I don't see what's wrong with talking about it... And talking about it doesn't means that they ONLY talk about it...??Originally posted by killstyle:i keep seeing you guys post pics of buddhas and arahats. and quoting profound dharma theories and disscussions. which will be good if the person quoting or disscussing really means what he says and understand what he is talking about.
otherwise it will be blind faith and ignorance no different to what many of our christian and muslim brothers are facing now
eh. please dont cheapen the name of dharma. its meant to be felt and experienced oneself. not said and disscused and boasted and sai nais.
surprise surprise you can say that.... Buddhism does not teach faith one lah... blind or otherwise.Originally posted by killstyle:talking and disscusing without understanding is showing off and wanting to look good and feel good.
such ignorant behaviour leads to deception and blind faith. which is dangerous
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Rely on the teaching, not on the person;
Rely on the meaning, not on the words;
Rely on the definitive meaning, not on the provisional;
Rely on your wisdom mind, not on your ordinary mind.
-The Four Reliances
practice doing good; not have faith "in one-self ability to do good. "Originally posted by killstyle:buddishm does teaches faith. the faith in one-self ability to do good and be a good person. fill with good and true intentions . no matter how bad the person once was....
Wow...ImpressiveOriginally posted by killstyle:i keep seeing you guys post pics of buddhas and arahats. and quoting profound dharma theories and disscussions. which will be good if the person quoting or disscussing really means what he says and understand what he is talking about.
dahrma is a very personal thing. its not idol worshipping of a particular famous monk or buddha or arahat. whats important is what have you learnt from their words and actions. its not their person u should focus at. rather its your own understaning you should be focusing.
otherwise it will be blind faith and ignorance no different to what many of our christian and muslim brothers are facing now
eh. please dont cheapen the name of dharma. its meant to be felt and experienced oneself. not said and disscused and boasted and sai nais.
otherwise it will be blind faith and ignorance no different to what many of our christian and muslim brothers are facing nowErr..pls be more tactful here.The christians do visit here hor.Wait kena 'shoot' how
Buddhism is even more profound than that. Not only do you practice good, you transform into a good person. That is called Enlightenment.Originally posted by killstyle:well. i dont know. your experience and mine are different. and its yours and mine alone to be felt and perceived. disscussing on the words alone is meaningless as i say its a personal thing.
Enlightenment is in fact even more profound than that.Originally posted by casino_king:Buddhism is even more profound than that. Not only do you practice good, you transform into a good person. That is called Enlightenment.
I don't understand. How is faith involve here. I am bad; I decided to turn over a new leaf. I cannot turn over a new leaf unless I have faith that I can turn over a new leaf?Originally posted by killstyle:to explan what i mean by faith,
a bad man who had performed countless bad deeds before still can be a good man if he decided to turn over a new leaf, feel his minds with good thoughts, guilty of his past evils and strive to perform good deeds to make up for his guilty self consious
this is 'faith' as taught by the darhma. that is a person can always be a good person. should he decide to be one. its his choice.
this is the faith im talking about
Tell people that you transform into a good person and that is hard enough... they tell you they rather deal with the basics first.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Enlightenment is in fact even more profound than that.
Not only you transform into a good person, you must transform into a Pure and Awakened person. He has developed the supramundane wisdom to see the true nature of reality and is no longer attached to any fetters, he no longer has Greed, Hatred, Ignorance, and he also developes the mundane wisdom to deal with worldly things.
yes tat's rite and i hav been reminding casino to start from basic step by step don 'anyhow' 'anyhow'Originally posted by killstyle:im sorry i dont dwell on things i dont understand such as the word 'enlightment'
its too profound. i believe in mastering the basics first
"your faith to do good?" I don't understand. why do you need faith to do good?Originally posted by killstyle:no. you can still be a good man. even though you are once a bad man. this is your faith to do good and be a good man even though you once commited countless evil, u can still be a good man. if u really turn over a new leaf!!
theres a good nature in all of us. that is to be good and proper and do no evil.
this is taught by the dahrma
Yes you can say so. In other words have the 'confidence'. A great read on this will be Angulimala (I love especially the 5th and 6th paragraph), who killed 999 persons and after meeting the Buddha, he entered the Sangha and attained enlightenment; Arhantship.Originally posted by killstyle:to explan what i mean by faith,
a bad man who had performed countless bad deeds before still can be a good man if he decided to turn over a new leaf, fill his minds with good thoughts, guilty of his past evils and strive to perform good deeds to make up for his guilty self consious
this is 'faith' as taught by the darhma. that is a person can always be a good person. should he decide to be one. its his choice.
this is the faith im talking about
alamak... you very blind one lah... if I may say so myself.Originally posted by neutral_onliner:yes tat's rite and i hav been reminding casino to start from basic step by step don 'anyhow' 'anyhow'![]()
Very true. However by cultivating Buddhism and repenting one's past deeds one can in fact lighten it. (in chinese its called Zhong4 Bao4 Qing1 Shou4) Just like even in court the sentence can be lightened due to situations. Same for the case of Angulimala. He suffered some karmic consequences but that is nothing compared to if he didn't met the Buddha. Then he would really be in great trouble karmically.Originally posted by killstyle:however theres is no salvation or excuses from the past crimes you have done though. the fruit has alreadly been planted. in time to come. u bear the fruits.
u reap the haverst of both good and evil u have planted. ie. u get to bear both types of fruits.
u toking nonsense lah... don't come and disturb lah...Originally posted by Ito_^:u'll understand when u suddenly end up in a lower realm and wonder why.![]()
actually to tell the truth. my knowledge is very rudimentary from my teenage years knowledge. and i dont really practice the 3 prececpts though i have 'gui yi san bao' when i was once a kid.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Very true. However by cultivating Buddhism and repenting one's past deeds one can in fact lighten it. (in chinese its called Zhong4 Bao4 Qing1 Shou4) Just like even in court the sentence can be lightened due to situations. Same for the case of Angulimala. He suffered some karmic consequences but that is nothing compared to if he didn't met the Buddha. Then he would really be in great trouble karmically.