Transport fares expected to go up
Public transport fares are tentatively set to increase by an average of three per cent.
The new fare system, approved by the Public Transport Council, PTC, is expected to kick in in October.
Bus and MRT commuters can expect to pay more in about three months' time.
But the exact increase will only be known after the public transport operators submit their proposals to the PTC next month.
Despite this hike, some commuters will actually have to fork out less.
This is because Ministry of Transport is introducing a new system under which commuters pay on the basis of the distance traveled.
Known as the distance-based through fares system, people who make transfers between buses, buses and MRT or LRT and MRT, will benefit.
Mr Gerard Ee, PTC's chairman.
"Going into a through fare system means that the commuters all the commuters will benefit from it in the sense that they don't have to worry about how many changes they make. The cost to them will basically be on distance based and it really doesn't matter whether it's bus-train, train-bus. And they can plan their journey to be as direct as they choose to be."
Currently four in ten commuters make such transfer journeys.
The Ministry of Transport says it may raise the current transfer rebate of 25 cents.
This means commuters who make more transfers will not have to spend as much as they do now.
Mr Ee said the move to a distance-based fare is inevitable.
"I think that you have to remember that the network of the transport system is changing, circle line is coming on again, as the network gets more integrated and extensive, transfers will become inevitable."
However, under the new fare system, those who take direct bus or train services may end up paying more than a three per cent hike.
"Now that has to be worked out to be shared between operators and commuters. PTC will apply in such a way that maximum amount of commuters will benefit from it. But like all things, however you adjust, there will be some elements of commuters that may find that they have to pay a bit more. But our object is to minimise that." -938Live
whats new.
Okay okay.... what's the excuse they have this time?
and i thought they were encouraging people to take public transport by adding more erp gantries.. now public transport prices also increase...
oil price is rather unstable now.....
well, at least rebates and new system (distance system), i think it's more 'fair' to those who travel like less then 5stops? etc....
If you transfer from different services, lrt-mrt-bus, maybe cheaper after they revised.
I don't really know what the PTC is for
when have they truly defended consumers' rights?
they're mulling increasing transfer rebates in tis exercise
but eventually, say 2 bus rides for 1 combined fare calculation
Originally posted by fudgester:Okay okay.... what's the excuse they have this time?
oil price lah... u think they can be creative meh?
Originally posted by sbst275:they're mulling increasing transfer rebates in tis exercise
but eventually, say 2 bus rides for 1 combined fare calculation
but those taking single, direct rides have to pay more.
seriously wth are they talking about. say one side we'll save, and another on the increase. eh, everyone will definitely take direct or transfer rides depending on where they want to go what. so overall whats the increase for.
wanna use the 2 bus ride combine to 1 calculation to smoke through.
since when got go down one?
smoke through?
tat means to say you dun even want to see reduced fare?
The increase is as usualy, inflation. Unless you wanna tell me to be like M'sia, subsidise this and tat
though sadly, to encourage public tpt user rate, one way is for more direct trips
i dun see what's wrong with subsidising a necessity..
i see the point in not subsidising petrol prices for private cars.. but when the govt is encouraging ppl to take public transport, the least they can do is STOP increasing the prices..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i dun see what's wrong with subsidising a necessity..
i see the point in not subsidising petrol prices for private cars.. but when the govt is encouraging ppl to take public transport, the least they can do is STOP increasing the prices..
so where are you going to get e funds for subsidising diesel? make corp tax up from 18% to same level as M'sia's 28%?
Subsidising can only get your burnt by controlling e prices but not e supply
Channel NewsAsia - Friday, July 11
SINGAPORE: Another round of public transport fare hikes is likely this year, but commuters can expect the rise to be cushioned by a new fare structure formula.
One group of commuters who stands to benefit are those who make multiple transfer journeys.
Currently, a commuter incurs what is called a transfer penalty every time he boards a new bus. To offset this, the commuter is given a 25—cent rebate each time he switches from bus to bus, or bus to train.
But this rebate does not fully offset the jump in fares. To address this, a distance—based through fare system will be introduced by 2009.
But for now, Singapore’s Public Transport Council (PTC) will look into increasing the transfer rebate to close the gap.
Singapore’s Transport Ministry says about four in ten commuters currently make transfer journeys on a weekday.
With the new through fare structure, commuters can take as many buses and trains to their destination without being penalised with a higher fare.
Changes will also be made to the fare adjustment formula, which will see the public transport operators share their productivity gains with commuters.
This means the maximum annual fare adjustment will be capped at 3 per cent instead of the higher 4.2 per cent under the old formula.
The formula is pegged to macroeconomic factors — namely changes in the Consumer Price Index and average monthly earnings. The formula has been in place since 2005 and valid for three years.
The revised formula will be applicable for five years, instead of three, to give commuters and operators more certainty in fares.
The PTC was quick to point out, though, that the maximum annual fare cap of 3 per cent does not determine the actual fare adjustment.
Whether a commuter’s bus fare will go up by more than 3 per cent or less, or whether a commuter actually stands to save money, will depend on the distance travelled and the number of transfers made in a journey.
Simply put, if a commuter takes long bus and train journeys with many transfers, he will see a net reduction. But he will probably end up paying more for short trips.
Public transport operators are expected to submit their applications for a fare review in August.
The PTC will decide on the actual adjustment in September and new fares will kick in in October. — CNA/ir
as usual
even they will increase the price, they mention that combined fairs got 'offer' but, single trip all cui lo....
Originally posted by hisoka:so now the way for the public transport operators to earn even more is to make their buses drive around in circles more (aka divert the route to include more places) to make the distances longer?
unlikely
it's not e old days SBS buses serves all e small roads
Originally posted by hisoka:well, think of it this way,they divert the bus to cover 1 more road, presently they already scam the other passengers by making them pay for the extra bus stops in that road when the bus does not need to go there. But at least tey don't pay for 1 way roads and circles. With the new scheme, they will have to pay. add in the problem of having to pay mroe for a straight bus. so either you pay more for the straight bus and probably arrive faster or trnasfer and have to waste time waiting for the infrequent buses.
but I dun think it's going to work w/ alrdy reduced margins due to diesel prices
Originally posted by sbst275:smoke through?
tat means to say you dun even want to see reduced fare?
The increase is as usualy, inflation. Unless you wanna tell me to be like M'sia, subsidise this and tat
though sadly, to encourage public tpt user rate, one way is for more direct trips
i don't see anywhere for a reduction.
like i said, reduce fares for transfer trips but increase for direct trips. it equals out more or less. unless i only take transfer trips. but who only take transfer trips?
next time can just raise la.
still waste money waste time discuss with smlj PTC.
must zo hee mah.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i don't see anywhere for a reduction.
like i said, reduce fares for transfer trips but increase for direct trips. it equals out more or less. unless i only take transfer trips. but who only take transfer trips?
eventually it's going to be multiple bus ride, 1 fare
say currently take Bus A for 4 fare stages, transfer to bus B for another 8 fare stages, it would be $0.67 + $1.09 - $0.25 = $1.51
Eventually it would be 12 fare stages fare i.e. $1.19
wat do you mean by more or less? those who take transfer end up pay much lesser which eats into bus operators turnover and eventually profits alrdy... you think running SBS is tat profitable w/ your 60c bus fare? 40% of their profit comes from ads alone