Hi to cycle and aloka,Originally posted by cycle:Thank you so much for posting this extract of the sutta which is most relevant in this Tooth relic discussion.I hope all of us would take time to read carefully and contemplate over what is written. Then, practise accordingly.
I've also posted another extract of the same passage ( also prepared by Thanissaro Bhikkhu, Noble Conversation ) yesterday morning in Daily Buddhism Verses ( maybe easier to digest):
[1] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be unfactual, untrue, unbeneficial, unendearing & disagreeable to others, he doesn't say them.
[2] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, unbeneficial, unendearing & disagreeable to others, he doesn't says them.
[[3] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, beneficial, but unendearing & disagreeable to others, he has a sense of the proper time of saying them.
[4] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be unfactual, untrue, unbeneficial, but endearing & agreeable to others, he doesn't says them.
[5] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, unbeneficial, but endearing & agreeable to others, he doesn't says them.
[6] In the case of words that the Tathagata knows to be factual, true, beneficial, and endearing & agreeable to others, he has a sense of the proper time for saying them. Why is that? Because the Tathagata has sympathy for living beings.
~ MN 58
Exactly, why go thru lengthy discourses and diversions when a simple question can't be answered? Are we like the thousands who lined the street watching the emperor parading with no clothe?Originally posted by yamizi:..........
However I think we should just focus in whether or not the relic in question is human to begin with. Or would anyone who had donated to the tooth relic temple like to share their opinions on this issue?
After thinking about your answers abit, just abit only lah. I have new questions again. Paisay ah.Originally posted by yamizi:.......
However I think we should just focus in whether or not the relic in question is human to begin with. Or would anyone who had donated to the tooth relic temple like to share their opinions on this issue?
Thank you
Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Exactly, why go thru lengthy discourses and diversions when a simple question can't be answered? Are we like the thousands who lined the street watching the emperor parading with no clothe?
Come on, be frank and open. If Buddhists can't do that, what more you want to waste your time on Dhamma for?
So, is the tooth in the Relic Temple human or not? Don't give the craps like:
1) Yes, but
2) No, but
3) Faith, more faith
Even the blind is not so blind!
Originally posted by oldkid:After thinking about your answers abit, just abit only lah. I have new questions again. Paisay ah.
My questions are:
1) Upon discovering the origins of the tooth to be fake and you are to post the reports to as many mediums as possible, will you be able to acheive this?
If the tooth relic in questioned is to be sent for test, I believe the result itself would be reported in news which is the mainstream media. What I can do is simply to put on blogs, forums, the so-called alternative media.
2) If reporting to mediums is acheiveable, how will you report it in order to avoid slander to the triple gems by youself (unknowningly) and by the public?
Slandering would mean to say something that is untrue. But after testing, if it turns out to be fake, then it's not "saying something that is untrue", so how could that amount to slandering? I believe by and large, the public nowadays are intelligent and more well-informed. They will understand that it is Ven Fazhao and his merry-men's doings and their doings cannot represent Buddhism.If there are some who misunderstood then it will be our responsibility as buddhists to clarify the matter.
3) How do you get the tooth to be tested out in the first place?
Very interesting! Probably a joint petition to request? In fact, Ven Fazhao should have have the relic tested on his own initiative in the very first place. But better late than never =)
I totally agree with you that the truth will need to be seek out, learnt and understood. But I also do feel that it can be done in a tactful and subtle way, falling to neither extreme of no doing nor doing with discrimination.
I think for a monk of his status to make comment like the tooth is his why let it be tested, such comment seems to be extreme itself.
Both method and motivation should be considered carefully. Especially when spreading one's religion in concern, where honesty, truth and other wholesome merits are parts of our values, if one would to use deceitful manner in the beginning, this would seems to suggest the truthfulness of the belief itself. =)Originally posted by oldkid:![]()
I don't think you can find a solid mundane world answer of "Yes" or "No" here.
IMHO, a "yes" and "no" does not matter. It is the motivation that matters. What is your motivation leh?![]()
Since you mentioned it, my belief is that since AEN is not adverse to spreading falsehood if the need arise, then his belief is indeed questionable.Originally posted by yamizi:Both method and motivation should be considered carefully. Especially when spreading one's religion in concern, where honesty, truth and other wholesome merits are parts of our values, if one would to use deceitful manner in the beginning, this would seems to suggest the truthfulness of the belief itself. =)
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Since you mentioned it, my belief is that since AEN is not adverse to spreading falsehood if the need arise, then his belief is indeed questionable.
Nah he is just trolling, don't mind him.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:![]()
Why suddenly talk about me?
And what falsehoods are you talking about?
Hmmm .... perhaps I should add two more:Originally posted by oldkid:![]()
I don't think you can find a solid mundane world answer of "Yes" or "No" here.
IMHO, a "yes" and "no" does not matter. It is the motivation that matters. What is your motivation leh?![]()
So, is the tooth in the Relic Temple human or not? Don't give the craps like:If there is one thing I learnt so far in Buddhism, it is: Neither Here nor There - neither Yes nor No, neither Self nor No-Self, neither Existence nor Non-Existence, neither Emptiness nor Void.
1) Yes, but
2) No, but
3) Faith, more faith
4) Neither Yes or No
5) It does not matter
Erm, have you read my Emptiness reply? Obviously you haven't otherwise you wouldn't ask like that.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:If there is one thing I learnt so far in Buddhism, it is: Neither Here nor There - neither Yes nor No, neither Self nor No-Self, neither Existence nor Non-Existence, neither Emptiness nor Void.
This is DUALITY vs REALITY ??
By the way, I didn't know you're not a Buddhist so I explained Emptiness to you on the assumption you have had at least a little Buddhist knowledge.Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:If there is one thing I learnt so far in Buddhism, it is: Neither Here nor There - neither Yes nor No, neither Self nor No-Self, neither Existence nor Non-Existence, neither Emptiness nor Void.
This is DUALITY vs REALITY ??
My motivation? After writing so much you are asking me this question? My motivation is to know the Truth of the Tooth!
Hahahha, if I am already blue, what's the point of explaining blue to me? However, every Buddhist concept should be capable of being explained in the simplest form without having ABC (Already Buddhist Convert) !Originally posted by An Eternal Now:BTW until now I kept thinking you're a BuddhistNow I know you're probably a free thinker.
No wonder didn't reply my msg on your traditionwant me to continue thinking you're some Buddhist.. hahaha
Ok, will try to..Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Hahahha, if I am already blue, what's the point of explaining blue to me? However, every Buddhist concept should be capable of being explained in the simplest form without having ABC (Already Buddhist Convert) !
Woah! Thanks! I get your ideas now. Please do work hard on your path of cultivation. I do find some truth in what you said and after reflecting on what's your point of view in comparison with mine.Originally posted by yamizi:Hello oldkid,
My replies are in blue =)
It is definitely not human, but likely bovine in nature. I have examined enough human skulls and teeth in my professional life to recognize human remains. The tooth as shown in the ST photograph was, is and will never be human.Originally posted by yamizi:However I think we should just focus in whether or not the relic in question is human to begin with.
I have always remind myself to post neutral and objective postings and comments although I may take things personal at times in my mind. But my objective in sharing and discussing here is not out to win anyone or anything but to find out what is the truth. Therefore, before I submit a comment on forum, I would read a few times to make sure it's not fuelled with my personal negative emotions into it.Originally posted by oldkid:Woah! Thanks! I get your ideas now. Please do work hard on your path of cultivation. I do find some truth in what you said and after reflecting on what's your point of view in comparison with mine.
Oh, for the slandering part, if assuming the tooth is fake, you can write in your blog or forum in a neutral standpoint... something factual, scientific and informative. In this way confirm no sladering from you liao. As for the public, how they react will of course based on their habitual karma which means true practising Buddhist will have no way of controlling how they react. IMHO, I do not think they are intelligent in a Dharma way. Looking at the NKF incident will tell us alot. Most of them including the media just wanna piece of Duria. They forgot about the sufferings of the patients. We must also look at the other side. If there is no Duria in the 1st place, people will not know about the patients. If in $1 he took 90 cents, at least the patients still have 10 cents. You can say that Duria has the role of Devadetta.
Btw, which tradition you come from yamizi?
Thank you oxford for your precious views =)Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It is definitely not human, but likely bovine in nature. I have examined enough human skulls and teeth in my professional life to recognize human remains. The tooth as shown in the ST photograph was, is and will never be human.
That is very good for been neutral yamizi. Also it also doesn't matter that you do not have any tradition now. Prehaps you may find one one day, prehaps you may not. The important thing is to be open-minded, live right, be happy and of course help those who are in need.Originally posted by yamizi:I have always remind myself to post neutral and objective postings and comments although I may take things personal at times in my mind. But my objective in sharing and discussing here is not out to win anyone or anything but to find out what is the truth. Therefore, before I submit a comment on forum, I would read a few times to make sure it's not fuelled with my personal negative emotions into it.
I belong to no tradition. =)
Dhamma is not bounded by any traditions. =)Originally posted by oldkid:That is very good for been neutral yamizi. Also it also doesn't matter that you do not have any tradition now. Prehaps you may find one one day, prehaps you may not. The important thing is to be open-minded, live right, be happy and of course help those who are in need.![]()
Finally, after so many posts, discourses and diversions, I get an answer that is NOT:Originally posted by oxford mushroom:It is definitely not human, but likely bovine in nature. I have examined enough human skulls and teeth in my professional life to recognize human remains. The tooth as shown in the ST photograph was, is and will never be human.
So, is the tooth in the Relic Temple human or not? Don't give the craps like:Honestly, we all know the answer! But I am amazed at the GREAT DENIAL! The reluctance to face the issue squarely and instead project to so many 'conditions' - Faith, Dhamma, Liberation, etc.
1) Yes, but
2) No, but
3) Faith, more faith
4) Neither Yes or No
5) It does not matter
No, I am not trolling but really questioning AEN's basis of his faith.Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Nah he is just trolling, don't mind him.
Originally posted by TheGoodEarth:Seems that TheGoodEarth has struck the problem dead-on...
Honestly, we all know the answer! But I am amazed at the GREAT DENIAL! The reluctance to face the issue squarely and instead project to so many 'conditions' - Faith, Dhamma, Liberation, etc.
Now, the True Test is: what are Buddhists going to do?
1) continue to blindly believe it is the Buddha's tooth
2) shocked with disbelief, but go into more denial
3) brush it off as 'it does not matter'
4) faith, faith, faith, why bother about truth?
[b]Now that I know the Truth, it shall set me Free![/b]