Cundi Bodhisattva if I am not wrong is a manifestation of Avalokitesvara but someone can confirm that for me.Originally posted by NT2:chun ti n thousand arms guan yin got wat diff
Which temple? Are you sure it is a Buddhist monastery?Originally posted by NT2:I used to past by a buddhist temple kitchen and realise they also have 'kitchen god'
care to elabourate on this more?
forgot liao.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Which temple?
Maybe not Buddhist monastery?Originally posted by NT2:forgot liao.
it is. the 'kitchen god' altar is not the taoist kind one....perhaps there r some buddhist versions?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Maybe not Buddhist monastery?
Buddhism don't have kitchen god. And altars doesn't mean whether it is Taoist or Buddhist wat.Originally posted by NT2:it is. the 'kitchen god' altar is not the taoist kind one....perhaps there r some buddhist versions?
of coz i knw buddhism dun have, jus wanna knw wats tt lor. hahaOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Buddhism don't have kitchen god. And altars doesn't mean whether it is Taoist or Buddhist wat.
Next time you see a temple maybe note down the name or location.
thanksOriginally posted by bohiruci:if it is not kitchen god
it could be kinnara ,the guardian of kitchen
it is a bodhisattva emanation
well not much resource so i have to hunt and show your ...
please be patient![]()
hw come he dun look like a shaolin monk at allOriginally posted by bohiruci:It is kind of surprise i found some info why zen and buddhist monastery tends to put Kimnara
here you are
http://www.kungfu-supply.nl/simon/China/shaolin_frame/jinnaluo_tang.htm
"Prince Kimnara, surnamed Xu, became a Buddhist monk of Shaolin in the Yuan Dynasty. After hard learning and devoted practice, he finally succeeded in becoming a Guardian Bodhissattva of Shaolin Temple. There used to be three statues of Prince Kimnara in the hall, one made of rattan, one cast in bronze and one in iron, and on both sides there used to be two stones tablets with Kinmara's image engraved on them during the Northern Period. The original hall was destroyed by war in 1928. It was rebuild and repainted in 1982 after the original model. Three new statues of Prince Kimnara were recast."
I suggested the Yuan Dynasty is incorrect .. Becos yuan dynasty is immediately after Song Dynasty
I believe it is in either Eastern Jin Dynasty
Northern Period is after the fall of Eastern Jin Dynasty