Yah.. nice meeting you tooOriginally posted by longchen:Yah we now 'work' in the same place
Nice meeting you.
'work' meaning wat? y got the ' '?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Just now I met up with longchen (since I and longchen now 'work' at the same place.. hehe..)... discussed a lot of things. Nice meeting
Buddhist you mean....Originally posted by winnie^_^:'work' meaning wat? y got the ' '?
wat u two discussed?
oh... my mum is a Buddhism
u only 16? read your posts... i thou u r ard late 20's...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Buddhist you mean....
Well.. 'work' because I'm actually 16 and not really working lah...
Your mom is a Buddhist? Which monastery/dharma center does she frequent?
Edited. Turned 17 quite recentlyOriginally posted by winnie^_^:u only 16? read your posts... i thou u r ard late 20's...
i thot the correct word to use is Buddhism?
i got no idea...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Edited. Turned 17 quite recently
Buddhism is the religion, like Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, but the followers are called Buddhists, Christians, Muslims, Hindus, etc.
So btw which monastery/dharma center does your mother frequent?
Just updated my previous postOriginally posted by winnie^_^:i got no idea...
u follow your mum religion or?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Just updated my previous post
Hmm but anyway it's good you're starting to learn more about the teachings... rather than just blindly believe.. as Buddha's teachings are meant for all beings for their liberation, wisdom, bliss and enlightenmentnot about blindly believing.. So we should learn and practise the teachings.. Anyway if u got any qns or things u wanna discuss do feel free to discuss here.. and no qns are too stupid haha.
Yea... was brought by my mom to meet my master... that time I was a very late learner as everyone by my age would already know how to speak in proper sentences.. I could only speak in broken words... my master smiled when he see me and gave me a blessing.. then after my master's blessing and taking refuge, I go home and immediately spoke in full sentencesOriginally posted by winnie^_^:u follow your mum religion or?
oh ok... so do u go to the temple or monastery as well?
mayb u got fate with the masterOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Yea... was brought by my mom to meet my master... that time I was a very late learner as everyone by my age would already know how to speak in proper sentences.. I could only speak in broken words... my master smiled when he see me and gave me a blessing.. then after my master's blessing and taking refuge, I go home and immediately spoke in full sentences
I do frequently visit my dharma center for activities like dharma talks either conducted by my local dharma teacher or dharma sharing by one of our students, watching dharma vcd talks (usually either pf another taiwanese dharma teacher or my master), chanting and meditation, they even have singing.. and many things lah.. thats for adult class. Youth class got dharma discussion and even free guitar classes but I din join youth class usually haha... also got children class which obviously I dun go lar..more about my dharma center.. http://www.humanbliss.com.sg/knowledge_activity.htm
Yea... but he passed away due to some unfortunate circumstances though he intended to live until 92 years old... the 'yuan' was not there and he wanted to take some responsibilities for clearing up some of his students' karma.. so he passed away early and that's my first and last time seeing him. But we do know where he is reborn and will also be able to meet him again in future (in his new lifetime)... before he left he also passed on the dharma lineage to many students as well as entasked my taiwanese teacher to continue transmitting the essential dharmas.Originally posted by winnie^_^:mayb u got fate with the master
how u all know where he is reborn to?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Yea... but he passed away due to some unfortunate circumstances though he intended to live until 92 years old... the 'yuan' was not there and he wanted to take some responsibilities for clearing up some of his students' karma.. so he passed away early and that's my first and last time seeing him. But we do know where he is reborn and will also be able to meet him again in future (in his new lifetime)... before he left he also passed on the dharma lineage to many students as well as entasked my taiwanese teacher to continue transmitting the essential dharmas.
Firstly he did indicate some of his details of his next life if im not wrong, as well as having stated his Bodhisattva vows to continue being born again here to save sentient beings. (cheng yuan zai lai) Next, my taiwanese dharma teacher (another one, my master's dharma successor) have visions of him and his family and his life, so he does update our students time to time of his development.Originally posted by winnie^_^:how u all know where he is reborn to?
but i thot Buddhist do not believe in reborn?
oic... quite difficult for me to understd... but i can understd wat u r trying to say...Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Firstly he did indicate some of his details of his next life if im not wrong, as well as having stated his Bodhisattva vows to continue being born again here to save sentient beings. (cheng yuan zai lai) Next, my taiwanese dharma teacher (another one, my master's dharma successor) have visions of him and his family and his life, so he does update our students time to time of his development.
Next, Buddhists believe in rebirth. All samsaric beings are trapped in the cycle of rebirth in samsara... which is the world of sufferings, consisting of six realms. There are three lower realms: Hell, ghost, animals, and three higher realms: Humans, asuras, devas. One is being reborn according to his karma, whether wholesome, unwholesome, or pure karma. Generally one can maintain higher realm rebirths as long as he keeps his precepts, does 10 virtuous deeds, being generous, filial and so on.. whereas one enters the lower realms by breaking precepts, doing evil, etc.
One who attains enlightenment, nirvana, is freed from sufferings in this very lifetime, and is no longer trapped in the cycle of samsara, become freed from all sufferings of samsara and attain the highest lasting bliss of Nirvana. This brings about the question "then how come bodhisattvas and Buddhas come back to samsara"? They do not come back because of their karma, they come back because of compassionate vows to save sentient beings. Arhats are also liberated, but because they walk the path of liberating only himself, they do not have the great vows to save other sentient beings. One who practises the Bodhisattva way will eventually attain Buddhahood. Though these enlightened beings appear in samsara to save sentient beings, they are actually at bliss and does not suffer... though they still manifest Birth, Old Age, Sickness and Death.
Please readOriginally posted by winnie^_^:oic... quite difficult for me to understd... but i can understd wat u r trying to say...
dun worry... we can make it as long as possible... haha.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Anyway finally... Metta Lounge has become this buddhist forum's largest thread in history.. (quite pathetic compared to other forums) oh yes... end of month coming, means ratings at stake again
Aiyo... drop again.. to 59.976.. drop 4 or 5 months in a row..Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Aiyo... rating drop again.. this month's Activity Rating: 62.24
The forum must become more active! So post more, forummers
Ppl seldom post leh... and I think chit chat they rather do in MSNOriginally posted by winnie^_^:dun worry... we can make it as long as possible... haha.
I think we didn't had...Originally posted by paperflower:Hey AEN and bohiruci, did you all have skype discussion on wednesday? i was already in genting and couldn't send out sms to bohiruci that i couldn't make it (cos i thought i would let you know when i get there but realised i didn't have auto-roaming)![]()

Wah.. nice pics... you enjoyed your trip there?Originally posted by paperflower:by the way, here's some pictures i took from my hotel room. it was around 7am plus, i missed the sunrise though.well most of all i liked was the fresh air and beautiful mountain sceneries. the climate is so cooling all the time and i wished we had that here in sg hehee. sometimes the cloud or mists can float and cover the entire montain peak. sorry for the poorly taken photos.
thanksOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Wah.. nice pics... you enjoyed your trip there?
I quite long time never visit liao..
Glad you enjoyed your trip there..Originally posted by paperflower:thanks
i see, maybe you could have a short trip there again some day.
it was my 1st time to visit genting and and it was a pleasant trip. i didn't expect it to be fun and enjoyable. i was hesitant at 1st though. we reached there at 5am 1st day and had to wait till 3pm then could check in hotel. i followed my family to the casino and spent the entire morning there. it's my 1st time to visit a casino too. hehe i'm very sua ku.
the food was expensive, shopping was fine. i love the weather there, it's very cold at night and in the early morning also. the hotel rooms do not have air-con which i can see the reason why hehe... the best is the fresh air and beautiful sceneries. my mother-in-law said it was like staying in heaven...