you can see your past life? what were you in your previous life?Originally posted by maggot:Should I seek those who know me in my past lives?
Should I tell them who they were in past lives?![]()
A human. An AsianOriginally posted by Cenarious:you can see your past life? what were you in your previous life?
And?Originally posted by maggot:A human. An Asian![]()
No one will believe this so no point tellingOriginally posted by Cenarious:And?
Hi again, I just wanted to confirm something. Do all Buddhists pray to their ancestors? Is praying to your ancestors a fundamental of true buddhism?Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Yes.They are folk practisioners or wat we called "Joss-Stick Buddhists".There is misconception that Buddhists are superstitious people who worship idols, pray to deities, burn hell notes and incenses, hold intense blind faith on talisman and rituals.They had mistakenly considered themselves Buddhists when they had actually known nothing about the precious teachings of our Original Teacher, the Lord Sakyamuni Buddha. All they knew were some fundamentals' rituals, festivals and practices of the Chinese Culture.
Pls oso read
Buddhism's draw is no longer as a folk religion
Buddhism In Singapore
won't you be praying to a pig if your ancestor got reborn as a pig?Originally posted by SumOne:Hi again, I just wanted to confirm something. Do all Buddhists pray to their ancestors? Is praying to your ancestors a fundamental of true buddhism?
Worshipping ancestors was never taught in Buddhism, it is a form of Chinese practise.Originally posted by SumOne:Hi again, I just wanted to confirm something. Do all Buddhists pray to their ancestors? Is praying to your ancestors a fundamental of true buddhism?
yes.i think it really depend on which culture background the buddhists come from.There chinese buddhists, ang mo buddhists , indian buddhists, jewish buddhists etc...all have their unique ways of paying respects to their ancestors.As AEN had explained it is not "fundamental to Buddhism", but more like what one should.And i think coming from asian culture background we should do it.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Worshipping ancestors was never taught in Buddhism, it is a form of Chinese practise.
Paying respects to ancestors is taught by Buddha. It is not "fundamental to Buddhism", but more like what one should. Paying respects through the Chinese way is OK.
then there'd be no reason to get the brothel license you want to get now.Originally posted by maggot:What if the whole world become monks and nuns?
End of human race?![]()
Hi,Originally posted by bohiruci:dear all,
now in the Philippines typing to your
It okay to have doubts in Buddhism .Buddha encourage spirti of free enquiry
I used to have doubts in Buddhism until I read and practise what Buddha taught
now my heart is filled with compassion and equanmity for others more unfortunate .especially in the squatters of Philippines .
Buddhism taught me to analyse and open up view to infinite ways to solve problem and it will always be![]()
What teaching is it?Originally posted by bazi:Hi,
After reading the entire threat, I think this is the answer that really represent buddhism.
For my knowledge of Buddhism, it is like a book that teaches u all the good behaviours and practices in life. Someone might say it is so easy, we r practicing all our life! But when u think carefully and analyse it, it is not wat u think. It is easier to say than do!
My aim is to practise Buddhism as much as possible in my life, day in and day out, but I can tell u, it is quite difficult!
For me, it is not a religion, it is basically a teaching!
do you want to be a monk or nun first?Originally posted by maggot:What if the whole world become monks and nuns?
End of human race?![]()
Trust me, it can never happen.Originally posted by maggot:What if the whole world become monks and nuns?
End of human race?![]()
Because I have no past.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Don't get what you mean.
I mean, they didn't know anything about it before hand, but after remembering their past lives, they checked out and found that reality corresponds what they remember.
You sound to me like you want very badly to look special.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Because I have no past.
Oei, living for so long liao, havn't have an idea what's my past life. What's the probability that I have no past?Originally posted by Cenarious:You sound to me like you want very badly to look special.
Don't remember doesn't mean don't have. When you are young, you may have some memories, but don't know how to write it down or communicate with others. Generally it's easier to remember when younger.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Oei, living for so long liao, havn't have an idea what's my past life. What's the probability that I have no past?
What's the difference with not having a past life and not remebering your past life? When I said I don't have one, I don't have a past life.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Don't remember doesn't mean don't have. When you are young, you may have some memories, but don't know how to write it down or communicate with others. Generally it's easier to remember when younger.
Then you should have said "I have no past lives". Everyone has a past. I had curry puffs this morning.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Oei, living for so long liao, havn't have an idea what's my past life. What's the probability that I have no past?
Someone can have amnesia, or maybe hit his head into something and lose his memories, and later gradually recall back his memories. So if you hit your head at 40 years old and forgot who you were for the past 40 years, it doesn't mean for the past 40 years you weren't human.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What's the difference with not having a past life and not remebering your past life? When I said I don't have one, I don't have a past life.
AEN, what talking you? I don't have amnesia.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Someone can have amnesia, or maybe hit his head into something and lose his memories, and later gradually recall back his memories. So if you hit your head at 40 years old and forgot who you were for the past 40 years, it doesn't mean for the past 40 years you weren't human.
You don't have, but you forgotten your past life, and that is just like amnesia, but that doesn't mean you cannot recall it again some time in future.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:AEN, what talking you? I don't have amnesia.