but how do we know our true nature?among other things like rebirth and karma which you can see in the previous thread...
i am blur liao... it's ok... actually i wan to learn how to be a better person first... all these teachings u mentioned is too tough for me to understand...
i do read books about all these and i dun understd at all...
What "circle" or "cycle of life and death" means in Buddhism, is that sentient beings are constantly being reborn in Samsara - the world of sufferings. They are always reborn again in the 6 realms of existence in samsara, according to their karma. Samsara is full of pain and sufferings, even in the Human Existence we have to go through Birth, Ageing, Sickness and Death, and the eight distresses. But even if you are born in a royal family, or even in the celestial/heaven realms, samsaric pleasures are still disatisfactory because of its transiency/impermanence... and by attaching to these transient pleasures thinking they are real and truly existent, permanent, we create even more sufferings. We suffer as we do not know that all compounded phenomena are empty of inherent, permanent, separate existence... and that all arises out of conditions and are always transient. Therefore the Buddha taught that suffering and disatisfactoriness is a fundamental truth in life (i.e first noble truth), however he also teaches the cause of suffering and the solution (second, third, fourth noble truth), the path leading to the liberation from these sufferings.Awakening is to directly realise our primordially pure Buddha Nature... or pristine awareness. As _wanderer_ nicely wrote regarding anger..
Ultimately, through dharma practise one will realise and experience/get in touch with one's primordial state of pure awareness, or one's Buddha Nature, which is like a clear bright mirror reflecting everything we experience in the world. This is just an analogy (and not a very good one since ultimately even the mirror is not a separate entity from its reflection, but rather it is a form of moment-to-moment 'participatory' awareness). It is also an all pervading presence of 'yourself' connected with the universe, so in this state of pure awareness there is actually no seperation between you and me or the universe, and everything is just spontaneous arising of this pure awareness, and we and all Buddhas are all one in a sense. Sentient beings cannot become liberated from samsara because they are tied down by the bondage of their ignorance and karmic propensities... due to an illusion of duality (means subject-object separation) or a false sense of self, sentient beings are constantly grasping on things and craving for samsaric pleasures and existence, thus undergoing never ending suffering. The 'self' is merely an illusion, based on identification with the 5 skhandas, which is why the Buddha taught about no self. If we were to investigate, we will not find 'self' in the 5 skhandas (five aggregates), or our sensory experiences, or even in our thoughts, and therefore it would be meaningless to grasp on this fictitious idea, which is the root of all ignorance, afflictive emotions and sufferings. Through dharma practise one can also transcend this attachment through insights and awakening. Not only are we being reborn lifetime are lifetime, we are constantly reborn moment after moment even in this very life. This is because of our illusion and attachment to our 'self' and our sentient thoughts (our identification and attachment to thoughts and things caused by ignorance), and the process of identification with a 'self' is continued without an ending until we attain insights and enlightenment. To gain these insights we have to practise the eightfold path in our lives.
So therefore in Buddhism, Buddha showed us the path leading to the complete ending of all sufferings, finding the abiding purity and bliss of Nirvana, to become liberated from the cycle of rebirth in Samsara. Buddha taught that the Buddhas of past and future all teach Buddhism as "avoid all evil, doing all good, and purifying the mind". Most religions only teach "avoid all evil and doing all good", but only Buddhism teaches about liberation and the purification of the mind. The problem with just "avoiding all evil and doing all good" is that as a result we accumulate a lot of good karma and avoid creating bad karma, meaning we can be reborn in the higher realms or even the celestial realms like the heavens, however we still cannot attain nirvana, we cannot be liberated from the cycle of samsara.. and our enjoyment in these higher realms are also limited and transient. Similarly as described just now even if our lives are very good, there is still bound to be unsatisfactoriness and sufferings.. if we cannot be liberated moment to moment. Therefore when we practise Buddhism, also we practise purification of the mind... through mindfulness we become aware of and disidentify from all our sentient thoughts, our habitual tendencies of the mind, the afflictive emotions or the three poisons of Greed, Hatred, Ignorance and so on due to identification with a false sense of self, and the identification is also known as the false 'ego'. Our Buddha Nature is like a clear mirror, our pure awareness, which unfortunately is obscured from us because of a layer of dust, or mental defilements. Through Buddhism we clean the mirror of its defilements to reveal the clear bright mirror underneath. Therefore through practising Buddhism we gain insights into the nature of reality, the nature of our minds, our Buddha Nature, and through awakening from our delusions we find the nirvanic bliss of clarity and liberation from all sufferings in our lives.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Though we arent enlightened, the point is that it isnt beyond us, many ordinary practitioners became enlightened too.. including some in this forum.
You're right... TS and other forummers pls do say if you find anything I said confusing so I can further post to clarify and things like that...Originally posted by Isis:er... actually how much does winnie knows about buddhism?.. i think might be too chim for her and might lead to more confusion.. steps by step from basic might be better like the four noble truth or helping her to clarify her prior misconception about buddhism or perhaps something that he or she can relate to easily..
With metta (loving-kindness)
/\
My 2 cents of thought.
You're askingOriginally posted by Owl^:![]()
really...
no hard feeling hor![]()
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:You're asking
1) Are we not enlightened?
or
2) Is it really NOT beyond us
or
3) Many ordinary practitioners became enlightened
or
4) Some in this forum are enlightened
Ah, I see.Originally posted by Owl^:tks...
May i know who are those " Awaken one?"...
love to know some in this forum are enlightened...
tks again...
tks for ur pirate msg...will keep these name in mindOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Ah, I see.
Originally posted by Owl^:tks for ur pirate msg...will keep these name in mind![]()
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:edit: pirate msg!?![]()
Originally posted by Owl^:![]()
private msg lah....read too much pirate ship stuff liao lah
ok...a confidential privacy![]()
I Just wish to say although there is a great idea to learn from enlightened people.Originally posted by Owl^:![]()
private msg lah....read too much pirate ship stuff liao lah
ok...a confidential privacy![]()
It is important that our teacher is a profound practitioner, and/or an awakened one, because in this era, there's alot of sanghas teaching the wrong view and wrong interpretation of Buddha's teaching.Originally posted by bohiruci:I Just wish to say although there is a great idea to learn from enlightened people.
Doesnt mean we can look down on unenlightened
As Bodhidharma once said
"You cannot despise those who are shallow in learning .One thought of kindness can also become Buddha"
I dun see the need to differentiate who is enlightened here in the forum and who's not ,becos that will bring about schism in the whole Buddhist community
I dun think I will not Support Ren Ci Hospital just becos I feel Ven Mingyi is not in any way enlightened .That is a mistake and is basically an act of selfishness
and nothing to do with whether he is enlightened
Buddha takes no form .Any form of experience which you can alleviate your
entangled emotions towards enlighten is of TANTAMOUNT IMPORTANCE
and not whether he/she is enlighten
May I wish to tell the Forum owner to refrain from saying who are the enlighten ones , cause will create disharmony among the Sangha community in Wisdom Bliss
We are Dharma Brothers and Sister on the Path ,not Magicians community who
is comparing magic ability and talents
I know people in the forum do not like me to say this ,but its inside the basics of a Buddhist Precept of Refrain from telling lies and
the Basic definition of Sangha![]()
I dun see the need to say who is enlighten ? so whats the point of learning when everyone just want to learn from enlighten one and non-enlighten one cast asideOriginally posted by coolbluewater:It is important that our teacher is a profound practitioner, and/or an awakened one, because in this era, there's alot of sanghas teaching the wrong view and wrong interpretation of Buddha's teaching.
If there's disharmony created among Sangha community through a simple action, then that sangha who sowed the disharmony is definitely not one that we must learn from. In fact, one with right view will be joyous over the accomplishment of others. Remember, one of the precepts taken when they enter a monastic regime is no speaking bad of others. If they can't keep this precept, what more can they teach?
I agree that we shouldn't discriminate venerables... but even in Sanghas, if you have a serious dharma question that needs the depth of insight of someone, they will still direct you to someone they know who has that level of insight or enlightenment.Originally posted by cycle:I think we shouldn't "openly" say which venearble is good or no good, enlighten or not enlighten... we are not in a position to critizise the sangha. The sangha is Triple Gem. As like our school teachers, they need our respect.
Of cos if any member of the sangha violated their duties or roles and seriously broken their precepts, they must be reported and they will be dealt with accordingly; not by us. We can expose them to the Buddhist Association and the sangha community has clear procedures to place jugement and punishment. We are not the ones.
Buddhist ourselves shouldn't be the ones that create disharmony within the Buddhist circle. Every Venerable has their own followers and among these followers, some may find their way of learning enghtenment. Different Venerable may use different types of methods to inspire or lead his followers unto the path of Buddhism; so we shouldn't placed our own judgment or preconceptions on others too readily, esp to the sangha, the Tripe Gem.
If we find certain venerable not to our "liking", if we find this and this Venerable are not " wise" enough for me, then just don't be near them. Period.
We don't hv to go around criticising them. Some may say that such criticism among the Buddhist circle is all right, but such "idle chatter" or even unfounded statements may grow out of control and get passed around outside the Buddhist circle. This may give a bad example and hindered people who are interested in learning the Buddhadharma. Then as Buddhist, we become very un-enlighten. In fact, seriously speaking, we may hv destroy someone's path to enlinghtenment.
Remember we 're all still learning and practising, we're all still at the foot of the mountain; so we shouldn't comment on how the scene looks like at the top of the mountain yet. Frankly speaking, it may takes another aeons of yrs before we can even reach the middle of the moutain.![]()
Firstly to say that one can learn from both enlightened and unenlightened is not applicable to all dharma questions. You have to say that inevitably there ARE some questions that you have to ask someone with deep insights directly. I am certainly not saying anything about qualification on sharing the dharma. Anyone can do so. But for the sake of ourselves and others, if someone wishes to ask something from someone with certain levels of direct insight, why not? Not only is it good for them, it's good for us: we may not give satisfactory answers, or we may give an answer that is wrong somewhere and create karma ourselves.Originally posted by bohiruci:I dun see the need to say who is enlighten ? so whats the point of learning when everyone just want to learn from enlighten one and non-enlighten one cast aside
So infact ,you and I shouldnt share on Buddhadharma as we are not qualified to do so .then Buddhism will be the same as other worldly religion
to PM someone who isnt a Buddhist about enlighten one isnt a correct action
remember ,WHAT we all do is bounded by karma , whether we like it or not
Originally posted by bohiruci:I think you're assuming yourself that we're looking down on people. This is definitely not happening as all forummers are happily discussing dharma with each other on the equal level. Also just because lets say, someone wish to talk to someone who is enlightened, that certainly doesn't mean I am looking down on someone else. The ego likes to make such assumption, complicate things and become attached to it.
I Just wish to say although there is a great idea to learn from enlightened people.
Doesnt mean we can look down on unenlightened
As Bodhidharma once said
"You cannot despise those who are shallow in learning .One thought of kindness can also become Buddha"
I dun see the need to differentiate who is enlightened here in the forum and who's not ,becos that will bring about schism in the whole Buddhist communityI truly do not think that being truthful about these matters leads any way to schism. A monastic Sangha has many venerables, lamas/rinpoches and shi fus as well as many monks following that sangha. Does differentiating a monk and a venerable/lama/rinpoche in any way make it a schism? Similarly does pointing out who is enlightened in any way make schism in the forum? This simply does not make sense. In fact all the sanghas and monks will usually help to answer your question regarding Buddhism, but if it is related to teachings that requires deep insight, they will most certainly refer to the venerables.
I dun think I will not Support Ren Ci Hospital just becos I feel Ven Mingyi is not in any way enlightened .That is a mistake and is basically an act of selfishnessAs I wrote in previous thread: Secondly of course I will support Ven Shi Ming Yi... even if he's Pastor Shi Ming Yi or Priest Shi Ming Yi from other religions, I'll still support. Charity is universal.
and nothing to do with whether he is enlightened
Buddha takes no form .Any form of experience which you can alleviate yourEnlightenment and direct insight is perhaps much more important than you think and therefore the point of talking to these people is to learn the dharma from them, so that one can advance more quickly on the path.. Without these direct insights, we cannot break our fundamental illusion of duality. Though foundational practises like cultivating virtues and getting beyond our emotions and so on are important, that may not necessarily mean having attained the essential insights into the nature of reality.. or Jian4 Xing4. As Thusness said, practise before and after realisation is different. One can have many experiences of dealing with emotions, which are important, but did not comprehend the 3 dharma seals, Emptiness, etc. These people live a more carefree life but that is different from transcending birth and death/attaining nirvana.
entangled emotions towards enlighten is of TANTAMOUNT IMPORTANCE
and not whether he/she is enlighten
May I wish to tell the Forum owner to refrain from saying who are the enlighten ones , cause will create disharmony among the Sangha community in Wisdom BlissAs far as I know apart from you raising this concern, there is no 'disharmony' or any problems happening related to this issue.
We are Dharma Brothers and Sister on the Path ,not Magicians community whoAs far as I know, there is no one comparing supernatural powers and talents here.
is comparing magic ability and talents
I know people in the forum do not like me to say this ,but its inside the basics of a Buddhist Precept of Refrain from telling lies and
the Basic definition of Sangha
Originally posted by bohiruci:Sorry, I'm just sharing my view on certain issue, as this, whether an enlightened should be identified. I certainly not qualified to share about Buddhadharma, and neither did I even try to do it.
[b]
I dun see the need to say who is enlighten ? so whats the point of learning when everyone just want to learn from enlighten one and non-enlighten one cast aside
So infact ,you and I shouldnt share on Buddhadharma as we are not qualified to do so .then Buddhism will be the same as other worldly religion
to PM someone who isnt a Buddhist about enlighten one isnt a correct action
remember ,WHAT we all do is bounded by karma , whether we like it or not
coolbluewater ,can you please read thru the WHOLE posting and understand whats going on before u reply
thank you .![]()
chim is because we make it chim, we should reflect on our inabilities or just pure laziness to simplify it for others, what is the true spirit of mahayana?Originally posted by Isis:er... actually how much does winnie knows about buddhism?.. i think might be too chim for her and might lead to more confusion.. steps by step from basic might be better like the four noble truth or helping her to clarify her prior misconception about buddhism or perhaps something that he or she can relate to easily..
With metta (loving-kindness)
/\
My 2 cents of thought.