Yes.Another important point, which the Buddha taught is how to live, work and co-operate with the followers of other religions without disturbing or ridiculing their practices. This liberal and understanding style of religion is very important if we are to live peacefully without religious prejudices, strife and conflicts. The BuddhaÂ’s message of peace and tolerance is indeed remarkable. Tolerance is a glorious virtue. It is essential for the peaceful co-existence of different peoples anywhere and any time.Originally posted by coolbluewater:Reading up on literatures from other faiths doesn't translate into lesser understanding in our own faith.
In one of Venerable Jing Kong's Dharma talks DVD, he adviced buddhists to ask and find out more about other faiths...through asking and finding out we gain more knowledge and virtues in other faiths. This is where mutual understandings is about. Tolerance comes by understanding, thru understanding...mutual love without boundaries arise...this is the glorious virtue in humanity.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Yes.Another important point, which the Buddha taught is how to live, work and co-operate with the followers of other religions without disturbing or ridiculing their practices. This liberal and understanding style of religion is very important if we are to live peacefully without religious prejudices, strife and conflicts. The BuddhaÂ’s message of peace and tolerance is indeed remarkable. Tolerance is a glorious virtue. It is essential for the peaceful co-existence of different peoples anywhere and any time.
thnxsOriginally posted by rahula25:In one of Venerable Jing Kong's Dharma talks DVD, he adviced buddhists to ask and find out more about other faiths...through asking and finding out we gain more knowledge and virtues in other faiths. This is where mutual understandings is about. Tolerance comes by understanding, thru understanding...mutual love without boundaries arise...this is the glorious virtue in humanity.
But humans have the tendency to imply their sets of values on others....who is right or wrong etc..
Religions will only unite when tragic happens as follows.
The inter-religious prayers for Indonesia earthquake victims at PKS is worthwhile attending. If wanna exchange of views among religious groups, there are so many religious leaders willing to help.
IRO (Inter-Religious Organisation)
Singapore Buddhist Lodge
Jamiyah Singapore
HEB (Hindu Endowments Board)
PKS (Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery)
Since not many wanna go...then don't waste time for such outing lah....Go pray to God & Jesus, Allah, Krishna Shiva n buddha etc for relieving those Indonsians suffering better still rite ?? That is more rational...Originally posted by laoda99:actually, I am a Christian, and I dun mind if u want to discuss bible with me haha....
u seem hostile to organiser? haizzz...just one outing and u all buddhists also fight like siao.....how to reach enlightenment...???
outings not easy to organise...not many want to go also....
hmm...then why u have the mood to post here?Originally posted by rahula25:Since not many wanna go...then don't waste time for such outing lah....Go pray to God & Jesus Allah or buddha etc for relieving those Indonsians suffering better still rite ?? That is more rational...
Another volcano eruption gonna happen...thick smoke and molten lava is coming out....imagine such calamities happen in Spore, do U have the mood to discuss religions meh??
why u bother to reply ? haha....Originally posted by laoda99:hmm...then why u have the mood to post here?
do u pray to buddha? tot he not a god?
not really, but i do tink u have a boredom problem.....like many of us here.......Originally posted by rahula25:why u bother to reply ? haha....
yes...I pray for buddha's guidance and blessings...any problem?![]()
Ok....well...if my problem doesn't matters u....leave it..n so be it ! Svaha!! No problem....keke...Originally posted by laoda99:not really, but i do tink u have a boredom problem.....like many of us here.......
i tot it so too.....why some buddhists so hostile here? tot should be friendly and peaceful pple.....Originally posted by neutral_onliner:hey guys pls cool off...as i have alway said tis is a place for friendly disccusion
Originally posted by laurence82:same leh
went over to EH, some people just brush off whatever other people say as rubbish
some people acknowledge their brethren's mistakes, but dont dare speak against it
and we Singaporeans were asking Muslism to speak out against fundamentallists
its take great courage to stand up to our enemy, but it takes even more courage to stand up to our friends - Albus Dumbledore![]()
hahaha , alot leh ... well anything related to buddhism bahOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:wow.. nice start.. care to share wat u all discuss during gathering?
I have a great night meeting up with bohiruci and paper flower for the first time.Originally posted by paperflower:its been nice meeting bohiruci and coolbluewater.
interesting exchange of discussions and sharings.
thanks again for the invite.
looking forward to the next.![]()