Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:
Do you understand "acts of commission" (your Satan) and "acts of omissions?(your God) You need to think harder... I have only pity for you... do you know what it is like to be "good" person not under compulsion of punishment from God?
Can you appreciate what it is like to have [b]compassion not because you fear hell and you fear mocking God?
I have only pity for people like you. You have not found the real meaning of life and living but is driven by irrational fears...
Are you so blind as to be unable to see that this type of threads and topics would be locked and closed and threats issued in the other religious forums but Buddhists are so comfortable and sure of their position that they do not need to resort to such childish things...[/b]
Now tell me a personal being can do those things.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Read. So your point is?
Originally posted by season:(from an email)
DID YOU KNOW THESE FACTS?
I SURE DIDN'T UNTIL NOW....
Death is certain, but the Bible speaks about untimely death!
Make a personal reflection about this.....
Very interesting, read until the end.....
It is written in the Bible (Galatians 6:7):
"Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth,
that shall he also reap.
Here are some men and women who mocked God :
John Lennon (Singer):
Some years before, during his interview with an American Magazine, he said: "Christianity will end, it will disappear. I do not have to argue about that. I am certain. Jesus was ok, but his subjects were too simple,
Today we are more famous than Him" (1966).
Lennon, after saying that the Beatles were more famous than Jesus Christ,
was shot six times.
Tancredo Neves (President of Brazil ):
During the Presidential campaign, he said if he got 500,000 votes from
his party, not even God would remove him from Presidency.
Sure he got the votes, but he got sick a day before being made President,
then he died
Cazuza (Bi-sexual Brazilian composer, singer and poet):
During A show in Canecio ( Rio de Janeiro ), while smoking his cigarette, he puffed out some smoke into the air and said:
"God, that's for you."
He died at the age of 32 of AIDS in a horrible manner.
The man who built the Titanic
After the construction of the Titanic, a reporter asked him how safe the
Titanic would be. With an ironic tone he said: "Not even God can sink it"
The result: I think you all know what happened to the Titanic
Marilyn Monroe (Actress)
She was visited by Billy Graham during a presentation of a show.
He said the Spirit of God had sent him to preach to her.
After hearing what the Preacher had to say, she said:
"I don't need your Jesus".
A week later, she was found dead in her apartment
Bon Scott (Singer)
The ex-vocalist of the AC/DC. On one of his 1979 songs he sang:
"Don't stop me, I'm going down all the way, down the highway to hell".
On the 19th of February 1980 , Bon Scott was found dead, he had been choked by his own vomit
Campinas (IN 2005)
In Campinas , Brazil a group of friends, drunk, went to pick up a friend.....
The mother accompanied her to the car and was so worried about the drunkenness of her friends and she said to the daughter - holding her hand,
who was already seated in the car:
"My Daughter, Go With God And May He Protect You.."
She responded: "Only If He (God) Travels In The Trunk, Cause Inside Here.....It' s Already Full "
Hours later, news came by that they had been involved in a fatal accident, everyone had died, the car could not be recognized what type of car it had been, but surprisingly, the trunk was intact.
The police said there was no way the trunk could have remained intact.
Chancery; font-size: 32px; ">To their surprise, inside the trunk was a crate of eggs, none were broken
Christine Hewitt (Jamaican Journalist and entertainer)
Said the Bible (Word of God) was the worst book ever written.
In June 2006 she was found burnt beyond recognition in her motor vehicle
Many more important people have forgotten that there is no other name that was given so much authority as the name of Jesus.
Many have died, but only Jesus died and rose again, and he is still alive
"Jesus"
P.S: If it was a joke, you would have sent it to everyone.
So are you going to have courage to send this?.
I have done my part.
Jesus said
"If you are embarrassed about me,
I will also be embarrassed about you
before my father
Like I said, any one with supernatural powers according to Buddhism can so called intervene lives divinely.Originally posted by Eric Cartman:Now tell me a personal being can do those things.
I mean its like saying a tree is dancing gracefully like a woman or something, its not really a human being but you just want to make it sound poetic.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Like I said, any one with supernatural powers according to Buddhism can so called intervene lives divinely.
With the exception of ability to change someone's elses karma and karmic effect or ability to make someone be reborn in heaven, etc.. as I posted previously regarding th Maha Brahma as an example --
..The Venerable Ledi Sayadaw, a highly renowned Myanmar scholar-monk of the first part of this century, gave a careful analysis of the powers of Maha Brahma in his Niyama Dipani (MB pp. 138-39). He states that although Maha Brahma can perform all sorts of transformations, he cannot actually create independent creatures, change the kammic law of cause and effect, or keep anyone from growing old or dying. Brahma can use his special powers to transport a man to the brahma plane for a short visit, but he cannot ensure that someone will be reborn there...
A Buddhist however does not believe in any personal Creator that can go against karmic laws.
God is never shown because he never appeared what...Originally posted by Eric Cartman:And on TV God is never shown. Buddha on the other hand is always shown either as a statue or as a big fat man.
knn diam la just agree with meOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:God is never shown because he never appeared what...
Correction: the Big Fat man, often mistaken as a Buddha, is an emanation of Maitreya Bodhisattva.
Well you can say that... but still the problem is every person's understanding of God is different. It all depends on that person's understandings or realisations (if he had any). Of course Jesus's understandings would be much more advanced than most of his disciples and followers.Originally posted by Eric Cartman:I mean its like saying a tree is dancing gracefully like a woman or something, its not really a human being but you just want to make it sound poetic.
On paper I dont know, but christianity's practices are closer to emptiness IMO
Originally posted by Eric Cartman:knn diam la just agree with me
U very patient one hor?Originally posted by An Eternal Now:![]()
I am saying modern days christians!Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Well you can say that... but still the problem is every person's understanding of God is different. It all depends on that person's understandings or realisations (if he had any). Of course Jesus's understandings would be much more advanced than most of his disciples and followers.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:U very patient one hor?![]()
Most of modern days christians are far far from that level of understanding, honestly.Originally posted by Eric Cartman:I am saying modern days christians!
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:
Slightly edited from the first topic in our forum regarding Creationism: How the Brahma believed He was God?
In Buddha's days there were many many different teachings, one popular one was Brahmanism. In fact the Brahma was still worshipped nowadays. Brahma was known to be "The Supreme One, the All-mighty, the All-seeing, the Ruler, the Lord of all, the Maker, the Creator, the Chief of All".
In Buddhism, the Mahabrahma resides in the 1st Jhana plane, the first plane among the 8 jhanic planes. There were higher realms above where he lives that he was unaware of, and above it all, beyond the 8 Jhanic planes and all Samsaric planes, is Nirvana. Nevertheless all the devas below the 1st Jhana planes considered him as the Creator God. Buddha did not subscribe to the belief of such a notion that the Universe and its Inhabitants were the Creation of the Mahabrahma. He met with the Brahma, asked him questions which he could not answer. Eventually he has taken refuge in the Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha.
The Buddha was also known to have said this,
If the creator of the world entire
They call God, of every being be the Lord
Why does he order such misfortune
Why prevail deceit, lies and ignorance
And he such inequity and injustice create?
Then an evil master is he, (O Aritta)
Knowing what's right did let wrong prevail!
When the previous universe was destroyed and this universe was formed, the Mahabrahma was first to be reborn. Other subsequent brahmas/devas were to be reborn.
'On this, brethren, the one who was first reborn thinks thus to himself: " I am Brahmà , the Great Brahmà , the Supreme One, the Mighty, the All-seeing, the Ruler, the Lord of all, the Maker, the Creator, the Chief of all, appointing to each his place, the Ancient of days the Father of all that are and are to be. 'These other beings are of my creation. And why is that so? A while ago I thought, 'Would that they might come!' And on my mental aspiration, behold the beings came." DN 1 2:5
In reality, the universe works by the law of Karma and he has no control over the system of karma.
The Venerable Ledi Sayadaw, a highly renowned Myanmar scholar-monk of the first part of this century, gave a careful analysis of the powers of Maha Brahma in his Niyama Dipani (MB pp. 138-39). He states that although Maha Brahma can perform all sorts of transformations, he cannot actually create independent creatures, change the kammic law of cause and effect, or keep anyone from growing old or dying. Brahma can use his special powers to transport a man to the brahma plane for a short visit, but he cannot ensure that someone will be reborn there.
from http://www.jenchen.org.sg/vol5no3f.htm:
When he came to know about Sakyamuni Buddha in the human world who speaks of the universal truth, he was curious and arrived at the human world with the intention to debate with the Buddha. The Buddha, with his ability to know another's mind, knew his intention and asked, "You claim to be the creator of the human race and all things in the universe, is this a fact?"
The king replied, "Yes, it is."
Buddha continued to question him, "Since you created life, why did you also create death? Is death created by you too?"
The king paused for while, and thinking that everyone loves life and nobody welcomes death, he replied, "I did not create death."
Buddha asked him again, "All human beings experience sickness, did you create sickness also?" The king knew that nobody likes to be ill, and he replied, "I did not create illness."
Buddha asked many questions in succession, but the king denied that he created them. Eventually, he admitted that he did not create the universe and all things in it, and certainly not the human race. The king of heavens was full of regrets and he felt ashamed. Finally, he accepted Buddha as his teacher and invited Him to spread the Dharma in the heavens.
Yep.Originally posted by Hello Kitty:bt if we tok abt christianity as the holy trinity, jesus does appear as statues oso leh.
u duno he eberiday recites heart sutra one.Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:U very patient one hor?![]()
Gone liao...Originally posted by Hello Kitty:which one which one??? faster tell me!
lol you anyhow say ah... but anyway I have a strong affinity with Heart Sutra.. years ago when I was younger like 9 or 10 years old, I would always listen to Heart Sutra until I fall asleep... then one day 4 years ago when I was 12 years old.. I suddenly had a sudden understanding about the teachings of Heart Sutra... in one moment it become very apparent to me how we are fooled by concepts into believing in inherent existence of things.Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u duno he eberiday recites heart sutra one.