i dun have out of body experience , but i experience a near -death experience which i indeed understood Buddha's teaching on last thought is true and validOriginally posted by coolbluewater:Would like to ask here on behalf of a friend. He experienced dry lips (sometimes, even ulcers on) each time he finish meditating. Would any seniors here be able to advice on the reason behind and how to overcome?
Back to the topic, I was told by my masters that when u experience supernatural situation during meditation, don't hang on to the feeling, just let go and back to the mindfulness stage.
Of course, I very much like to hear from those who have experienced out of body experience, (ie. how does it feel like and how to deal with it).
No.In buddhism there is no concept of soulOriginally posted by Ito_^:people got souls meh?
no soul then how to reincarnate???Originally posted by neutral_onliner:No.In buddhism there is no concept of soul![]()
Sometimes the word 'soul' causes confusion.Originally posted by Ito_^:people got souls meh?
Pls see Is Rebirth NOT Reincarnation !Originally posted by laoda99:no soul then how to reincarnate???
of all religions and philosophies in the world, only two, Prof. Ariyaratne says, maintains and concurs with the statement that man is devoid of a permanent essence (soul), one is Buddhism and the other is the world view of modern science.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Pls see Is Rebirth NOT Reincarnation !
Originally posted by coolbluewater:
Of course, I very much like to hear from those who have experienced out of body experience, (ie. how does it feel like and how to deal with it).[/b]
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:No.In buddhism there is no concept of soul![]()
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:so the dalai lama never reincarnate?
of all religions and philosophies in the world, [b]only two, Prof. Ariyaratne says, maintains and concurs with the statement that man is devoid of a permanent essence (soul), one is Buddhism and the other is the world view of modern science.
I do not know the current dalai lama's level of attainment.Originally posted by laoda99:so the dalai lama never reincarnate?
so in short..this dalai lama is not the same and not different from the dalai lama last time....so what he is?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I do not know the current dalai lama's level of attainment.
But if he is a Maha Bodhisattva, we say he 'manifest' - in the sense that maha bodhisattvas can choose where to be reborn in order to benefits sentient beings.
If he is still not at that stage, then he is reborn. There is nobody 'reincarnated' according to Buddhism.
The Dalai Lama may not necessarily be of the same person as the past dalai lama but may be someone else who is deemed qualified to take his role.Originally posted by laoda99:so in short..this dalai lama is not the same and not different from the dalai lama last time....so what he is?
Pls see Is Rebirth NOT Reincarnation !Originally posted by laoda99:so in short..this dalai lama is not the same and not different from the dalai lama last time....so what he is?
but if they are not the same person, why there are many instances whereby pple rebirth remember what they did in their past life? Fake memories?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:The Dalai Lama may not necessarily be of the same person as the past dalai lama but may be someone else who is deemed qualified to take his role.
Anyway the current dalai lama is of high spiritual attainments and I have great respect for him.
Not selfOriginally posted by laoda99:but if they are not the same person, why there are many instances whereby pple rebirth remember what they did in their past life? Fake memories?
Btw can u tell mi which part of u can be considered truly u?Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Not self
U are not u one sec ago(u r constanly changing)![]()
i may not know what happen in my body but as far as I am concern, I am still myself leh...i haven turn into something else....Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Btw can u tell mi which part of u can be considered truly u?
in conventional term yesOriginally posted by laoda99:i may not know what happen in my body but as far as I am concern, I am still myself leh...i haven turn into something else....![]()
u haven answer why pple have memories of their previous life, including the monks who are rebirthed...