Originally posted by surfbabe:actually we buddhist neither believe non not believe in existence of a "Creator". since we said the mind is the forth runner or creator. believe is you mind. don't believe is still your mind.
even though I believe in existence of a Creator, which is against Buddhist beliefs too.
Wishing everyone happiness and peace.
sadhu sadhu sadhuOriginally posted by surfbabe:I posted a 2 threads in this forum last year:
1. Troubled over bf's vision
2. Curious - Any Christian-turned-Buddhist converts here?
Thanks to everyone who contributed their views and opinions about these matters.
I finally broke off with my bf (now ex) last month because of religious conflict. If you have followed my postings, you'll know he's a Christian...a Protestant to be precise. He wanted a Christian wife and I know in my heart that I may not be one even though I believe in existence of a Creator, which is against Buddhist beliefs too. To be frank, I believe in the history of Jesus Christ and that he was noble to sacrifice his life to save everyone from sin. But I can't bring myself to believe that we are actually saved from sin as I believe in kharma - cause and effect.
Anyway, just like to close this matter and put it behind me.
For all those couples who are facing such problems, I hope that you will think rationally about this and do not put God, Buddha or any other religion between you.
I believe in existence of a Creator, which is against Buddhist beliefs too. [/b]I have messaged you privately in order not to confuse other readers.
This is the first time I've entered a relationship with a Christian. Never had such a problem before. It's already hard enough to find a partner...now I have to take religious background into consideration as well. Sigh.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:So I guess perhaps in the future you should find out someone's religious backgrounds and whether he's fundamental about it before going into serious relationships.
If you really want, you can pray to the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas to find the right partner.Originally posted by surfbabe:This is the first time I've entered a relationship with a Christian. Never had such a problem before. It's already hard enough to find a partner...now I have to take religious background into consideration as well. Sigh.
Just be happy and enjoy the freedomOriginally posted by surfbabe:This is the first time I've entered a relationship with a Christian. Never had such a problem before. It's already hard enough to find a partner...now I have to take religious background into consideration as well. Sigh.
Freedom of?Originally posted by longchen:Just be happy and enjoy the freedom![]()
I'll try.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:If you really want, you can pray to the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas to find the right partner.
u can be a two timer religionerOriginally posted by surfbabe:I posted a 2 threads in this forum last year:
1. Troubled over bf's vision
2. Curious - Any Christian-turned-Buddhist converts here?
Thanks to everyone who contributed their views and opinions about these matters.
I finally broke off with my bf (now ex) last month because of religious conflict. If you have followed my postings, you'll know he's a Christian...a Protestant to be precise. He wanted a Christian wife and I know in my heart that I may not be one even though I believe in existence of a Creator, which is against Buddhist beliefs too. To be frank, I believe in the history of Jesus Christ and that he was noble to sacrifice his life to save everyone from sin. But I can't bring myself to believe that we are actually saved from sin as I believe in kharma - cause and effect.
Anyway, just like to close this matter and put it behind me.
For all those couples who are facing such problems, I hope that you will think rationally about this and do not put God, Buddha or any other religion between you.
Maybe he means freedom from religious conflict?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Freedom of?
YahOriginally posted by surfbabe:Maybe he means freedom from religious conflict?
Hmm... but you are married isnt too isnt it?Originally posted by longchen:Yah
I dunno about others... but i find being on a serious spiritual path is not always compatible with having a relationship.
The further one goes... the harder your partner will understand you and this can be a constant source of conflict. The further ones goes, the less one is compelled to do anything unnecessary... but the partner may not understand and thinks that this is bochap.
Err... dun understand your sentenceOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Hmm... but you are married isnt too isnt it?
I mean you said 'but i find being on a serious spiritual path is not always compatible with having a relationship'... but you are married too isnt it? hahaOriginally posted by longchen:Err... dun understand your sentence![]()
ya lor... married liao...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I mean you said 'but i find being on a serious spiritual path is not always compatible with having a relationship'... but you are married too isnt it? haha