Oh and you have to take into account that some people are just plain immatureOriginally posted by laurence82:But i am now seeing some Buddhists who are very mean, sarcastic and engage in deceits towards others, and felt themselves fully justified
This is the sad part.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh and to add on.. if people persist in such non-buddhist behaviors.. pls dont act as if you are devoted in Buddhism, you are creating bad karma for yourself and giving ppl a very bad impression.
need to differentiate between the dharma itself and the people who claim to practise or associate with itOriginally posted by laurence82:Actually, I had never seen it before
But i am now seeing some Buddhists who are very mean, sarcastic and engage in deceits towards others, and felt themselves fully justified
I am quite saddened actually
Btw, these are not my doubts on Buddhism, in case people again, want to take chance to take potshots.![]()
Yesterday on Chn55 5.30 pm got show Journey to the West, last episodeOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh and you have to take into account that some people are just plain immature![]()
Come to think, no one is perfect.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually, I had never seen it before
But i am now seeing some Buddhists who are very mean, sarcastic and engage in deceits towards others, and felt themselves fully justified
I am quite saddened actually
Btw, these are not my doubts on Buddhism, in case people again, want to take chance to take potshots.![]()
Actually hor, how not be 'affected' by them? If not affected, then you wouldnt realise there is a need to bring them to right path and show them compassion and wisdowm liaoOriginally posted by Isis:Come to think, no one is perfect.
Even office politics, power struggle and back-stabbing occurs in religious organisation.
"Full justified" - are people who lack wisdom and having ignorance; they are also creating suffering for others and themselves.
It is important to have some compassionate and wisdom when dealing with them. It is also important not to be affected by them.
depend i thinkOriginally posted by Xprobe:there is a difference between acknowledging their ways and being attached & directed by them
once you start to have a "urge" to do something about it, your cycle of suffering begins
actually what i mean by not 'affected', is having the wrong attachment.Originally posted by laurence82:Actually hor, how not be 'affected' by them? If not affected, then you wouldnt realise there is a need to bring them to right path and show them compassion and wisdowm liao
hmmm...Originally posted by Xprobe:just got to observe if circumstances are ripe to show them the light, when you force it against the karma of that moment, you only create problems for both yourself and them, which is unwise
actually, i just usually cast them as helpless and just avoid, bearing grudges....no timeOriginally posted by Isis:exactly what i mean by not 'affected', is having the wrong attachment.
u can try practise: Don't harbour grudges towards them. Having compassionate thought helps. Forgive them.
ok.. no comment =] Neutrality is better than having grudges.Originally posted by laurence82:actually, i just usually cast them as helpless and just avoid, bearing grudges....no time![]()
coz its a good reason to avoidOriginally posted by Isis:ok.. no comment =] Neutrality is better than having grudges.
but why bother to even cast them as helpless?
this "brainwashing" method doesnt always work because you are trying to force and replace what you already experienced with a different perspective, it does not address the rootOriginally posted by laurence82:actually, i just usually cast them as helpless and just avoid, bearing grudges....no time![]()
disenchanted.. cant be bothered in other words mah ?Originally posted by laurence82:coz its a good reason to avoid
hmm i shall say, good excuse rather..like i said, bo si gan
disenchanted is quite different from cant be bothered i thinkOriginally posted by Isis:disenchanted.. cant be bothered in other words mah ?
so it is can't be bothered la?Originally posted by laurence82:disenchanted is quite different from cant be bothered i think
Depends on you lor...Originally posted by laurence82:disenchanted is quite different from cant be bothered i think
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:By the way what tradition is your mother from, or what Venerable does your mother take refuge under?
Ok as for chanting sutras, my master used to say, chanting is not as good as understanding the sutra, and understanding the sutra is not as good as really practising the sutra and even higher level, the sutra must lead us to Insight, to enlightenment. Chanting sutras is a good practise.. why? Because even if we do not understand the sutra completely now, we plant a deep karmic seed of the teachings of the Buddha into our consciousness and when conditions are there the seed will ripen and we will gain insight. Furthermore chanting sutras have its own vast merits, so if people chant sutras we should encourage them.
But true Buddhists shouldn't just stop at chanting, I think you understand what I mean.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:In regards to 'asking favours'... still ultimately is your karma. But in Mahayana Buddhism it is also possible to pray for certain changes as long as it is not against the principles of Buddhism, and I posted this recently in: can fate be changed?
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Just some point to take note.In stark contrast to the world's other major religions, however, Buddhism invokes no divinity, no supreme gods to whom we might appeal for salvation.Instead, Buddhism calls for us to hoist ourselves up by our own bootstraps to develop the discernment we need to distinguish between those qualities within us that are unwholesome and those that are truly noble and good, and to learn how to nourish the good ones and expunge the bad. This is the path to Buddhism's highest perfection, nibbana. Not even the Buddha can take you to that goal.You alone must do the work necessary to complete the journey