yes...and have u read the hot thread in Chit Chat abt God?Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Are you referring to the one about evengelists vandalizing temples?
On the vandalism thread, I have just read the original post by NO. On the God topic in chit chat, I have skimmed the thread only from the point NO started posting...Originally posted by laoda99:yes...and have u read the hot thread in Chit Chat abt God?
Orr...now i know why liao....Originally posted by laoda99:If u continue this way, I suggest u step down from modship at Buddhism Forum.
Do a check on ur threads and it is very provocative abt Theism, and u specifically attack Christianity in ur other threads.
Unethical evangelists, Buddha reject concept of creator god.....who are u trying to kid tat u want peace between Christians and Buddhists?
His track record darn good man...Originally posted by Beyond Religion:On the vandalism thread, I have just read the original post by NO. On the God topic in chit chat, I have skimmed the thread only from the point NO started posting...
You have to know that NO's analogy potentially apply to all monotheistic religions.... why are you so sure that he is "attacking" Christianity?
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Dun act stupid.
Orr...now i know why liao....
u see my pal topic [b]Buddha reject concept of creator god the god is not YOUR christian GOD . Is god in general.Buddhism is at least 500 years b4 christianity.This is the concept of buddhism since b4 the birth of christianity[/b]
provocative new threads in BuddhismOriginally posted by laoda99:if this is the kind of mod buddhists want (the one tat attacks another faith, post provocative new threads in Buddhism), then May Buddha help u all.
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:there r still quite a handful of pples who think buddhists are idol worshippers, supertitious, traditional, backward.. and so on... many asians convert to christianity under these reasons. they (not all) think that christianity is "the" for modern people..fuelled by movies, television, developed western countries with strong christian tradition and so on.. mind you, we, asians love to be modern or at least want to like view ourselves as modern... hence, in short, the mentality is modern = christian.
whereas in the west, buddhism is considered as advanced
As Christianity being modern, I'd say no. As I experiecned things, studied, and observed, I came to the conclusion that Christianity is nothing but a tool to control others and it out of touch with reality and scientific/technogical progress. I have/had issues stemming from those beliefs. I also will not follow a religion that believes that gaining knowledge damned all of humanity down to the last generation.
To me, Buddhism equals freedom
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:seek justice ? wat for ? "Alone of all the great world religions," observes Aldous Huxley, "Buddhism made its way [b]without persecution, censorship or inquisition.";
Until the 15th century Christianity was largely confined to Europe. After this, European armies spread throughout the world forcing their religion on the people they conquered. In most conquered countries (e.g. Sri Lanka, the Philippines, Taiwan and parts of India) laws were passed banning all non-Christian religions. By the late 19th century brute force was no longer used to enforce belief but, under the influence of the missionaries, colonial administrators tried to hinder non-Christian religions as much as possible. Today the spread of Christianity is supported by lavish financial assistance which missionaries get largely from the U.S.A. So Christianity has spread not because of its inherent superiority but because of violence in the past and wealth today.
[/b][/quote]
[quote]Originally posted by neutral_onliner:
God is merciful and forgiving, and yes God is love, and yes God is justice?
"Show No Mercy!" Deut 7:2
"Make no peace!" Deut 7:2
"March to War!" Numbers 32:20
"Ethnic cleanse!" Deut. 20:15
"Commit genocide!" Joshua 10:20
"Enslave!" Lev. 25:44
"Beat to death!" Ex. 21:20
"Kill women and chilldren!" Numbers 31:17, 1 Samuel 15:3
"Kill all prisoners!" Deut 7:2
"Destroy!" Deut. 7:16
"Annihilate!" Deut. 17:29
"Slaughter!" Deut. 13:15, Joshua 8:24
"Devour the nations the lord your god delivers over to you. Show them no pity." Deut. 7:16
etc..etc....
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:regarding concept of heaven and hell.We buddhists hav a veri unique stand.Buddhist never try to introduce Buddhism by frightening people through hell-fire or enticing people by pointing to paradise. Their main idea is character building and mental training. Buddhists can practise their religion without aiming at heaven or without developing fear of hell.
pls read http://www.ksridhammananda.com/pictures/PUBLI/THE%20BUDDHIST%20CONCEPT%20OF%20HEAVEN%20&%20HELL.pdf#search='buddhist%20concept%20of%20heaven%20and%20hell'
happy reading
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Let me preface this by stating that I do not categorically dispute Christianity, nor categorically disdain Christians. Christianity is simply a belief system, and as such is not deserving of an emotional disposition toward it one way or another. Nor can one lump together the behavior of all people who share that belief system.
I am concerned only with the conduct of the individual. Each individual has his or her own views and acts on them uniquely. Therefore, each individual, regardless of religious affiliation or non-affiliation must be understood by his or her own views and actions, not the views and the actions of the group with which he or she is nominally or doctrinally affiliated.
With this said, what is concerning is not specifically Christianity, but the oppressive promotion of the Christian agenda by some of its adherents. Though this motivates this counterargument, the basis is the assertion that it is not the onus of non-Christians to support their case against Christianity, but it is incumbent upon Christians, if they desire others to adhere to their dogma, to prove their case against non-Christianity. Thus far, in 2000 years, they have failed to do so.
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:there r still quite a handful of pples who think buddhists are idol worshippers, supertitious, traditional, backward.. and so on... many asians convert to christianity under these reasons. they (not all) think that christianity is "the" for modern people..fuelled by movies, television, developed western countries with strong christian tradition and so on.. mind you, we, asians love to be modern or at least want to like view ourselves as modern... hence, in short, the mentality is modern = christian.
whereas in the west, buddhism is considered as advanced
As Christianity being modern, I'd say no. As I experiecned things, studied, and observed, I came to the conclusion that Christianity is nothing but a tool to control others and it out of touch with reality and scientific/technogical progress. I have/had issues stemming from those beliefs. I also will not follow a religion that believes that gaining knowledge damned all of humanity down to the last generation.
To me, Buddhism equals freedom
don understanding u...why r u so Intolerance to diff concepts.i alway end up in a 'happy ending' discussions wf my frens (fm other religions not just christians)Originally posted by laoda99:Dun act stupid.
If u all convinced by his "innocence", so be it.Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Laoda, I think you need to cool down a bit lah... Its pretty obvious that your prejudice against NO was built up over some time... and it has exploded now...
NO, I think you should prolly stop replying to Laoda till he has cooled down. In his current state, no words from you can ever change his mind...
Reminds me of a story (Cant rememer the details), where Buddha (or was it one of the famous monks, I cant recall) was falsely accused by a village woman of being her child's father. The entire village was so set that it was that monk's misdoing.... and that monk just kept quiet.....
why not ask ur frens here and see what u write?Originally posted by neutral_onliner:don understanding u...why r u so Intolerance to diff concepts.i alway end up in a 'happy ending' discussions wf my frens (fm other religions not just christians)![]()
so wat's the ptOriginally posted by laoda99:In case some people have short memory......
God is merciful and forgiving, and yes God is love, and yes God is justice?
"Show No Mercy!" Deut 7:2
"Make no peace!" Deut 7:2
"March to War!" Numbers 32:20
"Ethnic cleanse!" Deut. 20:15
"Commit genocide!" Joshua 10:20
"Enslave!" Lev. 25:44
"Beat to death!" Ex. 21:20
"Kill women and chilldren!" Numbers 31:17, 1 Samuel 15:3
"Kill all prisoners!" Deut 7:2
"Destroy!" Deut. 7:16
"Annihilate!" Deut. 17:29
"Slaughter!" Deut. 13:15, Joshua 8:24
"Devour the nations the lord your god delivers over to you. Show them no pity." Deut. 7:16
etc..etc....
well pal just to let U KNOW our disscussion contain MORE stuffs during our coffee breakOriginally posted by laoda99:why not ask ur frens here and see what u write?
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Ok....now I am the cunning one....really har?
u huh veri cunning...u shld noe tat i post tis becos u hav make a BIG CLAIM and all i wanna show u is tat ur so called claim hav CONTRADICTIONS.However u present it in a way as if i'm ...well ...in ur term 'attacking'[/b]
oh....good 4 u then....Originally posted by neutral_onliner:well pal just to let U KNOW our disscussion contain MORE stuffs during our coffee break![]()
well howcome they don hav such reaction like uOriginally posted by laoda99:oh....good 4 u then....
I never implied that. In fact I find that the topic is perfectly fine. But Laoda99 insists that his other threads have problems. I do not want endless arguments so I locked up the thread. If there is anything else to say then create new topic lor.. (like this one)Originally posted by Beyond Religion:I have to say for the record, that I don't think Neutral Onliner did anything wrong (as you implied) by bringing to our attention the plight faced by the Korean Buddhists....
that you don't have to worry, everyone reap what they sow.Originally posted by laoda99:if this is the kind of mod buddhists want (the one tat attacks another faith, post provocative new threads in Buddhism), then May Buddha help u all.
Originally posted by paperflower:although some of the title threads sound controversial and provocative, i don't see anyone need to be tied to the thread and be living in the thread and affected by the thread thus becoming too personal with the thread.
as long as Nuetral Onliner didn't or doesn't slander any religion; and share topics articles URLs that guide us to a better understanding that benefits one's practice to an ethical level,
i support him.
but since the topic is closed, then let it pass. if a topic is closed that can bring peace then so be it. although i feel it is unnecessary to close it.
it was controversial. since a forum is open freely to anyone, it cannot always be in consistency to be peaceful and compromising. many types of feelings can arise at different time and for people who can't easily put things down their chest, they will carry on with the vexations caused by words and the real ugly truth.
I would disagree though that the previous thread was provocative. If I post a thread on Al Qaeda, I doubt muslims will find it provocative too.Originally posted by laoda99:if this is the kind of mod buddhists want (the one tat attacks another faith, post provocative new threads in Buddhism), then May Buddha help u all.
Originally posted by paperflower:although some of the title threads sound controversial and provocative, i don't see anyone need to be tied to the thread and be living in the thread and affected by the thread thus becoming too personal with the thread.
as long as Nuetral Onliner didn't or doesn't slander any religion; and share topics articles URLs that guide us to a better understanding that benefits one's practice to an ethical level,
i support him.
but since the topic is closed, then let it pass. if a topic is closed that can bring peace then so be it. although i feel it is unnecessary to close it.
it was controversial. since a forum is open freely to anyone, it cannot always be in consistency to be peaceful and compromising. many types of feelings can arise at different time and for people who can't easily put things down their chest, they will carry on with the vexations caused by words and the real ugly truth.
for u to pukeOriginally posted by laoda99:Miss Paperflower,
I have been monitoring NO's posts, including those in other forums besides buddhism, and I must say he has a track record of being anti-Christian. I have provided my proof after someone said I did not have any.
When NO just posted the unethical evangelist thread sometime ago, I already voiced my concerns over his provoking ways, and he said peace. However, he still continue until now.
If this is the case, I dun think there is any point of u all posting inter-religious peace threads. It will only make pple puke.