For Buddhism... Understanding is first step, next is to live by and practise (the truth), and eventually to realise the truth yourself..Originally posted by killstyle:actually to tell the truth. my knowledge is very rudimentary from my teenage years knowledge. and i dont really practice the 3 prececpts though i have 'gui yi san bao' when i was once a kid.
but what i really feel is. talk is really cheap. yah. even if im typing this. i still feel good when i see approval which is very immature and unwise. that
'xi rong xin' still there. the heart of a clone or troll.
eh. maybe i go level up 1st b4 i talk more
Originally posted by casino_king:you need confidence (xing4 xin1) to do good. note that the chinese character for believe and confidence is same.
why do you need faith to do good?[/b]
Hi can explain why u feel good when u see approval and that is very immature and even unwise?Originally posted by killstyle:actually to tell the truth. my knowledge is very rudimentary from my teenage years knowledge. and i dont really practice the 3 prececpts though i have 'gui yi san bao' when i was once a kid.
but what i really feel is. talk is really cheap. yah. even if im typing this. i still feel good when i see approval which is very immature and unwise. that
Very true... ego is perhaps one of the biggest obstruction towards spiritual realisation... it is through dissolving the ego that we can realise our true nature.Originally posted by killstyle:never never flatter any one to further yourself or to make yourself look good.
this is decitful. this is what im trying to say.
hmm , you never said anything bad abt Buddhadharma ,you are looking at the resultsOriginally posted by killstyle:actually to tell the truth. my knowledge is very rudimentary from my teenage years knowledge. and i dont really practice the 3 prececpts though i have 'gui yi san bao' when i was once a kid.
What makes u?Originally posted by killstyle:even when i at the bottom of heart hates the dahrma, but speaks well of it. what does it makes me?
talking good and bad is not the main thing. main thing is speaking the truth of how you really feel. without any motives intentions and egos. thats the only way to learn.
Originally posted by sinweiy:
you need [b]confidence (xing4 xin1) to do good. note that the chinese character for believe and confidence is same.
faith in Buddhism is more toward confidence(skt sraddha). ungraded form of believe.
when one reached the level of true faith/confidence/sraddha. what he/she do be it good or wrong will still be wholesome. but for ordinary people, wat they do be it good or wrong, will still be unwholesome. very chim.
/\
Originally posted by casino_king:not very truth. without those major precepts, u canÂ’t attain peace of mind.
This was what I was trying to say in another thread here.
sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=186248&page=14
You see, the precepts can become a hindrence and are hinderences.
Originally posted by casino_king:not very truth. without those major precepts, u canÂ’t attain peace of mind.
This was what I was trying to say in another thread here.
sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=186248&page=14
You see, the precepts can become a hindrence and are hinderences.
Originally posted by killstyle:i keep seeing you guys post pics of buddhas and arahats. and quoting profound dharma theories and disscussions. which will be good if the person quoting or disscussing really means what he says and understand what he is talking about.
dahrma is a very personal thing. its not idol worshipping of a particular famous monk or buddha or arahat. whats important is what have you learnt from their words and actions. its not their person u should focus at. rather its your own understaning you should be focusing.
otherwise it will be blind faith and ignorance no different to what many of our christian and muslim brothers are facing now
eh. please dont cheapen the name of dharma. its meant to be felt and experienced oneself. not said and disscused and boasted and sai nais.
Originally posted by sinweiy:moveover, just heard from MCK: that said of the 4 combinations that form Buddha: precept/jie4 is Buddha's body/sheng1 (u think not all Buddha's disciples uphold precepts? no.); Lui/vinaya is Buddha's conduct; ch'an is Buddha's mind/heart; Jiao/teachings is Buddha's speech. lack of one, Buddha cannot be form.
without those major precepts, u canÂ’t attain peace of mind. [/b]
someone told me before. practicing the 5 precepts is to cultivate your wisdom mind. ie. made you more wiser. something like being 'qin xin gua yi' becosOriginally posted by sinweiy:not very truth. without those major precepts, u canÂ’t attain peace of mind.
what i said there was basic meaning of precepts, ie not harming lifes. (also help if one have confidence in the planes/realms of existence and rebirth).
in the advance meaning of precepts, it is precept that one can attain a Peace of Mind.
if u go for meditation lesson, they will instruct u to talk less, eat less, make the body/mind as light and peaceful as possible. why talk less? say if i talk to u, next moment u walk away, u will still be thinking of the subject. then meditation will be jeopardize.
hence the precepts are instructions for a reason, a reason for achieving Peace, serenity, sever vexation.
How can the precepts be bended/opened? when the resultant weight more harm. example if doctor say, u need to take some wine for ur health, then precept of non-intoxication can be bended. as the resultant of harm to ur body weight more then preventing a right of mind.
example of how Lying can be bended. say if a hunter is chasing after a deer. the deer ran pass u. the hunter ask u where the deer go. u give him the wrong direction. as if u say the truth, the hunter commits killing karma and the deer will end up dead. so u bend the precepts if the resultant cause more harm, when it should be preventing harm.
/\
emptiness and non self is again a term i dont understand and i dont think anyone without a certain level of cultivation would. this is best left undisscussedOriginally posted by Isis:What makes u?
A very confusing person
LOL * Just joking
R u refering to having true intention and being Honest & humble?
Btw No telling lie refer to five percepts. Heh
In dharma, we still need develop mindfulness and wisdom to learn. Sometime to learn more about emptiness and non-self.
However, i feel sometime only by making mistakes can we truly learn. Ego people who exist in the world are for u to learn to be more tolerance and forgiving... and for us to learn to be a better person.
so we shld have been glad... well if u look it there way... =)
We can and should have a conceptual understanding of it. It is not very difficult to understand but to realise it intuitively is another matter.. and requires that we put in effort in our cultivation.Originally posted by killstyle:emptiness and non self is again a term i dont understand and i dont think anyone without a certain level of cultivation would. this is best left undisscussed
I said that precepts have it's place and An Eternal Now correctly said that precepts are useless to "good" people.Originally posted by sinweiy:not very truth. without those major precepts, u canÂ’t attain peace of mind.
what i said there was basic meaning of precepts, ie not harming lifes. (also help if one have confidence in the planes/realms of existence and rebirth).
in the advance meaning of precepts, it is precept that one can attain a Peace of Mind.
if u go for meditation lesson, they will instruct u to talk less, eat less, make the body/mind as light and peaceful as possible. why talk less? say if i talk to u, next moment u walk away, u will still be thinking of the subject. then meditation will be jeopardize.
hence the precepts are instructions for a reason, a reason for aceiving Peace, serenity, sever vexation.
How can the precepts be bended/opened? when the resultant weight more harm. example if doctor say, u need to take some wine for ur health, then precept of non-intoxication can be bended. as the resultant of harm to ur body weight more then preventing a right of mind.
example of how Lying can be bended. say if a hunter is chasing after a deer. the deer ran pass u. the hunter ask u where the deer go. u give him the wrong direction. as if u say the truth, the hunter commits killing karma and the deer will end up dead. so u bend the precepts if the resultant cause more harm, when it should be preventing harm.
/\
Originally posted by casino_king:that's just half enlightened. an enlightened person neither say that the precept is useful non say that it's useless. They are non-dualistic.
When you are Enlightened, you do not have any desire to kill and so the precept is useless.
Haha....isn't this the kind of theory u subscribed also?Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Err..pls be more tactful here.The christians do visit here hor.Wait kena 'shoot' howBe more careful ok pal
Read the locked thread.....Unethical evangelist.....and the thread abt God in Chit Chat....and u will know......Originally posted by Isis:Hi, why do u say there?