So by ur definition, praying with joss sticks and building temples arent chinese? or it is?Originally posted by bohiruci:please go and search on the history of Buddhism![]()
u can find on the internet
i attended dharma lesson ,so i know the differences
and did u know the history of japanese Buddhism and Chinese Buddhism
fyi Shaolin is not created as a sect![]()
shaolin is from the chan buddhism school
where got sect ?
martial arts wise ,yes ,it is a school transformed the indian rod fighting
and unarmed combat into the chinese way of fighting fit
korean transformed it into taekwondo ,akido
japan transformed it into ju jitsu ,judo ,karate![]()
Actually the particular joss stick burning scene i am thinking of is the one at the Guan Yin temple at Waterloo Street...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hmm actually hor.. the act of offering incense goes way back to Buddha's times in India, it is not a Chinese thin. And those incense are really very fragrant kind - not the ones we commonly see, although got sell. Mostly floral fragrance/sandalwood/etc.
In Chinese Buddhism, incense represents Dao4 De2 Zhi1 Xiang1 (the fragrance of Dao De).
Indian Incense: http://www.google.com.sg/search?hs=Q9T&hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&q=indian+joss+stick+incense&btnG=Search&meta=
Yes, we cant deny there are Chinese influence to Buddhist traditions [the style of monastery, the Bhikkhu/Bhikkshuni robes, etc], but we also cannot deny the teachings of Buddhism remain the same, even though we may see a few Taoist terms in Chinese dharma terms. But essentially it is still the same.
But the main object of worship is still Guan Yin.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hmm same lah.
But waterloo is mostly chinese folks worshippers.
Worshipping is not as good as taking refuge in Buddha, Dharma, Sangha, and becoming a BuddhistOriginally posted by laurence82:But the main object of worship is still Guan Yin.
And true, most Chinese Buddhists temple have statues of Guan Gong and Mi Le Fo.
That make Chinese Buddhism, or to be precise, aspects of Buddhism that has been mix mashed with aspects of Chinese folklore...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Worshipping is not as good as taking refuge in Buddha, Dharma, Sangha, and becoming a Buddhist
Guan Gong, Mi Le Fo (to be precise is Mi Le Pu Sa bcos he havent attained Buddhahood), are Buddhist dharma protector, and Bodhisattva, respectively.
Hmm, Chinese Buddhism [which is mainly Mahayana Buddhism] is different from Chinese folklore practise. Chinese worshippers tend to worship any deity, god, or divine figures, out of material needs, hope, etc. That is not what Buddhists practise, we don't worship deities or divine figures. Worshipping Guan Yin does not make them dharma practitioners or any way Buddhist. Buddhist = someone who took refuge in Buddha, Dharma, Sangha. Pls do differentiateOriginally posted by laurence82:That make Chinese Buddhism, or to be precise, aspects of Buddhism that has been mix mashed with aspects of Chinese folklore...
I dont mean as in Mahayana Buddhism that has been in China, but the aspect of Buddhism that has been influenced by local culture....Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hmm, Chinese Buddhism [which is mainly Mahayana Buddhism] is different from Chinese folklore practise. Pls do differentiate
btw I updated my previous post
Orh... I get what you mean.Originally posted by laurence82:I dont mean as in Mahayana Buddhism that has been in China, but the aspect of Buddhism that has been influenced by local culture....
Chinese Buddhism was founded in the Eastern Han Dynasty when an Indian monk invited to china to teach , that is way before Kumarajiva come from xinjiang to chinaOriginally posted by laurence82:So by ur definition, praying with joss sticks and building temples arent chinese? or it is?
Since you used the term Chinese and Japanese Buddhism, they are in a way influenced by local culture and thoughts? Or no? Please write more coherently..
seriously, after reading ur first few posts, i dont know what stance u took...
no, its just that i dont know what you are trying to get at..Originally posted by bohiruci:Chinese Buddhism was founded in the Eastern Han Dynasty when an Indian monk invited to china to teach , that is way before Kumarajiva come from xinjiang to china
local culture and thoughts are in shaping the religion and yet there is a significant new culture sprang up in the Buddhist ideology ,making Buddhism the 3rd mainstream of Faith in agricultural China
But Chinese Buddhist master strive to change alot of China ideology and culture which will comes in harmony with the Chinese Royalty
take for example ,ven master Hui Yuan advocated the theory
"Sha man (Practitioner ,monks) should not kneel before Ruler"
as monks are the guides of gods and man
which is adopted by the Emperor of Eastern Jin Dynasty
anyway , ur post sound abit like flaming to me![]()
okay i havent make myself clear , sorryOriginally posted by laurence82:no, its just that i dont know what you are trying to get at..