Ya, dharma protectors truely exist, there is a real photograph of a dharma protector at Jen Chen Vihara (not my dharma centre, but it is another Jen Chen centre in Singapore). Other than that, there were stories of people who have yuan with Buddhism, and keep dreaming of dharma protector over and over again telling him that he has affinity with dharma and my master. When met my master, the person described how the dharma protector looked like, and my master knew at once it was the dharma protector.Originally posted by sinweiy:scientific. very good. though how can so many, almost all not get destroy.
we have a theory that it's protected by Dharma Protectors.
/\
I wonder how cancer happens.Originally posted by HENG@:also, we are talking about sentinent human lives here. can we break them down to compare them to body parts, which do not have an individual soul like a human does? it is, inherently, not a good comparism.
Cancer curses lah proven and effectiveOriginally posted by Suicine:I wonder how it is possible to have cancer.
cancer is caused by the dead blood cell that was unable to be kill by the natural immune systemOriginally posted by maggot:Cancer curses lah proven and effective![]()
Let us understand why are some people born with such illnesses or infected with bad illnesses.Originally posted by bohiruci:cancer is caused by the dead blood cell that was unable to be kill by the natural immune system
in Ven haitao talk, he mentioned his mother likes to slaughter ducks
and the duck reborn with vengeance to cause his mother to contract cancer
so dun kill , that is the first precepts
here's the link:Originally posted by An Eternal Now:true mind also have no arising thoughts and no wandering thoughts but it knows everything, but it is like a mirror reflects everything clearly, it has no arising thoughts and no wandering thoughts but knows every single thing
From Hua Yen Jing dharma discourse 1451b, from 15:00 onwards
Oh I see.. thanks for your clear explanationOriginally posted by sinweiy:here's the link:
http://www.amtb-aus.org/
oops, u can say true mind is like mirror, but i actually meant the mineral is like mirror which is w/o wandering thoughts, attachment and duslism (like Buddha) that mean they are already prefect coming from the True Mind. but make them(mineral) move or 'think" or have consciousness is because they reflect the sentinent mind or movement of sentient beings. They have no ling2 xing4, yes, correct, but when a sentient mind interact with it, it move per se. Just like Master Hui Neng's example of flag/wind/mind move theory. The flag did not move, it's the mind that move.
oso, Heart Sutra say, Zhao4 Jian4 wu yun. Mineral have Zhao4(reflect) but no Jian4(knowing). Only Mind includes Jian4(knowing).
hope it's clear,
/\
Ok now back to your postsOriginally posted by HENG@:ren zhi chu, xing ben shan.
the true self of man is that man is inherently compassionate. it is the external factors that lead man to go astray. if people would concentrate on their "self" and not allow external factors like family, society and country to influence them, this world would be a better place.
war is never due to individual selfishness. it is due to collective selfishness, compassionate people being influenced to join in a society's or a country's collective greed. if people were all individually selfish, putting their well being above all, nobody would want to fight a war because nobody wants to run the risk of being killed would they?
once again i stress that im not saying that this logic is the path to enlightenment, just that the secular world would right now be better off following this logic 1st so that relative peace may be had, b4 further enlightenment can be sought.
also im sure u've all heard of this phrase 'ji li li ren' notice how even in this chinese philosophy of living, self comes before others.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Not sure if I understand what u are saying here, but yeah, Monkey God is kinda traditionalist fiction. I dig on the story big-time, but when talkin lit., it's fiction.
Anyway... Monkey God, as far as I know, is a fictional character. The Journey to the West book is a work of fiction written around the 16th century. It is NOT the real account of the journey to India to get the scriptures by Tang Shan Zhang.
Yes, Tang Shan Zhang went alone to India to retrieve the goodies, the Sutras (Buddhist Scriptures) to China.Originally posted by Northwind:Not sure if I understand what u are saying here, but yeah, Monkey God is kinda traditionalist fiction. I dig on the story big-time, but when talkin lit., it's fiction.
However, it is based on a very true story of a monk's journey west to India to snag some goodies.
I haven't yet read page by page on this thread so I could be way out of line here, but just responding to each post as I see fit.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Perhaps.. perhaps.. well, I've known that Christianity used to teach Reincarnation. I am no expert in debating in these things... but from what I've read and in my intuitions, it is probably true. That's all I can say... maybe my friend "Gnostic" is more expert in this
Damned good post here...(pardon the pun)...Originally posted by shade343:How do you have a relationship with God if all you do is just read the bible and nothing else...?
Nice to see someone mention that good ole Sixth Patriarch!Originally posted by sinweiy:Just like Master Hui Neng's example of flag/wind/mind move theory. The flag did not move, it's the mind that move.
Oh I see... very interesting.. Yea, I believe Christianity after Roman Catholic reforms has changed quite a lot.Originally posted by Northwind:I haven't yet read page by page on this thread so I could be way out of line here, but just responding to each post as I see fit.
There is something in Christianity (not sure if it is in all sects/schools-of-thought / whatever you call it) called the "Nicene Crede". It is something that people in church say to vow to their beliefs about who is Jesus n God. It is about the "Trinity" the God, Father, Son, & Holy Ghost thing...
Anyway...This "Nicene Creed" came about in the Roman Catholic church during something called "The Council of Nicea"...
This is where they took out the books about re-incarnation (and a few other things), because they were still in the midst of "shaping" the religion, and they felt it would contradict the other books...
That council is one of the reasons I am not to hip about modern xtianity...
new discovery:Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh I see.. thanks for your clear explanation
Yes indeed, Dharma Nature pervades all space, it is omnipresentOriginally posted by sinweiy:new discovery:
Hua Yen 1453a, 43 min
http://www.amtb-aus.org/
Time is divided into past present and future. then all beings including non-sentient are Buddha to be.
Hua Yen Sutra state: Qin yi wu qin, tong yuan zhong zhi, (sentient and non-sentient, come from the same seed/root.) Complete same seed/root is Buddha. non-sentient are tree, wood, flower, grass, mountian, river, earth etc. which are not Buddha? when refer to Buddha. we always tot Buddha is human. No. Buddha is Zhi4 xing4 or aka Fa3 xing4(Dharma-dhatu?), Fa sheng(Dharmakaya). Fa3 xing4 can project out, can change is Root Purity. When Fa xing is use, it's Fa xiang. Fa xing is call Buddha. Fa xiang is call Fa sheng(Dharmakaya) Buddha. so sentient and non-sentient is Dharmakaya Buddha.
hence the spectum of respectfulness/mindfulness is a lot greater. so Buddha/bodhisattvas treat all beings/things, not because they do good or bad, but because they see the inside of all beings/things. And on the outside, they have no discrimination.
/\
yes.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Dharmdhatu = Fa3 Jie4
Fa Xing = Dharma Nature
Hmm... what do you want to discussOriginally posted by ah_kwang:hmm... this topic seems interesting with so many threads, stories and views. Good to carry on.![]()