Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Can Heaven beings learn dharma? Yes. They can, and they can even attain various stages of Sainthood (Arhantship), although they will not attain Arhantship until another lifetime. (with exception of the 5 Pure Abodes in the 4th jhana heaven, where non-returners and arhants live before they pass away and enter nirvana. http://www.accesstoinsight.org/ptf/dhamma/sagga/loka.html) Although it is more difficult for celestial beings to learn and practise the dharma because their life is too comfortable, some of them are wise enough to accept the dharma. There are bodhisattvas teaching in the celestial realm, one famous one being Maitreya Buddha, who currently resides in Tush_ita heaven, teaching the celestial beings there until the time is ripe for him to attain Buddhahood on Earth.
Why Maitreya Bodhisattva chose to teach the heavens first? Because the heavenly beings have greater blessings to receive teachings from him. When the time has come, all the celestial beings will be reborn with Maitreya Bodhisattva on earth, and they will become his disciples and aid him in propagating the dharma here
Originally posted by Isis:repeat as in last few postin:
one experience suffering will have determination to get rid of suffering..
yup all beings essentially want happiness and who want to suffer.? Some of us pursue happiness in material terms, in relationships and in arts etc etc. However, all these are not lasting happiness.. don't u think so?
Without happiness, we will not know what is a thing call sadness...
Buddha was a prince who has enjoyed pleasure, beauty and luxuries... then he came across an aging man, a man who is sick and dead man... which make him sad and leaving the palace to find a way to end all these... Buddha didnt experience suffering before he decided to walk the path to seek the truth.
which is y i say...raft is not important..opposite shore is not important..Originally posted by Isis:Posted by Isis:
Actaully i can choose to take a motorboat, kayak over or taking a helicopter over .... there are 84000 dharma door to cross over to the other side... haha
errr ...i don't really get the term direct view.....
I think what Isis means is, there are many ways to reach the other shore. Yes, there are 84000 dharma doors, each of them will lead to the other shore.Originally posted by simplified:which is y i say...raft is not important..opposite shore is not important..
ya ...i noe what isis mean..Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I think what Isis means is, there are many ways to reach the other shore. Yes, there are 84000 dharma doors, each of them will lead to the other shore.
But arriving at the other shore is still important.
I see what you mean... yes there must be a 'tui dong li' before a person is determined to cross the sea.Originally posted by simplified:ya ...i noe what isis mean..
which is y i say in last few postin :
is raft important? r u sure?
is the oppostite shore impt? r u sure?
u take the raft not to r rch the opposite..
to rch the opposite is not takin the raft..
human wnt bo tai bo ji find ways to leave the sea if they dun undergo suffering..its like tat ..
shore dun exist
raft dun exist
if one do not hav the 'intention' to leave the sea..
which is y i say ...
its not the action..
but rather the intention behind it
haa..more or less ba..Originally posted by paperflower:this side of the shore is samsara, the other side of the shore is nirvana.
you use a raft to get to other side. there are many types of "rafts" - a boat, a ship, a vessel, a plane......etc... anything you can think of. or if not you can swim over also can but beware of getting drowned when trying to swim across to reach the shore, it can be dangerous. so it is important to get a reliable raft thats suitable for you to get you over to the other side of the shore safely and successfully.
ya true..Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I see what you mean... yes there must be a 'tui dong li' before a person is determined to cross the sea.
Some people have to undergo 'large waves' first, some people see in front got waves, they know must take the raft liao. It depends on the individual. Those who cross the sea earlier will not have to undergo so much sufferings later.
ya..those ppl c small waves oso can grab..but then hav the tendancy to drop half way lor..and will not go all the way..Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I see what you mean... yes there must be a 'tui dong li' before a person is determined to cross the sea.
Some people have to undergo 'large waves' first, some people see in front got waves, they know must take the raft liao. It depends on the individual. Those who cross the sea earlier will not have to undergo so much sufferings later.
most important is you watch your own steps mindfully and watch out for your own waves before you get carried away and get lost in the ocean and end up can't even safe others nor reach the other side of the shore.Originally posted by simplified:ya..those ppl c small waves oso can grab..but then hav the tendancy to drop half way lor..and will not go all the way..
but still no right no wrong lar..
but then Greatness dun cum easy without huge suffering
oohhh i get what u mean.. is raft important? is the shore important?Originally posted by simplified:ya ...i noe what isis mean..
which is y i say in last few postin :
is raft important? r u sure?
is the oppostite shore impt? r u sure?
u take the raft not to r rch the opposite..
to rch the opposite is not takin the raft..
human wnt bo tai bo ji find ways to leave the sea if they dun undergo suffering..its like tat ..
shore dun exist
raft dun exist
if one do not hav the 'intention' to leave the sea..
which is y i say ...
its not the action..
but rather the intention behind it