I think BWB will have more attention because of Atheism forumOriginally posted by Herzog_Zwei:And thus less moderation needed in BWB.![]()
one of the most logical explanation i've come across!Originally posted by longchen:Just an opinion...
Most people are wholly engaged in symbols and concepts. Atheists are also engaged in the symbolisms associated with 'prove' , 'evidence', 'science' and so on and so forth. I believe January is an engineering or science students if i am not wrong.
The problem is... when we engage in discussions, we also need to use symbols and concepts. So what happened is that, symbolism is actually re-inforced in the discusssion process. Therefore, it is very difficult to convince another.... because the conceptual/symbolic realm is not the place to find the answer.
Because your mod powers are forcing people to believe in your idealogy.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I think BWB will have more attention because of Atheism forum
Anyway a sidenote, I haven't had a need to exercise my moderation power in this forum (edit posts, close topics) for several months.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Because your mod powers are forcing people to believe in your idealogy.
yes...Just like Buddha told his followers that debates about the existence of God are futile and in the end will only take them away from concentrating on more important issues.Originally posted by yamizi:Agree with laoda99.
I believe there are a few threads showing the scientific evidence of rebirth, although I don't agree to all of those.
However I believe Lord Buddha would rather us spending time in comprehending His words and living it.
And yes, Omniknight is right that we shouldn't dwell too much in rebirth. It's our actions, speech and thoughts that in the present and now matters the most.
Personally I think Lord Buddha would like people to believe in His teachings as in a way to improve one's quality of life and one's spirituality, rather than debating over the credibility of the scientific evidence on rebirth.
Yet the topic of God is sooo popular and debates are endlessOriginally posted by neutral_onliner:yes...Just like Buddha told his followers that debates about the existence of God are futile and in the end will only take them away from concentrating on more important issues.
Science probably evolved because we need to improve our problem solving abilities and pass on knowledge, learnt during the problem solving process, to other generations.
cos God is ultimate power and people love powerOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Yet the topic of God is sooo popular and debates are endless
At the rate they're going, they're definitely going to enter Top 20 forums![]()
No wonder your writing style so familiarOriginally posted by Omniknight:cos God is ultimate power and people love power
BTW im eric cartman my account got banned
I think this is because the concept of a "God" profess to offer people an avenue to rid themselves of Dukkha without the need to go through the trouble of cultivating oneself. Its a shortcut of sorts, like a backdoor approach to ending sufferings.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Yet the topic of God is sooo popular and debates are endless
At the rate they're going, they're definitely going to enter Top 20 forums![]()
What do you want to cultivate??Originally posted by Beyond Religion:I think this is because the concept of a "God" profess to offer people an avenue to rid themselves of Dukkha without the need to go through the trouble of cultivating oneself. Its a shortcut of sorts, like a backdoor approach to ending sufferings.
Opium!!Originally posted by Omniknight:What do you want to cultivate??
Which part of forced indoctrination you don't understand?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:![]()
I don't understand what you mean by 'force indoctrination'.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Which part of forced indoctrination you don't understand?![]()
Your moderation of my posting in the metta chatbox thread. Technically, it is a valid point of discussion, although unorthodox.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:I don't understand what you mean by 'force indoctrination'.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:What moderation of your post?
Your moderation of my posting in the metta chatbox thread. Technically, it is a valid point of discussion, although unorthodox.
Your insistance that rebirth is an actual reality while it is still not a proven fact thus concluding that it is a true experience of all human lives.Like I said, there's proof, stop denying facts.
I sense attacks channelled to Buddhism forum as EH become quiter nowOriginally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Your moderation of my posting in the metta chatbox thread. Technically, it is a valid point of discussion, although unorthodox.
Your insistance that rebirth is an actual reality while it is still not a proven fact thus concluding that it is a true experience of all human lives.
I am also sensing attacks to the Atheism forum by the Buddhists leh.Originally posted by laoda99:I sense attacks channelled to Buddhism forum as EH become quiter now![]()
Attacks?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:I am also sensing attacks to the Atheism forum by the Buddhists leh.
Relax bro dun be too sensitiveOriginally posted by laoda99:I sense attacks channelled to Buddhism forum as EH become quiter now![]()
No lah, Herzog does not target Buddhism... rather he will just argue for argument's sakeOriginally posted by laoda99:I sense attacks channelled to Buddhism forum as EH become quiter now![]()
Applications,dude.Originally posted by Beyond Religion:No lah, Herzog does not target Buddhism... rather he will just argue for argument's sake![]()