thnks 4 e info. hope tat for those who haven't will come back to the 'right track' (mainstream) soonOriginally posted by bohiruci:Nichiren Shu recognised Buddha Sakyamuni as the teacher ,so no question with that
for SGI movement who do not recognise Buddha Sakyamuni who preached the Lotus Sutra , sorry it is not recognised in Compassion Affinity and Buddha Mandala Blessing
Lotus Sutra must be treated at its entirety and not judged by inferior or superior qualities of the chapters and discard the rest as just "convenience" or non-alignment to any Buddhist sect .
No other sectarian have ever tried using one's own opinion to judge the Tathagatha 5 periods teaching.
As long as Peaceful SGI faction recognise the Whole of Lotus Sutra and stop the ruthless action in the 1970s in japan and around the world ,the Buddhist community will welcome them.
As long as any faction or group dismiss Lotus Sutra as expounded by Nichiren the fiery preacher, the notion of Lotus Sutra as the Eye of Japan , the hope of Great Japan (as happened in the Meiji Reformation in 1880s) .We accept whichever Nichiren family willing to come back to represent the Buddhist community
The sgforums tolerate no words of slander towards any other Bodhisattva ,Mahasattvas and Buddhas of the Established Mahayana and Vajrayana orders .
Till now , it is a matter of freedom to choose the teachings
Gashho and Namo Amitabha
bohiruci
Recognised as in?Originally posted by chunyong:hmm, the official one is Singapore Soka Association aka SSA, who took part in almost all the NDPs except 1 yr if i am not wrong. the other sect however is not really recognised here.
when my grandma passed away, i am grateful that close to or perhaps over 100 people from SSA came down on the last day of the wake to chant for her b4 the cremation.
my grandma been chanting for i think over a few decades and when we pick her bones we found lots of She Li Hua...at the cranium area.
see how it goes lorOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Recognised as in?
Soka Gakkai is recognised as religious movement in Singapore, just like any others, however it is not recognised by the Buddhists in general.
On the other hand there is a greater recognition of Nichiren Shu. Nichiren Shu is still new in Singapore, we didnt have that years ago.
Dont need to see how it goes. This is what it already is in Singapore and worldwide.Originally posted by chunyong:see how it goes lor
Originally posted by dork3d:I see. Well I have nothing against the SGI, but it is our stance that it is different from mainstream Buddhism, so pls do not be offended by what I said.
[b]Me and my dad are members of Singapore Soka Association.
Your definitions on the sects are quite right, it's just that there are always black sheeps that spoilt the image of the Buddhism. Actually SSA is a recognised member of the Buddhism community in Singapore.Source? SGI is actually really not recognised within the Buddhism community.
As for Nichiren Shoshu, there are a few offspringed sects that practised otherwise different from what me practised. We chant the Lotus Script in Japanese whereas they don't. They also practised more towards Materialism which in Buddhism we are taught in forgiveness and non-materialism.I understand, however, the key doctrinal problem is still present within the SGI, and is different from mainstream Buddhsim.
You may find some members outright disgusting from Nichiren and me as member we are ashamed by what they do. Diversely we were from the same root and practise the same fundamental of Buddha teachings, just that they strayed away from the mainstream.
As for our President of SSA, he's not our spiritual leader and as a matter of fact, he's more like a coordinator and regulator of the Association throughout the SEA region. Our belief is very much still the basic understandings and lessons to be learned from Buddhism.
But from what we understand from the teachings, the mainstream of Buddhism has evolved very much in the fact due to the very different cultures, especially due to the influx of radical thinkings back during the Meiji revolution. Much needed to be done to diversely incultilate the mainstream back into SSA, and very much so that we are already changing much of our teachings.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I understand, however, the key doctrinal problem is still present within the SGI, and is different from mainstream Buddhsim.
My grandma wasn't a devoted buddhist as in she just go Kwan Im temple and pray pray that kind but when she died she also has She Li hua...i don't think it matter whether which religion you are from.Originally posted by chunyong:hmm, the official one is Singapore Soka Association aka SSA, who took part in almost all the NDPs except 1 yr if i am not wrong. the other sect however is not really recognised here.
when my grandma passed away, i am grateful that close to or perhaps over 100 people from SSA came down on the last day of the wake to chant for her b4 the cremation.
my grandma been chanting for i think over a few decades and when we pick her bones we found lots of She Li Hua...at the cranium area.
i didn't say which religion matters lehOriginally posted by Isis:My grandma wasn't a devoted buddhist as in she just go Kwan Im temple and pray pray that kind but when she died she also has She Li hua...i don't think it matter whether which religion you are from.
religion tolerances, note dat hor...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Dont need to see how it goes. This is what it already is in Singapore and worldwide.
The problem is doctrinally, and even their triple gem issue, is already a fundamental difference between mainstream Buddhism and SGI. Buddhists will not recognise SGI until these issues are solved.
actually i wasn't aiming @ you....Originally posted by chunyong:i didn't say which religion matters leh
Buddha : Nichiren Daishonin ?Originally posted by supa_naga:Dear all,
Nichiren Buddhism has been in the mainstream Buddhist circle as seen in the website of Japan Buddhist Federation (http://www.jbf.ne.jp/) where Nichiren Buddhist schools are members with exception to Nichiren Shoshu & Soka Gakkai.
Probably what needs to be banned from this forum is actually "Nichirenism". Well, I'll make a summary explanation of this.
In Japan, Buddhism is almost exclusively of the Northern tradition (Mahayana). The lineages are mainly from Tiendai (Tien-tai), Shingon, Jodo (Pure Land), Zen, Nichiren & Nara schools. Due to the sectarian nature of Japanese Buddhism, each lineage consists of subsects together with the main sect.
For Nichiren Buddhism, the main sect will be Nichiren Shu with subsects such as Kempon Hokke Shu, Honmon Butsuryu Shu, Honmon Hokke Shu & 3 offshoots of Hokke Shu. There are 2 sects that advocates "Nichirenism" instead & they are Honmon Shoshu, Nichiren Shoshu & its one-time lay organisation Soka Gakkai.
Here's the brief difference between Nichiren Shu, Nichiren Shoshu & Soka Gakkai:
3 Treasures of Buddhism
- Buddha
- Dhamma
- Sangha
1) Nichiren Shu
- Buddha : Eternal Sakyamuni Buddha
- Dhamma : Mahayana Tripitaka with the Lotus Sutra as base, Namu Myoho Renge Kyo
- Sangha : Nichiren Shonin (with the monastics & lay community)
2) Nichiren Shoshu
- Buddha : Nichiren Daishonin
- Dhamma : The Lotus Sutra, Nam Myoho Rengo Kyo (with emphasize on the Goshos)
- Sangha : Nikko Shonin & successive High Priests
3) Soka Gakkai [2 types]
{A} Official
- Buddha : Nichiren Daishonin
- Dhamma : The Lotus Sutra, Nam Myoho Rengo Kyo (with emphasize on the Goshos)
- Sangha : Nikko Shonin
{B} In Reality
-
- Dhamma : Writings & Teachings of the President & Soka Gakkai
- Sangha : Soka Gakkai organisation & members
Reason for stating the above 3 organisations is that they are more known thru out the world & are ones with branches in Singapore.
For more info about Nichiren Shu, check out http://nichiren-shu.org/ , Malaysia branch (http://www.nshumy.org/) & Indonesia branch (http://www.nishi.org/)
Homage to the Original Teacher Lord Sakyamuni Buddha
Buddha's Grace,
Supa Naga
Hmm, firstly did a Fa Shi talked to her before she died or before cremation?Originally posted by Isis:My grandma wasn't a devoted buddhist as in she just go Kwan Im temple and pray pray that kind but when she died she also has She Li hua...i don't think it matter whether which religion you are from.
Of course we are tolerant. Buddhists are tolerant of every religion in the world. We have never had a single historical record of wars unlike many other religions...Originally posted by chunyong:religion tolerances, note dat hor...
Yup! I do go there for my Morning Services on Suns. They also located @ Geylang which is a few Lorongs away from Blissful Wisdom Centre. Btw, their name is Lotus Sutra Buddhism Association.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hi, I have a friend who frequents the new Nichiren Shu centre in Singapore. Do you go there too? Btw, thanks for your post. It's informative
Oh I see... it is also a few lorongs away from my dharma centre. BTW, this forum is not related to Blissful Wisdom CentreOriginally posted by supa_naga:Yup! I do go there for my Morning Services on Suns. They also located @ Geylang which is a few Lorongs away from Blissful Wisdom Centre. Btw, their name is Lotus Sutra Buddhism Association.
Buddha's Grace,
Supa Naga