Originally posted by true|y03:Usually it is because of ignorance of Buddhism. Buddhism, unlike any other religion, does not actually use the element of Fear.
duno if anyone posted this b4, but i am new to this buddhist forum..
I am a devoted buddhist, being influenced by my mum.. but i sometimes wonder.. why issit that older generations seem to make us 'fear' the religion?
For eg if I am curious and ask if Guan Yin is female or male, they would say "dun anyhow say"... i find that very sad as all i wanted was to know more about my religion, but the elders would ask us to be quiet and "beat our mouth" for insolence.That is because they are ignorant, and yet afraid they may be disrespectful.
Are we really offending our Buddhas and gods by saying such things?Not at all.
To me I find that I want to love and not fear my religion, to be proud that our Buddha/gods are approachable as well, not just a "fearful" supreme being. For eg, i like to watch show like Jouney to the West as it brings us more info on our Buddhas, and that they will help us whenever we need them.Journey to the West is a fascinating and great movie, however, many of the elements in that movie is fake. After all, Journey to the West is a fictionous movie. Although Tang Shan Zhang went to India to receive the sutras, the 3 other character: Sun Wu Kong, Zhu Ba Jie, and Sa Sheng are all fictionous characters invented by the writers in the 14th century.
I think that is also the reason why some of my friends are converting to other religions.. The other religion promises fun, encouragement, eternal life etc .. but ours speak of suffering to gain enlightment.. and when we go pray on the big days, we always need to sweat a lot and squeeze pass mountains of people, and be burned by the joss sticksThey are converting because they have no knowledge of Buddhism at all, and sees Buddhism as merely a folks religion that worships all kinds of gods and deities. In reality, Buddhism does not worship anyone, the Buddha, let alone gods and deities. We respect, pay reverence to Buddha, but we do not worship him like some kind of god or deity, although Buddha is higher than any gods and deities (gods and deities learn from Buddha - which is why Buddha is known as the Teacher of Men and Gods).
I feel it's the way the elders are preaching to us. Do you think so?The elders may have been following traditions and cultures without actually knowing the true teachings and purpose of Buddhism, which is a gem. And that is really very unfortunate.
p/s: kindly dun post the long long reasonings for me, too chim for me liao.. if can, put in layman terms k? thxSure. I hope my post has been understandable so far?
Originally posted by true|y03:
I am a devoted buddhist, being influenced by my mum.. but i sometimes wonder.. why issit that older generations seem to make us 'fear' the religion?
For eg if I am curious and ask if Guan Yin is female or male, they would say "dun anyhow say"... i find that very sad as all i wanted was to know more about my religion, but the elders would ask us to be quiet and "beat our mouth" for insolence.
Are we really offending our Buddhas and gods by saying such things?
To me I find that I want to love and not fear my religion, to be proud that our Buddha/gods are approachable as well, not just a "fearful" supreme being. For eg, i like to watch show like Jouney to the West as it brings us more info on our Buddhas, and that they will help us whenever we need them.
I think that is also the reason why some of my friends are converting to other religions.. The other religion promises fun, encouragement, eternal life etc .. but ours speak of suffering to gain enlightment.. and when we go pray on the big days, we always need to sweat a lot and squeeze pass mountains of people, and be burned by the joss sticks
I feel it's the way the elders are preaching to us. Do you think so?
Becos these elders are not buddhistsOriginally posted by true|y03:duno if anyone posted this b4, but i am new to this buddhist forum..
For eg if I am curious and ask if Guan Yin is female or male, they would say "dun anyhow say"... i find that very sad as all i wanted was to know more about my religion, but the elders would ask us to be quiet and "beat our mouth" for insolence.
Are we really offending our Buddhas and gods by saying such things?
To me I find that I want to love and not fear my religion, to be proud that our Buddha/gods are approachable as well, not just a "fearful" supreme being. For eg, i like to watch show like Jouney to the West as it brings us more info on our Buddhas, and that they will help us whenever we need them.
I think that is also the reason why some of my friends are converting to other religions.. The other religion promises fun, encouragement, eternal life etc .. but ours speak of suffering to gain enlightment.. and when we go pray on the big days, we always need to sweat a lot and squeeze pass mountains of people, and be burned by the joss sticks
I feel it's the way the elders are preaching to us. Do you think so?
p/s: kindly dun post the long long reasonings for me, too chim for me liao.. if can, put in layman terms k? thx![]()
Originally posted by OCEANOS:Hi, short and concise history... thanks for sharing with us. There is one slight mistake though, The twelfth-century legend of the Buddhist saint Miao Shan, the Chinese princess who lived in about 700 B.C. and is widely believed to have been Kuan Yin, reinforced the image of the bodhisattva as a female.
[b]Merry Meet true|y03,
Scholars believe that the Buddhist monk and translator Kumarajiva was the first to refer to the female form of Kuan Yin in his Chinese translation of the Lotus Sutra in 406 A.D. Of the thirty-three appearances of the bodhisattva referred to in his translation, seven are female. (Devoted Chinese and Japanese Buddhists have since come to associate the number thirty-three with Kuan Yin.)
Although Kuan Yin was still being portrayed as a male as late as the tenth century, with the introduction of Tantric Buddhism into China in the eighth century during the T'ang dynasty, the image of the celestial bodhisattva as a beautiful white-robed goddess was predominant and the devotional cult surrounding her became increasingly popular. By the ninth century there was a statue of Kuan Yin in every Buddhist monastery in China.
Despite the controversy over the origins of Kuan Yin as a feminine being, the depiction of a bodhisattva as both 'god' and 'goddess' is not inconsistent with Buddhist doctrine. The scriptures explain that a bodhisattva has the power to embody in any form--male, female, child, even animal depending on the type of being he is seeking to save. As the Lotus Sutra relates, the bodhisattva Kuan Shih Yin, "by resort to a variety of shapes, travels in the world, conveying the beings to salvation."
The twelfth-century legend of the Buddhist saint Miao Shan, the Chinese princess who lived in about 700 B.C. and is widely believed to have been Kuan Yin, reinforced the image of the bodhisattva as a female. During the twelfth century Buddhist monks settled on P'u-t'o Shan--the sacred island-mountain in the Chusan Archipelago off the coast of Chekiang where Miao Shan is said to have lived for nine years, healing and saving sailors from shipwreck--and devotion to Kuan Yin spread throughout northern China.
This picturesque island became the chief center of worship of the compassionate Saviouress; crowds of pilgrims would journey from the remotest places in China and even from Manchuria, Mongolia and Tibet to attend stately services there. At one time there were more than a hundred temples on the island and over one thousand monks. The lore surrounding P'u-t'o island recounts numerous appearances and miracles performed by Kuan Yin, who, it is believed, reveals herself to the faithful in a certain cave on the island.
In the Pure Land faction of Buddhism, Kuan Yin forms part of a ruling triad that is often depicted in temples and is a popular theme in Buddhist art. In the center is the Buddha of Boundless Light, Amitabha (Chinese, A-mi-t'o Fo; Japanese, Amida). To his right is the bodhisattva of strength or power, Mahasthamaprapta, and to his left is Kuan Yin, personifying his endless mercy.
Buddhist theology Kuan Yin is sometimes depicted as the Holder of the "Bark of Salvation," guiding souls to Amitabha's Western Paradise, or Pure Land--the land of bliss where souls may be reborn to receive continued instruction toward the goal of enlightenment and perfection. The journey to Pure Land is frequently represented in woodcuts showing boats full of Amitabha's followers under Kuan Yin.
Ignorance & Superstitions create Fear in many. Buddha is in your heart not only through words or actions. Religion is individual, everyone has a choice in following what they feel most comfortable with. All religions teaches the Good of Mankind. Respecting the elders while holding on to your own beliefs & faith perhaps is what you should do. Perceive with your heart not just through you naked eye. Thanks.
Blessed Be,
Oceanos [/b]
You can show her buddhist website in chinese if she is interested in it.Originally posted by true|y03:wow..... thanks u all for replying, have a much much better understanding liao
wish my mum can read eng, then can show her
thanks againnow i know i no need to fear for asking the "wrong" things
if got question i ask again =)

no leh, she very kang4 ju4 when I bring those books home..she ask me dun anyhow take, in case got gong taoOriginally posted by justdoit77:bring her to mahayana temple where they have plenty of buddhism book or dharma talk.
The best way to repay your parents' kindness is to let them know about buddhism.
I suggest you bring her to attend a dharma talk in a more established temple let's say kuang ming san www.kmspks.org.Originally posted by true|y03:no leh, she very kang4 ju4 when I bring those books home..she ask me dun anyhow take, in case got gong taocoz the books usually free ma..
then got so many buddha ard, she also ask me dun anyhow pray.. she say what i just listen lor.. mayb iz more of superstitious than religious...
path seeker, thanks, but what u post a bit too chim for me leh![]()
Aiyo.. Buddhist book where got Gong Tao one.Originally posted by true|y03:no leh, she very kang4 ju4 when I bring those books home..she ask me dun anyhow take, in case got gong taocoz the books usually free ma..
then got so many buddha ard, she also ask me dun anyhow pray.. she say what i just listen lor.. mayb iz more of superstitious than religious...
path seeker, thanks, but what u post a bit too chim for me leh![]()