim from the Institute of Mental Health (IMH) to amend Amutha's records in October 2006 to say that she was never treated in NUH for mental illness.
Amutha's husband argued that he only admitted his wife for "trance and only trance", and not what NUH doctors called Bipolar Syndrome.
He also insisted that NUH doctors did not explain his wife's condition to him and that Amutha's trances could be due to "mind-altering" medications that NUH doctors were trying out on her.
Mr Suppiah said doctors told him – when they discharged his wife in 1989 – to "be tough on her, don't give in to her, and a change of religion may help".
He said "a group of Amutha's Christian friends then baptised her" and her trance condition improved.
When Mr Isaac asked for her baptism certificate, Mr Suppiah said he has not seen it. Neither could he name any of her Christian friends or the place where she was baptised.
Based on the records, Mr Suppiah was the one who admitted Amutha to IMH for alcohol intoxication in May 1990.
Mr Suppiah, whose cross examination continues on Friday, is accused by defence lawyers for lying that he did not know about his wife's addiction to (medical) drugs and alcohol, and her frequent trances.
- CNA/so [/b]
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i don't know the catholic stand on this, but i'm not sure that you can suka suka baptise someone. cuz for my church baptism comes after the person receives salvation and forsaking his old ways, then have to go through baptism classes and the leaders will monitor to see if the person is ready for baptism etc.
Catholic will Not suka suka baptise ppl lah...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i don't know the catholic stand on this, but i'm not sure that you can suka suka baptise someone. cuz for my church baptism comes after the person receives salvation and forsaking his old ways, then have to go through baptism classes and the leaders will monitor to see if the person is ready for baptism etc.
plaintiff is erm which one ahOriginally posted by the Bear:there is a whole year of classes in the RCIA...
i think the plaintiff is as misinformed and ill-prepared as the malaysian Pedra Blanca lawyers
It's similar for us, non-Christian adults have to go through the Rite Of Christian Initiation first before baptism. Christians from other denominations do not need to be baptised again.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i don't know the catholic stand on this, but i'm not sure that you can suka suka baptise someone. cuz for my church baptism comes after the person receives salvation and forsaking his old ways, then have to go through baptism classes and the leaders will monitor to see if the person is ready for baptism etc.
Plaintiff ~~ A person who brings an action in a court of lawOriginally posted by dumbdumb!:plaintiff is erm which one ah
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:plaintiff is erm which one ah
yah lor... my friend's RCIA took more than 1yr I think..Originally posted by the Bear:there is a whole year of classes in the RCIA...
i think the plaintiff is as misinformed and ill-prepared as the malaysian Pedra Blanca lawyers
you sure he said that he is not catholic? if its so, why does he want to go to Novena church to pray?Originally posted by adetet:Her children claim they never saw her in a trance, the husband said she got into a trance in his and children's presence. ha, who is lying? Could it possibly be all of them
The son said he is not Catholic so don't know about exorcism. I am not Hindu but how come I know about kadavi, fire walking, etc! He calls the woman his mother yet every question about her, he would either reply he doesn't know or to ask his parents! So when he belongs, he doesn't know; when he doesn't belong, he also don't know. Like that want to be a teacher?! ha.
Claim all they want about not knowing or not watching hollywood exorcism movies but the claim of friends who just baptised her, is also like a Hollywood drama. Think suka suka go and be baptised. There are stages in the process of baptism. Just like it takes time to declare that a person is possessed by the devil!
Every day they become more and more despicable. Shouldn't they just drop the case as daily more and more of their s.h.i.t is revealed. Are they so desperate for money that they would want everybody to know how despicable they are? Do they despise themselves so much that they do not at least want to be able to hold themselves up with pride and dignity?
He said he isn't, but subscribes to the saying that 'all roads lead to Rome'.Originally posted by vince69:you sure he said that he is not catholic? if its so, why does he want to go to Novena church to pray?
What's the rumour? share share leh! Then come April we can speculate whether true or not.Originally posted by adetet:Any reason for the adjournment? Should either be dropped or get it over and done with.
Personally, I am eager to hear the testimony of the doctor who happily keep admitting her and giving her m.c. to not attend court! I heard some rumours about the doctor. I will not post it here since it is at present just a rumour and I am hoping it would be confirmed in court. If it turns out to be true and proven in court, the mad dog's last hope will crumble faster than her family's loose morals!
Honeybunz.... you're so nottie but that's why I like youOriginally posted by Honeybunz:What's the rumour? share share leh! Then come April we can speculate whether true or not.
Originally posted by adetet:Honeybunz.... you're so nottie but that's why I like you
No lah, since rumour better not post it here. But it has to do with a personal reason which made the doctor so eager to believe the mad dog and agree to testify in her defense. I heard it actually from two friends, both working in the hospital, one as a nurse and the other doing admin work. However, I heard that the doctor is now not so c.o.c.k.y. (had to edit to put in the full=stops. So overzealous editing - without the full stop the word cannot be used? isn't it in the dictionary?!!!) and confident since the mad dog's medical history has been exposed. Doubtless the doctor was not aware that mad dog has been running from doctor to doctor. Hence my curiosity to see whether the doctor still wants to testify for mad dog. After all, kena played by mad dog is one thing. Being stubbornly blind and sticking to your diagnosis based on her lies is another thing.
Originally posted by adetet: