"The Dharma is spoken to break people's attachments. If people had no attachments, they wouldn't need the Dharma. But people have attachments because their consciousnesses take over, and so they give rise to distinctions and attachments. If you let your wisdom be in charge, you will have no attachments. . . ." (VBS #179 3rd door)http://online.sfsu.edu/~rone/Buddhism/BuddhistDict/BDD.html
"There are no fixed, static dharmas. Because it is not fixed, the Dharma is alive. Dharma which is alive is separate from all attachments. It is said, 'One bestows the teaching for the sake of the individual and prescribes the medicine according to the illness.' In the same way the Dharma is spoken as an antidote to an individual's specific problems." (DFS I 7-
II. . In this sense Dharma refers to the reality which is realized through the application of Dharma as teaching. It is the world of total enlightenment. See Dharma-realm. "
Let'snot jump to conclusions and talk about who will get enlightenment first... in not seeking achievements we achieve?Originally posted by coolbluewater:Buddhism, is all about everyday living, hence I've mentioned modern technologies such as cars, ezlink etc. However, you can't deny that it's more relevant today cause every suffering we encounter rooted from our desire. Bottomline is, do we justify those desire as a form of need? If so, how much "needs" will we satisfy?
FYI, if you've attended enough Dharma Talks, you'll notice many venerables will actually quote modern technologies in their dharma preaching, so that people like us will understand. Are you saying that they will not gain enlightenment also? Of course, myself will not gain enlightenment so soon, I'm still learning. Maybe you'll attain enlightenment before me, perhaps this life?
Actually, i feel that it's good to keep the discussions rolling on. Afterall, I believe alot of the readers have learnt alot from your discussion with Eternal and Neutral, and have no doubt that you have a very profound knowledge of buddhism. In fact, if we have more like you and the seniors in this forum, we will be able to spread buddhsim further, and have lesser buddhist youth converting to other religions. Do not be afraid of anybody criticising you because they do not agree with your view, just voice out and I'm sure you'll get something positive out of your discussion.Originally posted by casino_king:I would normally continue to say... at the time when Buddha walked on earth, it was a different earth. The Dharma he taught then was for those people. Since he said to discard, we then discard! Now I don't say it anymore because An Eternal Now will start screaming... you don't understand, you don't understand.
Main Entry: content/\
Function: transitive verb
1 : to appease the desires of
2 : to limit (oneself) in requirements, desires, or actions
Thanks for your encouragement. I am not afraid of people criticising me or I would have given up a long long time ago.Originally posted by coolbluewater:Actually, i feel that it's good to keep the discussions rolling on. Afterall, I believe alot of the readers have learnt alot from your discussion with Eternal and Neutral, and have no doubt that you have a very profound knowledge of buddhism. In fact, if we have more like you and the seniors in this forum, we will be able to spread buddhsim further, and have lesser buddhist youth converting to other religions. Do not be afraid of anybody criticising you because they do not agree with your view, just voice out and I'm sure you'll get something positive out of your discussion.
You cannot just say that and stop there. Everybody is contented and stop going to school to improve himself? Government shut down schools all close, hospitals close because even if you are sick, just be contented?Originally posted by sinweiy:"contentment is a way to a LastinG happiness. "
/\
Aiya i think u misunderstood my example liao...Ok what is trying to say here is tat we human alway think tat by 'fulfilling' our desire we will find lasting satifaction and happiness.Yet after 'fulfilling' one another desire arise.When this happen we'suffer' and again try to 'fulfill' it.It like adding oil to fire or drinking salt water to stop our thirst.Instead of reducing it , we r increasing it !Originally posted by neutral_onliner:deleted
OK you edited it and now you say "to limit (oneself)" That is good. Then the question arise... how will we achieve our best potential? If everyone limits themselves then will the scientists say, this is too difficult, forget it. Will the world then stop progressing?Originally posted by sinweiy:2 : to limit (oneself) in requirements, desires, or actions
/\
u check the definition of 'content' first before u think content is to 'stop' everything.Originally posted by casino_king:You cannot just say that and stop there. Everybody is contented and stop going to school to improve himself? Government shut down schools all close, hospitals close because even if you are sick, just be contented?
Nobody in this world will buy this kind of nonsense, you get it?
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:OK this is good. Happiness is found inward and not outward. But then happiness is not all there is to life is it?
Aiya i think u misunderstood my example liao...Ok what is trying to say here is tat [b]we human alway think tat by 'fulfilling' our desire we will find lasting satifaction and happiness.Yet after 'fulfilling' one another desire arise.When this happen we'suffer' and again try to 'fulfill' it.It like adding oil to fire or drinking salt water to stop our thirst.Instead of reducing it , we r increasing it !
Ok i will use singaporeans as an example.we singaporeans r quite caught up in the materialistic life.When we have 1C we want 2C then 3C,4C and 5C.Thinking tat by having all possessions all our problem will be solved.And yet when we have them we'r still not satified.Our problems r still there in fact getting bigger.
Well just ask these pple when it the last time they spend on admiring the environment(our beautiful city).when it the last time they have a nice chat or spend some quality time wf their loved ones.Everything is impermance sooner or later they will leave us.The problem is tat we r so caught up in our attachment we tend make all these the CENTER of attention we are completely unaware of other thing.We WANT it we CLING to it we CRAVE it ,making our minds restless: ignorance, attachment, anger, pride, deluded doubt and distorted views.We miss the big picture of our life our true happiness.
Now, to overcome your ego you don't have to give up all your possessions.It all right to have them eg money , 5C, etc,etc blah blah blah.Keep your possessions; they're not making your life difficult. What Buddha want us to know is tat we suffer becos because we are clinging to your possessions with attachment -- ego and attachment are making your mind polluted, unclear, ignorant and agitated and preventing the light of wisdom from growing.Which oso mean to say if u think tat by having all these possessions will give u everlasting happiness u r in an delusions.(Our desires can NEVER be fulfilled)Sadly some pple kill themselves becos of such delusions.
The human mind instinctively seeks: happiness. East or West, there's no difference- everybody's doing the same thing.The truth is that pleasure and joy actually come from the mind, not from objective phenomena. (meaning it the mind not ur possessions)
So you see Buddha teaches us how to overcome our problems and difficulties by understanding and preventing their causes. Whereas we usually look to outward circumstances for the causes of our problems, Buddhism teaches us to look inwards. Buddha showed how our feelings of dissatisfaction arise from negative states of mind - primarily anger, attachment, and ignorance - and offered methods to eliminate these by developing generosity, compassion, wisdom and other positive states of mind.
Buddhism teaches people that the real source of happiness is inner peace. If our mind is peaceful, we shall be happy all the time, regardless of external conditions, but if it is disturbed or troubled in any way, we shall never be happy, no matter how good our external conditions may be. External conditions can only make us happy if our mind is peaceful. We can understand this through our own experience. For instance, even if we are in the most beautiful surroundings and have everything we need, the moment we get angry any happiness we may have disappears. This is because anger has destroyed our inner peace.
We can see from this that if we want true, lasting happiness we need to develop and maintain a special experience of inner peace. The only way we can do this is by training our mind through spiritual practice - gradually reducing and eliminating our negative, disturbed states of mind and replacing them with positive, peaceful states
Originally posted by casino_king:tot u say let the "raft" go...now u are unknowingly also clinging to your own "raft".
[b]OK you edited it and now you say "to limit (oneself)" That is good. Then the question arise... how will we achieve our best potential? If everyone limits themselves then will the scientists say, this is too difficult, forget it. Will the world then stop progressing?
Many will then look at Buddhism and say... such a sad religion.
]
Yes but it still doesn't answer to question as to how the world is going to progress if all the scientist and philosophers and Singaporeans stay contected. If you stop here, like coolbluewater say; many Buddhists youth will leave Buddhism for other Faith. You are talking like a wise old man who had given up; you are not meeting the needs of the youth.Originally posted by sinweiy:u check the definition of 'content' first before u think content is to 'stop' everything.
Contentment exceed all wishes:
Here's a powerful simile, thus i heard.
Five children were playing the wishing game. "If you are granted a
wish, what will you want?"
In this game, the first child said, "If I have a wish, I'll wish for
an ice-cream." Because it quite a sunny, hot day.
The second child said, "I'll wish for an ice-cream factory." Because,
if there's an ice-cream factory, you can have all the ice cream you
one when you want it.
The third child did even better, he said, "If I have a wish, I'll
wish for a billion dollars." Because with a billion dollars, you can
buy all type of factories.
The fourth child is smarter, he said, "If I have a wish, I'll wish
for 3 wishes. In my first wish, I can wish for an ice-cream factory,
and for my second wish, I can wish for a billion dollars, and for the
third wish, I can wish back my 3 wishes." Because with endless
wishes, you can get what you want again and again.
The fifth child bet all the four children. His wish was more profound
and brought more happiness. He said, "If I have a wish, I wish I
don't need any more wishes ever again, end of wishing." Because
without wishes, one let go, that is contentment and freedom, freedom
of desire. If one still needs wishes, one is not happy with the
present situation. Worldly beings would rather choose to be the forth
child, but the fifth child IS the idea of Buddha.
/\
no lah u misinterprate liao lah pls read carefully lehOriginally posted by casino_king:OK you edited it and now you say "to limit (oneself)" That is good. Then the question arise... how will we achieve our best potential? If everyone limits themselves then will the scientists say, this is too difficult, forget it. Will the world then stop progressing?
Many will then look at Buddhism and say... such a sad religion.
Yes thats true. Anyway I did not criticise anyone... maybe you should see my previous reply to him in this topic. He is welcome to reply me.Originally posted by coolbluewater:Actually, i feel that it's good to keep the discussions rolling on. Afterall, I believe alot of the readers have learnt alot from your discussion with Eternal and Neutral, and have no doubt that you have a very profound knowledge of buddhism. In fact, if we have more like you and the seniors in this forum, we will be able to spread buddhsim further, and have lesser buddhist youth converting to other religions. Do not be afraid of anybody criticising you because they do not agree with your view, just voice out and I'm sure you'll get something positive out of your discussion.
Edited, please read again.Originally posted by casino_king:Yes but it still doesn't answer to question as to how the world is going to progress if all the scientist and philosophers and Singaporeans stay contected. If you stop here, like coolbluewater say; many Buddhists youth will leave Buddhism for other Faith. You are talking like a wise old man who had given up; you are not meeting the needs of the youth.
Many will then say that Buddhism is for losers. Those who cannot make it become Buddhists. Are you sure that this is what Buddha taught?
Actually Sinweiy has got a point, to be contented. But that doesnt mean stop society's progression, renounce everything and be a monk. Improve living conditions, yet at the same time, be contented with what IS at the moment.Originally posted by casino_king:Yes but it still doesn't answer to question as to how the world is going to progress if all the scientist and philosophers and Singaporeans stay contected. If you stop here, like coolbluewater say; many Buddhists youth will leave Buddhism for other Faith. You are talking like a wise old man who had given up; you are not meeting the needs of the youth.
Many will then say that Buddhism is for losers. Those who cannot make it become Buddhists. Are you sure that this is what Buddha taught?
Originally posted by casino_king:thatÂ’s lack teaching/education/learning of what reality really is. thereÂ’s no right or wrong. more importantly is people/youth learn and realise the truth of reality. realisation is a individual thingy. they must experience by themselves, not just we teach they follow suit. scientist and philosophers can still progress. wise people can still teach in harmony with the progress. sometimes, people need to see the bad side to learn the good side. if we keep using good sides, they wouldnÂ’t understand the bad sides. enlightenment is also to see things as they are. no wrong or right, then one reach a mind point of contentment, bliss, peace. thereÂ’s really nothing more to seek outside, everything is within ourselve. the top of final progression/advancement is actually within oneself.
Yes but it still doesn't answer to question as to how the world is going to progress if all the scientist and philosophers and Singaporeans stay contected. If you stop here, like coolbluewater say; many Buddhists youth will leave Buddhism for other Faith. You are talking like a wise old man who had given up; you are not meeting the needs of the youth.
Many will then say that Buddhism is for losers. Those who cannot make it become Buddhists. Are you sure that this is what Buddha taught?[/b]
Nirvanic bliss is in terms of clarityOriginally posted by sinweiy:however the "happiness" that Buddha discovered is not the ordinary happiness we think it is. it's a very blissful state of neither happiness nor suffering , dropping both extreme, that is True happiness, nirvanic state.
/\