But its possible for the taxi drivers to change their jobs easily.Originally posted by 798:u r asking a stupid question.
it is as if asking wat happen if everyone are to become taxi drivers one day? who will be the passagers?
When 70% of the guys become monk.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:As it is, the world does not need more people.
a) Why would be it be escape from reality? So reality is a harsh cruel world with no heart? Coincidentally, i also want to ask, is that the teachings of atheism, thats has no mmoral values or heart?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:a) I beg to differ, some people become monks/nuns as they cannot accept the cruelty of reality. Can we say that they are cowards? To each their own.
b) And can you tell me the real meaning of life? But biologically, reproduction seems to be part and parcel of life in nature. And that is the grand or boring cycle of life according to personal preference.
c) Personal preference lah.... What can we say to a single banana?
Buddhism is about trying to hoodwink oneself that one is not suffering.
At this rate, there isnt significant number of monks to veen reach a hypothetical rate of 70%Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:When 70% of the guys become monk.
The death rate every year confirm + chop will be much more then birth rate.
And in 10years time. You see world population 60billion will drop liao.
Then we will realise we need more people.
By the way, I think this topic is silly, because you sounded like you are equating uselessness with reproduction, which has completely no logic at all.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:Monks are useless people.
Imagine one day 70% of the guys in this world become monks.
Then who going to re produce? The other 30% surly not enuff.
So what will monks do? Stay firm on their "ethics"
Or break the rule?
PS: Those hardcore monks that totally devoid of any sexual activities one.
Originally posted by MichelleTan:Xephone_xenon is a girl stalker, so don't mind his retarded threads.
http://sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=255811
a)I didn't say escape from reality but some people who took the sangha vows did take the vows for a different reason than the usual. It can be viewed that atheism or irreligion has not moral values or heart as they are based on law and science.Originally posted by laurence82:a) Why would be it be escape from reality? So reality is a harsh cruel world with no heart? Coincidentally, i also want to ask, is that the teachings of atheism, thats has no mmoral values or heart?
b) I cant, but like you said, to each his own, hence people break out of that cycle to his own preference
c) Meaning biased is also a personal preference? That is not a very rational answer.
Stop saying it will nvr happen.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:By the way, I think this topic is silly, because you sounded like you are equating uselessness with reproduction, which has completely no logic at all.
Isn't there so many great people out there who are bachelors that made great contributions to the world?
And so many married people with children who did not make any contributions to society?
If you're imagining a scenario where most people become monks, that is a completely different thing as to saying 'monks are useless'. It's like you are imagining that one day most people will choose to be bachelors.
But does that have anything to do with uselessness? What's more, that scenario is simply as silly as saying 'where will the passengers be if everyone became taxi drivers?' It simply will not happen. And if it happens, so what? It's a good thing -- more resources distributed to each person in developing countries. They are starving and yet the population is so great for them to feed every one.
So all that you said doesn't make sense.
GIRL STALKER FTW LA.Originally posted by MichelleTan:Xephone_xenon is a girl stalker, so don't mind his retarded threads.
http://sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=255811
OK.Originally posted by citymax:Hi TS,
Do you have the ability to raise donation of millions?
Ming Yi Fa Shi himself is a monk, he dedicate his life to the welfare of the people of poors, and people like YOU comes out such a remarks is totally unacceptable. Seriously i pity you, go think about it and hopefully you will apologise to them.
Let's not talk about moral values or not. Does it mean that Atheists do not follow Singaporean laws?Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:a)I didn't say escape from reality but some people who took the sangha vows did take the vows for a different reason than the usual. It can be viewed that atheism or irreligion has not moral values or heart as they are based on law and science.
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:That will never happen.
Stop saying it will nvr happen.
I mean what if?
Okay i sincerely apologise her from saying monks are useless people.Let's not talk about if 70%... because I think 30% is still clearly enough for reproducing. (remember, a person can give birth not only to 3, but also 4 or 5, even more than 10 children)
Perhaps i shall re ask my question.
What if one day 70% of the guys in the world became monks?
Will they stick to their old morals or will they just have sex and re produce for the over all benefit of human population.
Cause from what they see, some of the things they do arent very practical.
'An Upasaka is a layman and an Upasika is a laywoman. The Sanskrit word upasaka means "man who is close in work". Upasika means "woman who is close in work', working closely with the Triple Jewel.'http://online.sfsu.edu/~rone/Buddhism/BuddhistDict/BDU.html
Yes, its like the wheels it takes to drive a car. One wheel or two wheels isn't enough, only with all the wheels the vehicle can move.Originally posted by sinweiy:fyi, Buddhadharma is not all about ordain monks/nuns. it's also about lay people upasaka/upasika.
http://online.sfsu.edu/~rone/Buddhism/BuddhistDict/BDU.html
without the SUPPORT of lay people, the monks/nuns also cannot sustain itself.
monks/nuns are like equvilent to teachers, while lay person are the principals. principals supply material/money, the teachers supply wisdom per se.
do check out Vimalakirti sutra about a Lay Buddha. yes, Vimalakirti's level is equal to Buddha Shakyamuni. Shakyamuni display an ordain Buddha, while Vimalakirti displayed a lay Buddha.
http://www.imeditate.com/vimalakirti/vimalakirti01.html
moreover, there are many bodhisattvas among the lay people too. they have families too. in the Avatamsaka Sutra - Sancai's visit to 53 gurus, you see how the Dharma is applied into all types of profession/field.
/\
well said!Originally posted by laurence82:a) Monks are noble people. Enuff said
b) Our sole purpose in life is to reproduce? I find it sad, and respect people who break out of the cycle of that everyone else go through, as in, is life only study, find job, marry, give birth, get old and sick, die?
Thats what Buddhism is about, break out of the cycle of endless suffering
c) A bit biased leh...there are significant numbers of bachelors, spinsters, divorcee and whatnot...are monks pointed out simply because they are Buddhists?
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:But then there are those monks and nuns who took the vows while not upholding the precepts, I do not mean all who took the vows do not uphold the precepts but there are always exceptions. And from the last part of your statement, we can see that rules don't always work as expected.
Let's not talk about moral values or not. Does it mean that Atheists do not follow Singaporean laws?
If Atheists (majority) are law abiding people, then isn't the same that monks should be abiding by the precepts of a Sangha? Sangha's laws are set by Buddha, Singapore's laws are set by Singaporean lawmakers, that's all. Different organisations also have their own rules and regulations.
Buddha did not originally have 200+ precepts for monks.
http://www.interactivebuddha.com/eleventharmy.shtml
...Due to the continued bad and foolish behavior of his monks and nuns in the last 25 years of his teaching, he laid down the kind of restrictive rules usually reserved for vile dictatorships run by raving nut-cases. [b]Clearly he did so reluctantly, as there were no such rules for the first 20 years of the order....[/b]
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Yes, which is a bad thing. Which is why precepts and rules are necessary and lessen such cases. If a monk does not uphold precepts, he will also need to undergo bad consequences even such as having to disrobe and leave the sangha.
But then there are those monks and nuns who took the vows while not upholding the precepts, I do not mean all who took the vows do not uphold the precepts but there are always exceptions.
And from the last part of your statement, we can see that rules don't always work as expected.You didn't get what it was saying? It was saying why rules are necessary.
Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:can u kindly qoute some examples on what things they do are not practical?
Stop saying it will nvr happen.
I mean what if?
[b]Okay i sincerely apologise her from saying monks are useless people.
Perhaps i shall re ask my question.
What if one day 70% of the guys in the world became monks?
Will they stick to their old morals or will they just have sex and re produce for the over all benefit of human population.
Cause from what they see, some of the things they do arent very practical.[/b]
We do not need more people to consume the Earth's resources. The fewer, the better.Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:When 70% of the guys become monk.
The death rate every year confirm + chop will be much more then birth rate.
And in 10years time. You see world population 60billion will drop liao.
Then we will realise we need more people.
bro, u wan to ask people for opinions but u cant accept critisism.... so next time dun post such a topic lor...Originally posted by Xephone_xenon:OK.
Shit everyone kana brainwash liao GG.