Hi to all,Originally posted by NT2:i like the way u suspect things.
there is no truth except in Jesus Christ.
the purpose of this thread is to put together wat buddhist claimed and what i come across. i do not wish to entertain your foolish observations and set of thinking about me.
I guess the last sentence is the most hilarious statement i have seen throughout my life. I was a buddhist mind you.
I fully agree. NT2 appears to be taking the same direction and heading the same place as Dave... (but at least NT can spellOriginally posted by neutral_onliner:Hi to all,
This is the great tragedy of Christianity - the stronger the Christian's faith in Jesus the more partisan, bigoted and intolerant he usually becomes. What a relief it is to be able to Take Refuge in the Buddha and still be able to respect and admire Lao Tzu , the Prophet Mohamrned, Krishna, Guru Nanak, etc. How pleasant it is to be able to communicate with others without the need to be always trying to convert them. How nice it is to be able to be happy when one sees others happy with their religion. Some christians are intolerant because it is obsessed with Jesus and excludes everyone who does not accept him. Buddhism is tolerant because it treasures wisdom and compassion and can embrace anyone, whatever their religion, who is developing these qualities.
It is however noteworthy that negative actions by a few can actually be very ‘loud’. It is for this reason that our Muslim friends have received such negative publicity… Prior to me meeting my HOD, I have perhaps met only a handful of ‘bad’ Christians…. But these bad apples left a far deeper impression than the multitude of the decent ones I have met.... and now NT2 is stirring up trouble here... Sigh!
Hi,Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Hi to all,
This is the great tragedy of Christianity - the stronger the Christian's faith in Jesus the more partisan, bigoted and intolerant he usually becomes. What a relief it is to be able to Take Refuge in the Buddha and still be able to respect and admire Lao Tzu , the Prophet Mohamrned, Krishna, Guru Nanak, etc. How pleasant it is to be able to communicate with others without the need to be always trying to convert them. How nice it is to be able to be happy when one sees others happy with their religion. Some christians are intolerant because it is obsessed with Jesus and excludes everyone who does not accept him. Buddhism is tolerant because it treasures wisdom and compassion and can embrace anyone, whatever their religion, who is developing these qualities.
Mm stronger christian's faith might not lead to bigotedness and intolerant..Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Hi to all,
Actually if he is stating his own view it is ok (his reply about Jesus and Christianity is in reply to lau and me, so he is not being pushy). He has not yet started flaming in this topic so I think we should give him some slack.Originally posted by Beyond Religion:... and now NT2 is stirring up trouble here... Sigh!
Ofcourse...that's why i said 'Some Christians'Originally posted by Isis:Mm stronger christian's faith might not lead to bigotedness and intolerant..
Ok...anyway this incident reminds us that Buddha also wanted to cultivate humanity according to certain moral and ethical codes, discipline, and character. This is to be achieved without resorting to temptations provided by promises of heaven or to fear by threats of hell fire. That is why this religion is described as a religion of freedom and reason. The Buddha encouraged us to learn with an open mind to investigate and to understand the world. We must accept nothing at once on mere faith. The Buddha says, "Do not accept anything through mere faith because it will make it difficult for you to understand the truth, because that faith can make you a blind follower.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Actually if he is stating his own view it is ok (his reply about Jesus and Christianity is in reply to lau and me, so he is not being pushy). He has not yet started flaming in this topic so I think we should give him some slack.
Originally posted by neutral_onliner:Yes true..
Ok...anyway this incident reminds us that Buddha also wanted to cultivate humanity according to certain moral and ethical codes, discipline, and character. This is to be achieved without resorting to temptations provided by promises of heaven or to fear by threats of hell fire. That is why this religion is described as a religion of freedom and reason. The Buddha encouraged us to learn with an open mind to investigate and to understand the world. We must accept nothing at once on mere faith. The Buddha says, "Do not accept anything through mere faith because it will make it difficult for you to understand the truth, [b]because that faith can make you a blind follower.
This kind of blind faith can lead to religious fanaticism. People react emotionally to their religious authorities rather than deciding rationally whether something is true or false because they have not developed analytical knowledge in their minds to understand why they should uphold certain moral practices and why they should keep away from certain immoral practices.
Amitabha group recite for Amitabha buddha when death is near..... sound alikeOriginally posted by longchen:I have a question?
If by God's Grace anyone can go to heaven if given the right way of salvation... does that mean that very-unpleasant people can be there as well.
If all the unpleasant people are there, can we still enjoy heaven. Think of the person you dislike the most (like your boss) and he/she is there in heaven with you as well. Will that still be heaven?
Originally posted by solomon1983:ya lor ya lor...
Amitabha group recite for Amitabha buddha when death is near..... sound alike
will that still be Pure-land
i know i know...lotus..rite![]()
indeed..indeed...pureland is pure when the minds are pureOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:The pure land teaching says only when mind is pure the land is pureSo if people's minds there are not pure it cannot be called pure land anymore...
So everyone in pure land when the 'lotus flower blossom and sees the Buddha', their minds are already pure.
Originally posted by solomon1983:Oh you mean in Christianity they have this lotus thingie too?
indeed..indeed...pureland is pure when the minds are pure
that's why Pureland need [b]Pure lotus or others to create or prepare 'those wana to be pure' who are not pure yetrite...In addition, putting these kinds of people(inquest...unqualified...not so pure
) inside the lotus,might.. take a long long period of times to be pure then rejoin the pure people...
SAME method goes to the source or GOD's heaven[/b]
From the pic, if a Buddhist monk was there would imply he is joining in the rites, do i assume if a Christian would worship money because i see pastors earning richly? This analogy is correct.He didn't say the monk was participating in the rites. He was saying to even be at the rites is doubtful, because we're told not to go to to that particular sharira exibition as instructed by the dalai lama.
True to what I also said about AEN replying his questions unceasingly. Again, you made assumptions. If the remarks so called goad him and hurt him, that is your view, not the truth. He can be unbothered and simply replied what is his point. Somehow, more like you are the one who got bothered, not him.Alright other than the pastor analogy which ones are wrong? Paste them here and I shall elaborate for you.
Again, you called these as trolling and prejudiced because you said so, yet you cant prove how they are trollish and prejudiced. Imagine I come to you and simply put labels on you simply because I said so, would you be happy with that?Which ones do you need me to prove, paste a few here but not too many.
The part of hanging around in EH, it is irrelevant. You are merely latching on his words to cast personal remarks, not an objective answer.Do you deny that you frequent EH? That was all I was saying.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Oh you mean in Christianity they have this lotus thingie too?
Oic..Originally posted by solomon1983:...hehhehhe...lotus
not same method...Similiar way to purify the souls... in gnostic gospels
Obviously, from your post you have not been reading or know Christianity. Even he said he cannot be tolerant of other 'truths'. Therefore, posting from his POV is correct. Otherwise, you would simply blame me on using my own method of analysis instead.Being intolerant of other "truths" doesn't mean you cannot look at them and study them.
last point is together with the point above. from a chrisian POV, buddhism is all wrong. there is not a need to piece together. Its does not add value, even to his own understanding. Which is why i mooted the idea of him joining Buddhism, since he is so curious. Again, nothing wrong.Does knowing about warcraft lore add any value to me? Does reading a fiction book add value to me?
Clearly, none of your points is anything on how my posts are trolling. You are merely putting labels into half of your posts. You took one statement and called it trolling. Wow, up to now you have not learnt what is the difference between a statement and a reason.It is only because of your low comprehension skills that you fail to see it. Do you even know what trolling is?
To continueDo you have a problem with being boliao? Why are you on sgforums then?
Which is why i said its a clash of inner values
They are all wrong in Christian POV anyway, you learn for what? Buddhist are willing learners, then I would agree. Are you TS?
Your analogy about warlore is moot and irrelevant. Actually it means you are damn boliao to read comic books if you find they dont add value, Similarly, using this logic, TS must be bo liao to post this topic?
Lastly, you only know how to call them trolling. Do you know what is trolling? Again personal attacks by saying people have low comprehension skills.I already explained it in an earlier post, the one with bolds and italics. What can I do if you conveniently ignore them?
Originally posted by Cenarious:a) Truth hurts, strange, since when you do care for people feelings?
[b]a) My remarks about the pastor analogy is wrong
Being a jerk or trolling means annoying people. Your analogy may be right I know, but it's still trolling.
b) Which part is trolling or prejudiced? At 12.40 am you remarked about my analogy is prejudiced, for example, yet you can prove.
I can't do anything if you conveniently ignore what I have typed for you.
c) You conveniently ignored my post when i pointed out how invaluable to a Christian to start this topic, about reconciling claims and deeds. So where is the objective to learn by asking questions here?
See the other post
d) Time to time, you called me names, yet I have not done that to you.
So? Why can't I call you names?
e) You have diverted from issues, by making irrelevant posts, such as 'Remember what we agreed about trolling? Being a jerk is one of the criteria. ' which is irrelevant to the pastors analogy. [/b]
Since you like to label me having reverse midas touch for crapping in threads, to you i guess bo liao is not good. Besides, would TS admit he makes bo liao topic such as this?Originally posted by Cenarious:I already explained it in an earlier post, the one with bolds and italics. What can I do if you conveniently ignore them?