In Buddhism, rebirth in higher realms like Heaven is not our goal. Our goal is to be completely liberated, attain the highest bliss that is beyond any samsaric realms, freed from samsaric rebirth cycle. Heaven is not absolute. However, if we cannot attain liberation in this lifetime, then at least we must ensure that we attain rebirth in the next lifetime as a Human. This is very important. Otherwise, we will not have the opportunity to cultivate the dharma again. Therefore when you take refuge in Buddhism, you will also be asked to abide by the 5 Precepts. The 5 Precepts are means of safeguarding our blessings, and ensuring that we will at least be able to be reborn as a Human again.Originally posted by simplified:thoughts:
adding light onto light
one will not see darkness only
but to see real 'light'
one need to be in darkness first
practise/follow 'Dharma' diligently, earnestly
shall reborn in the 'upper realm'
but to see the 'Truth'
Dharma dont even exist
------------------------------------------------------------
what makes one to enlightenment..
hav one experience 'true sufferings'?
what leads the very first step to enlightenment?
its suffering..which is y i say theres not 'upper and lower'..
in fact one shld b happy to suffer..even in so-called the 'lower realm'..
one dun choose friends to be..
but one choose to be 'enlightened' or not..
do u see? or rather i hope u dun..
need not agree.
thank you
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:yes i understand that heaven is not ur goal..
[b]
In Buddhism, rebirth in higher realms like Heaven is not our goal. Our goal is to be completely liberated, attain the highest bliss that is beyond any samsaric realms, freed from samsaric rebirth cycle. Heaven is not absolute. However, if we cannot attain liberation in this lifetime, then at least we must ensure that we attain rebirth in the next lifetime as a Human. This is very important. Otherwise, we will not have the opportunity to cultivate the dharma again. Therefore when you take refuge in Buddhism, you will also be asked to abide by the 5 Precepts. The 5 Precepts are means of safeguarding our blessings, and ensuring that we will at least be able to be reborn as a Human again.
One is enlightened, after cultivating the dharma, and seeing into the nature of reality, and being liberated from samsara, sufferings, etc.
The first step towards enlightenment is the recognition of suffering, and then from that, we realise that grasping, craving, to conditioned phenomena will lead to suffering. Therefore, one needs to cultivate the dharma, in order to be liberated from sufferings. What dharma? the Eight-fold path as Buddha taught. All these are being taught in the 4 noble truths.
Nobody will likes suffering, all sentient beings seeks bliss and shuns sufferings.
Also see: Buddhists are Happier!
Originally posted by simplified:The truths Buddha taught can be very profound, but it is profound only because of our inability to comprehend it. It takes an enlightened teacher to point the truth to the student directly.
[b]
firstly thanks for the postin..
seems like u dun c my meanin..
..hav u ever wonder y some 'master'(enlightened) dun use layman term or direct words to get their msg across to 'disciple'.or rather y is buddhism teachin so 'profound' in term of word use. would u like to tell me?
yes i understand that heaven is not ur goal..Becoming Buddha is my goal. Therefore, in this lifetime, i need to cultivate, in the next lifetime, I also need to cultivate, so I still need to maintain a human form to cultivate.
but safeguardin to ensure 'reborn' as human again.. is ur goal?
we r all even..in the 'cycle'
its either u r in..or u r out.
u mention first step to enlightenment is recognition of sufferin..It is more difficult but not impossible.
then what makes u recognise suffering in the first place when u din even undergo b4 wats sufferin is?
(do u see the catch?)
if one never been thru sufferin in the first place, then how to liberated from 'suffering' where there isnt any?
everyone yearn to rch 'highest bliss'...but how to experience happy when u dun experience wats 'highest sadness' is?There is no need to abuse drugs, to know the harm and sufferings drugs will cause.
if one see only dharma..One must practise the Dharma the Buddha taught. It is not follow. Buddhists do not follow blindly anyone including the Buddha, but become enlightened ourselves. The 84000 dharma doors taught by Buddha are meant as a raft, to bring us across the river to the other shore of liberation/enlightenment. It is like a medicine, to cure us of our afflictive mind illness.
one only follow..(not enlighten)
if one see beyond dharma
one will lead..(enlighten)
more simple in teachinTruth is simple, but our illusions prevent us from seeing it.
more it will hinder u to c the truth..
physically one need to 'walk the path himself'...Yes, he needs to walk the path, and also under the guidance of a 'Shan Zhi Shi' (someone who threaded the path before you) - so that you do not walk the wrong path. A teacher is important.
spiritually he 'walks where u r walkin'..
read with open heart.Yup, I always will.
thank you.
Yup.. agreed.Originally posted by paperflower:a constructed sentence can have many meanings behind. if it is too simple, the essence of teaching is limited and stops at the full-stop. a sentence is profound and looks like riddle has diversified meanings teachings as vast as and as limitless as space.
to be in dharma itself is also not losing your awareness when you are in it or not in it - even mind clings on to "when not being in it" thus you are not even considered living in, practicing the dharma. thats the meaning of dharma is empty.... cos it is natural just like your breathing.
Originally posted by simplified:Shakyamuni Buddha practised for 3 Aeons as a Bodhisattva before attaining Buddhahood. Likewise, practitioners must cultivate for a long time before attaining Buddhahood.
when buddha becum buddha
he did not set to be buddha
when one seek to be buddha
he is not even near buddha
its not the 'will' tat keep him to find the way out of sufferings forever..The Buddha Nature is with us since immemorable times, following us to hell and heaven, everywhere. Yet we have not realised it, because of our ignorance, our illusions, that have covered it up. Like just a clear bright mirror covered by a layer of dust. By Cultivating dharma, we slowly purify our minds and uncover our pristine Buddha Nature. The qualities of Compassion, Wisdom, are all within our Buddha Nature, as we slowly uncover it.
rather its d buddha nature in him - compassion/love that keep him goin..and from compassion/love , other like forgiveness ,will , determination etc comes along. bcos of compassion, he c others mistake as his, others sufferin as his..its bcoz of compassion that he walk 'the way' and eventually wisdom gain thru every suffering. it is that hes able to 'c' everyting everyone as one , in equanity, which makes him gain unlimited wisdom. he simply dun exist bcos he exist everywhere..
its not abt the action done...but rather the intention behind it.Yes, our intentions must be virtuous, but more importantly we must cultivate until Action is Non-action (wu wei), as Lao Tzu taught in Tao Te Ching. To act in non-action is to abide in our natural Awareness/Buddha Nature/Tao.
its not the goal..but rather what makes one move the first step ...eventually he will c the 'goal' which dont even exist in the first place..
when one reali 'walk his way', he can naturally come up with the 5 PreceptsWhat is dharma? Dharma means phenomena. What is Buddhadharma? It means truths taught by Buddha. All Dharmas taught by Buddha are used as medicines to treat the human mind.
when one reali 'walk his way', he can come up with his own dharma , for dharma dnt exist at all.
when theres no pain...one will not 'gain'.The sentient mind is not the guide. It is full of its own egocentric ideas, impure thoughts, ignorant perceptions.
but what makes one to go thru pain even when one know d pain exist??
isnt it simple and direct?
one need a guide..but isnt all of us has it ..within? juz that he chose not to follow..[/b]
u know how to think like that is good enough. don't lose your direction unnecessarily.Originally posted by simplified:its not the 'will' tat keep him to find the way out of sufferings forever..
rather its d buddha nature in him......
one need a guide..but isnt all of us has it ..within? juz that he chose not to follow..
ya..im interested in tis.
But when you become enlightened, you transcend ALL realms..
haa..Originally posted by paperflower:u know how to think like that is good enough. don't lose your direction unnecessarily.
yes we all have buddha nature in us. it was the will of siddhartha gautama to seek an end to sufferings where he finally found the truth and became buddha. without the will, he would not even be able to find out that each of us has a buddha nature during the search.
there's a master within ourselves..... and if u look at it carefully its none other than your own ever-present pure buddha nature. it is whether you could recognise acknowledge and bring it forth or not. on the other hand, the spiritual guidances of masters teachers and gurus are also within us to guide us. also it is whether u able to recognise that and find your path and travel successfuly.
the most heavy bricks that can pull you down the ladder in cultivations are pride, conceit, ego, lament, fear, doubt and of cos others.....
remember to stay ahead of your yourself and don't tumble down just becos of lamenting and pride & ego.
bon voyage!
Originally posted by simplified:haa..
ever wonder y practitioner and cultivator always so lonely??
coz he easily access world of others but not many can get into his ..as his world dun even exist..
im neither both..
but its affinity..draw mi to 'walk the way'
hardlife..but one dun hav a life..
Originally posted by simplified:It doesn't matter, but one should learn from Buddha's spirit.
thank you all for the posting..
i will express in a more 'human way'...it sound harsh but do not take it to heart.
yes buddha may hav gone thru tis and tat and blur blur blur...but are all these important..??????whether its 3 lifetime, or whatever shit...do u tink it matter?
we respect buddha not bcoz of wat he has undergo..but why he has to undergo these...wats makes him to make the very first step..His very first step, that is his aspiration to attain the highest Bodhi. And indeed that is really respectable. But what he has undergone, are also respectable. And finally, his Buddhahood is also respectable. So I feel there are more than one things respectable about Buddha, truly what one should learn from.
is raft important? r u sure?Yes, raft is important, because we are sentient beings struggling in the sea of samsara. If we were to reach the shore, we have to rely on a raft.
is the oppostite shore impt? r u sure?
u take the raft not to r rch the opposite..Sorry, I don't quite get you. Perhaps you can explain?
to rch the opposite is not takin the raft..
do u know wat is important?????????What makes you leave the original shore - the aspiration to achieve the highest Bodhi, the vows, is important. However, if if our aspirations and vows remains only in the mind, it only remains as a wish, or just a passing dream.
its the reason what makes u leave ur orginal shore intially...juz tat simple and direct...and u will 'auto' rch the opposite with ur 'own-make' raft..
one way to noe whether u r on the rite track..Yes you can say so
let mi cast u a scenario:
imagine a naked baby born ...
his clothes r spread along the way to his mother..(as theres a distance between) them..
his mother hand cant rch him to help him get dress up..
the baby has to find his way there..
he may get lost ..but its ok..as he will go back to the orginal start point..
he try again another path ..fail again..he try and try and fail and fail..
finally he find a way..
and as he walk he can feel the happiness, calmness, so he proceed..
still rem the clothes lyin on the path??
he will pick up clothes and put in on...
and by the time he rch the arm of mother..he is fully dressed up.
( i can write in a super detail cover everyting but it will b super long
but i wan to drive to a point :I think rather than 'spiritual ability', in Buddhism we stress on 'spiritual insights'.
whenever one progress in the spiritual way...if he is on the right track , he will bound to pick up some spiritual ability(clothes) coz he has rch the stage. if he cont on the right way he will pick up again another one.
let mi ask u .You're right, it is unwise to discuss about spiritual achievements. First of all, I do not see how that is going to help someone else, unless if the other person has similar relevant experiences then perhaps sharing of such experiences is worthwhile and fruitful. Secondly, even if I say I have attained this and this, not everyone is going to believe you. Thirdly, it may confuse some people.
do u 'travel' in another realm?
do u 'see' beyond ?
do u 'see' past?
do u 'see' dark in the head?
do u have some spiritual experiences?
dun hav to ans to mi..kp it to urslf(not supposed to tell)
if yes
i sincerely apologise and i will eat back all my postin..
if no
then y r u still seeing what u see?
my suggestion:You may not have known, but for immemorable time you have already walked the rounds of Life, Death, Sickness, Ageing, for uncountable times. We have already reborn and suffered in Samsara for so long. Buddha remembered 96 aeons of previous lifetimes.
walk a few rounds of life,death,sickness,aged, separate etc best is all kinds of sufferin with buddha nature(one tat see with compassion)..then cum back to 'dharma'..
let ur buddha nature 'see' first
the 'guide' i mention above refer to the buddha nature and not the mind. the word 'mind' never cross when im typin..That's good... I get what you mean. However, it is also very easy to mistake our Buddha Nature with our illusions. It is not Buddha Nature's fault, but because our karmic tendencies, illusions, strong bondage and attachment has prevented us from seeing the Buddha... even if one wishes to rely on the inner-Buddha, we still need an external teacher, someone who has threaded the path before you (shan zhi shi), to guide us and correct us.
ya..im interested in tis.Below are 11 pages which should answer your question, each image is clickable, click on it to enlarge. Although it's 11 pages, it's not very long, because the words are big.
can i hav the relevant site or article?
thank you very much.

i don't really think you understand Buddhism so i could encourage you to read articles on buddhism and decide for yourself.Originally posted by simplified:thank you all for the posting..
i will express in a more 'human way'...it sound harsh but do not take it to heart.
yes buddha may hav gone thru tis and tat and blur blur blur...but are all these important..??????whether its 3 lifetime, or whatever shit...do u tink it matter?
we respect buddha not bcoz of wat he has undergo..but why he has to undergo these...wats makes him to make the very first step..
is raft important? r u sure?
is the oppostite shore impt? r u sure?
u take the raft not to r rch the opposite..
to rch the opposite is not takin the raft..
do u know wat is important?????????
its the reason what makes u leave ur orginal shore intially...juz tat simple and direct...and u will 'auto' rch the opposite with ur 'own-make' raft..
one way to noe whether u r on the rite track..
let mi cast u a scenario:
imagine a naked baby born ...
his clothes r spread along the way to his mother..(as theres a distance between) them..
his mother hand cant rch him to help him get dress up..
the baby has to find his way there..
he may get lost ..but its ok..as he will go back to the orginal start point..
he try again another path ..fail again..he try and try and fail and fail..
finally he find a way..
and as he walk he can feel the happiness, calmness, so he proceed..
still rem the clothes lyin on the path??
he will pick up clothes and put in on...
and by the time he rch the arm of mother..he is fully dressed up.
( i can write in a super detail cover everyting but it will b super long)
but i wan to drive to a point :
whenever one progress in the spiritual way...if he is on the right track , he will bound to pick up some spiritual ability(clothes) coz he has rch the stage. if he cont on the right way he will pick up again another one.
let mi ask u .
do u 'travel' in another realm?
do u 'see' beyond ?
do u 'see' past?
do u 'see' dark in the head?
do u have some spiritual experiences?
dun hav to ans to mi..kp it to urslf(not supposed to tell)
if yes
i sincerely apologise and i will eat back all my postin..
if no
then y r u still seeing what u see?
my suggestion:
walk a few rounds of life,death,sickness,aged, separate etc best is all kinds of sufferin with buddha nature(one tat see with compassion)..then cum back to 'dharma'..
let ur buddha nature 'see' first
the 'guide' i mention above refer to the buddha nature and not the mind. the word 'mind' never cross when im typin..
when i say :
'tink' like buddha
one 'see' buddha
i dun mean tink with ur mind and see with ur physical eyes..
thank you.
ya..im interested in tis.
can i hav the relevant site or article?
thank you very much.
hi simplified,Originally posted by Isis:i don't really think you understand Buddhism so i could encourage you to read articles on buddhism and decide for yourself.
Refering to your posting:
what is really our shore? Briefly is is to end suffering. Everyone want to be happy and to be happy is no suffering
MMM Do u occasionally occur experience suffering and happiness everyday, vice-versa.
Buddhism seek to teach you what is real and unreal. The teachings are so profound, that it is not easy to grasp..
The forumerS replying to you are not dharma teachers. i feel you should start understand and clearing your own doubts. MmMm what u say about the bady analogy does make sense, Buddhism isn't a religion to being with. Buddha don't encourage people to BLINDLY follow and believe in his teachings.
There are many misconception about buddhism as such your first thread on Qing ming and many many more.
Sometime arguing does not encourage understanding and can CoMplicated Thinkings.. it will be hindering your from seeing the whole picture when on is engrossed with your own view.
Try to understand buddhism and even better immense in it for awhile could be fun.. the truth is to truly see for yourself, experiencing it.
May all be free from suffering and be happy =)
i wan to emphasis is tat..You can say so.. It is true that we only have the determination to practise only when we suffer. There was once I thought I was really dying, and I was fading in unconsciousness. That time, my thought was of regretts that I have not cultivated enough. It is at that time then I realise the need and importance to cultivate.
unless one experience sufferin, then one will hav the determination and will to get rid of sufferin...bcoz he noe how pain is the suffering...
one will only understand the truth of sufferin when one experience sufferin is...
then he naturally walk the correct way..
bu then ppl juz scare to experience helpless moment..
.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:You can say so.. It is true that we only have the determination to practise only when we suffer. There was once I thought I was really dying, and I was fading in unconsciousness. That time, my thought was of regretts that I have not cultivated enough. It is at that time then I realise the need and importance to cultivate.
Everyone on Earth will go through sufferings. What kind of sufferings? The Eight Distresses, and the 4 processes of life - Birth, Ageing, Sickness, Death. Nobody can stop that process. However, if one starts too late, by the time death is coming, then it is already too late 'to get on the raft'.
one experience suffering will have determination to get rid of suffering..Originally posted by simplified:thank you for replyin..
time contraint i shall kp it short and sweet...
one see arguement wen one see nuttin..
when i say ' i hope to c blood wif a needle' i hope to see direct view from ur own buddhist view ..
or u rather hope to discuss wifout seein 'blood' ..then wats the point of havin it on the 'discussion network?
i hav oreadi stated tat i hope to c 'my blood wif ur needle' but obiviously i dun mean to 'argue'..
do u noe if one has the same 'inspiration' as Buddha..he or she can oso achieve the same tin...it is the compassion / love that buddha has ...that made him to go to tat 'process' b4 attain buddhahood.
having the 'right compassion ' will naturally lead one to the same path..
regardin the raft , i will interprete in ur theory..
sea = samsara
raft = dharma
shore = enlightenment
ppl struggin in the water rite...but rem not everyone will like to take the raft..rite ...y?
bcoz there r ppl wo noe how to swim in the water...so he will offer help to the struggler..so he teach the struggler to basic swimin...
then cum huge wave..
struggler strugglin again coz tis time the wave too big...his basic swim stroke cant tahan..
then tis time..other ppl oso busy swimmin to keep alive..
the struggler almost die...
then by fate...
a raft cum...
he , as no choice , as no ppl help him ...decide to hang on the raft...
he feel relieved...
the raft help him overcum huge wave...
the raft never fail to tide him over , unlike ppl wo onli teach him basic swimmin then ignore him liao..
till he rch the shore
then tere is oso another type...
ppl wo noe how to swim...then he hear got raft ..so he juz hop on to try...
the raft oso help him ...but then he tink..he noe how to swim mah...(coz he never tahan big waves b4 so he tink tis way,has the tendancy to go back in the water).....then he jump back to the water...
tis time big big wave cum...
Posted by Isis:
Actaully i can choose to take a motorboat, kayak over or taking a helicopter over .... there are 84000 dharma door to cross over to the other side... haha
errr ...i don't really get the term direct view.....
[quote]Originally posted by simplified:
[b]
i wan to emphasis is tat..
unless one experience sufferin, then one will hav the determination and will to get rid of sufferin...bcoz he noe how pain is the suffering...
one will only understand the truth of sufferin when one experience sufferin is...
then he naturally walk the correct way..
bu then ppl juz scare to experience helpless moment..
sorry cont nxt time more reply on other thread..
Yes, agreed. as mentioned in my thread,Originally posted by Isis:one experience suffering will have determination to get rid of suffering..
yup all beings essentially want happiness and who want to suffer.? Some of us pursue happiness in material terms, in relationships and in arts etc etc. However, all these are not lasting happiness.. don't u think so?
Without happiness, we will not know what is a thing call sadness...
Buddha was a prince who has enjoyed pleasure, beauty and luxuries... then he came across an aging man, a man who is sick and dead man... which make him sad and leaving the palace to find a way to end all these... Buddha didnt experience suffering before he decided to walk the path to seek the truth.
For example, if we dont have sufferings, but we can hear of the sufferings of others, this is also one way. Shakyamuni Buddha was once a prince. He lived a carefree life, free from sufferings. But through seeing the Four Sights - an old crippled man (old age), a diseased man (illness), a decaying corpse (death), and finally a monk. He deduced that Sufferings is indeed part of life, and after seeing the carefree monk, he had the will to find the way out of sufferings forever. He eventually attained Enlightenment.Can Heaven beings learn dharma? Yes. They can, and they can even attain various stages of Sainthood (Arhantship), although they will not attain Arhantship until another lifetime. (with exception of the 5 Pure Abodes in the 4th jhana heaven, where non-returners and arhants live before they pass away and enter nirvana. http://www.accesstoinsight.org/ptf/dhamma/sagga/loka.html) Although it is more difficult for celestial beings to learn and practise the dharma because their life is too comfortable, some of them are wise enough to accept the dharma. There are bodhisattvas teaching in the celestial realm, one famous one being Maitreya Buddha, who currently resides in Tush_ita heaven, teaching the celestial beings there until the time is ripe for him to attain Buddhahood on Earth.