If you don't want to be dogmatic, then why seek a teacher? Do the experiments on your own and then prove it. If it doesn't work, then the philosophy is false.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:What a weird notion. Do you tell me that having a physics or biology teacher really limits your mind in blah blah blah?
Buddhism is simply a subject just like anything else. If you want to learn Buddhism, you have to learn the correct way of practise, the correct teachings, in order to reach the goal of Enlightenment.
Just like if you want to learn Biology, or Physics or whatever you need to learn the the subject topics, and experiment accordingly to prove the result.
Obviously having a teacher does not limit your mind, because a teacher's task is merely to teach you the proper knowledge of a subject and a proper way to conduct an experiment to achieve a desired result.
If you want to come up with your own version of Biology or Physics with your own facts, obviously nothing good will come out of it, because it does not stand true to experience, observation, and reality.
Perhaps, it is time to close this thread as there are no more discussions on the tooth. The truth has been extracted. The pain is gone.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Hi, I have not read your post nor intend to reply today due to the limited time I have.
But I would like to suggest you to create a new topic for this discussion, since the recent replies and discussion has completely went off-topic.
I will look into it when I have the time..
Continue discussion in TheGoodEarth's new topic: Faith in Belief SystemsOriginally posted by Herzog_Zwei:If you don't want to be dogmatic, then why seek a teacher? Do the experiments on your own and then prove it. If it doesn't work, then the philosophy is false.
Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Ok. But I won't close the topic unless there's a need to.
Perhaps, it is time to close this thread as there are no more discussions on the tooth. [b]The truth has been extracted. The pain is gone.
I have spin off a thread on Relic and I think I will spin off a thread on Faith.[/b]
Ya lor.. so much ignorance on Buddhism.Originally posted by kangirisan:THat day got 1 singnet engineer come my house do a line test.
Anyways, she saw my altar where I put my Dhammo Grand Master and Guanyin Bodhisattva statue. Den she say :" Wah, siao di, all your 'shen' (gods) put here in this special room very nice hor?
I fainted, dun even try to correct her liaos. Sianz 1/2.
Singnet Engineer contractor dun even know the difference. Sians!
Tell me that Singapore who dunno wads buddhism one? Wif all the internet, media abt the tooth temple la, vesak day la, etc.... STILL got this kinda pple. Kaos!

The tooths were curved not straightOriginally posted by laoda99:Hi guys
I managed to take this at night safari
It is self explanatory
The tooth on display were not of human origins. Should have taken pics of the human molar beside them haizzz.....Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Thanks for you effort. How is your photo compared to the newspaper one? Could you elaborate on 'self-explanatory'.

Another words: You choose to believe what you want to believe? Why heart and no head?Originally posted by lowkks:If you believe it is real, then it is real. If you believe it is fake, then it is fake. The heart counts.
Thank you for the photos =)Originally posted by laoda99:The tooth on display were not of human origins. Should have taken pics of the human molar beside them haizzz.....
some pics for ur comparisons...