Sometimes I also have spontaneous sensations of strong tension and pressure or tingling on my forehead, in between my eyebrow. I don't practise third eye meditation, and I usually just ignore it. Some experienced practitioner said it's nothing serious and nothing to be concerned about, some other experience practitioner said I'm 'awakening my third eye', but honestly I don't care.Originally posted by jackal33:Just wanna ask more about third eye meditation. Third eye meditation is meditataing by visualising and focusing on the supposedly third eye area. How do you feel after doing this meditation for like 3 minutes?
In my case, my forehead starts having a pain and i feel wierd all over. I wonder if this is called deep meditation where eventually, i can visualise having nothing around me and i am in empty space. Furthermore, i also feel my body is very light. Is this normal?
Regarding psychic and supernatural abilities, I must first say that Buddhism discourages the seeking or cultivation of psychic powers.. Supernatural powers in Buddhism should only comes as a side effect of our Buddhist practise.. if we try to seek or develop these supernatural powers before gaining insights and wisdom, they can even lead us astray and deviated from the path of the Dharma as we will become attached to many of the paranormal phenomena and therefore not be able to develop true spiritual wisdom. Therefore it must be emphasised that though non-locality activities may be experienced such as the 5 powers, one may still not necessarily realise the non-locality of our true nature.My taiwanese teacher (even before he had met my Master he was very strong in the area of supernatural powers) had first hand experience of the really bad situation he got himself into by misusing his supernatural powers. He almost lost his life as a result, and was reprimanded by my Master.
Also to try to develope these supernatural powers may be just a waste of time... one better cherish our precious lifetime as a human being and devote our entire energy to the practise of the Dharma that leads to wisdom and liberation. Therefore there is a Buddhist story, amazing abilities by concentration
One day the Buddha met an ascetic who sat by the bank of a river. This ascetic had practised austerities for 25 years. The Buddha asked him what he had received for all his labor. The ascetic proudly replied that, now at last, he could cross the river by walking on the water. The Buddha pointed out that this gain was insignificant for all the years of labor, since he could cross the river using a ferry for one penny!
Regarding supernatural abilities, generally speaking in Buddhism there are six kind of supernatural abilities, the first 5 being able to be developed by any one -- not necessarily Buddhists, non-Buddhist yogis that practise any form of shamatha, and many other religions also develope these abilities, or even through occult practises and so on. Only the sixth supernatural ability is restricted to those who have attained enlightenment, those who have transformed consciousness to wisdom. With regards to the six supernatural powers, you can read yourself: http://web.ukonline.co.uk/buddhism/tinhla01.htm
That URL also states: ...It must, however, be understood that the Buddha did not consider every trance to be necessarily good, for it must aim at the right end. He, however, realised that there were those who devoted to yogic exercises to acquire supernatural powers. So the Buddha refined the practice by telling them that even such powers could be acquired only through the practice of righteouaness and wisdom. ( Akankheyya Sutta, S. B. E. Vol. XI, ) Acquisition of supernatural powers does not confer any spiritual advantage. It was for this reason that the Buddha forbade his disciples to work miracles for display...
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:Yes meditation should properly guided, with proper and correct instructions.
hmm, i suggest you don't try it... it can have undesirable results.
wisdom is good, but i don't think wisdom comes from meditating.Wisdom can come from the correct practise of Meditation. Buddha also practised meditation for 49 days under the Bodhi tree before Buddhahood.
Originally posted by jackal33:I'll let my friends answer you on this.
Hey
Thanks for the advice. Well, i was not told by anyone to feel the empty space around me. Its just that i suddenly felt that when i visualise myself in an empty space, my body just seem to be like that as well.
Btw, do you actually feel afraid when you feel so light in the body and mind? I guess i also wouldnt try third eye meditation though i still dont understand the pain on my forehead, is it really my body trying to open a so called third eye or is it that i focus too hard on a particular area of my body?
I believe enlightenment will come slowly over years of meditation in retreat. However, for me, i personally feel that my meditation will only only allow me to relax and visualise and think very clearly on issues when in a deep meditative state.Not really. I have many teachers and friends who attained enlightenment without going to retreats. My taiwanese teacher attained enlightenment a few days after meeting my Master -- he didn't go for whatever retreats. My enlightened forum friends too I haven't seen them going for retreats whatsoever. But usually to deepen one's enlightenment experience is a longer process, and of course if one has retired and has the time to dedicate more time to practise it will be good, as many practitioners and my taiwanese teacher has done so.
yo after you open your 3rd eye already, if you don't find it fun, do you know how to close it back or not?Originally posted by jackal33:Just wanna ask more about third eye meditation. Third eye meditation is meditataing by visualising and focusing on the supposedly third eye area. How do you feel after doing this meditation for like 3 minutes?
In my case, my forehead starts having a pain and i feel wierd all over. I wonder if this is called deep meditation where eventually, i can visualise having nothing around me and i am in empty space. Furthermore, i also feel my body is very light. Is this normal?
That means an Arya, a noble person who have entered the noble path. In Buddhism, an Arya is at least a Sotapanna (Stream enterer) or a 1st Bhumi Bodhisattva.Originally posted by knightlll:What do you guys mean by " enlightened pple " ?![]()
Hi, actually that is 'deva eye', not 'third eye'. Angarigika was told to practise developing the deva eye as a substitute for his physical eyes. Third eye is something else...Originally posted by bohiruci:Practise the third eye meditation is not very common
During Buddha's time ,Anarigika was a lazy bhikkhu who often dozed off in Buddha's sermon .
Buddha warned him abt the Karmic consequence of doing so .
By the time he turned blind , its too late,
but with determination and great remorse and resolve , Anarika attained the "third eye" meditation
I dunno who in the Mahayana Sangha still have this level of samadhi
the best is still doing the Visualisation and Contemplation on Impermanence
in Mahayana before one decide to try this out
Sorry ,I am a mantra and Buddha name chanter
Thanks for the explanation.Originally posted by An Eternal Now:That means an Arya, a noble person who have entered the noble path. In Buddhism, an Arya is at least a Sotapanna (Stream enterer) or a 1st Bhumi Bodhisattva.
Such a person have at least had a glimpse of the Ultimate Reality/Emptiness and Nirvana through direct experience.
Haha sorryOriginally posted by bohiruci:OEiAEN , you are more and more like Letterman show liao
people paiseh to have the msn conversation posted lah![]()
Anyway good to see your posting ,
its just one of the many innovative ways to inject new impetus to forum topics![]()
Originally posted by jackal33:Yes.
Yeah thats for helping me explain the true meaning of the third eye meditation. This thrid eye is mroe like a eye to look into yourself. ITs more twoards self awakening.
Its not like you do the thrid eye meditation for 1 hour then after that can see spirits lol.However, "third eye practise" or opening chakras, activiting whatever thing in the head or what, has nothing to do with Buddhism. Buddhism doesnt teach these things.
I guess the whole idea for this meditation is to really visualise an eye that looks into you and this eye is right above the centre of your eye brows. I tried another third eye meditation and the forehead does not heard that bad now. I even feel that the focusing on the forehead is really good as you can really go into deep meditation easier even though you are in a rather crowded and noisy place.
Hi,Originally posted by jackal33:Yeah thats for helping me explain the true meaning of the third eye meditation. This thrid eye is mroe like a eye to look into yourself. ITs more twoards self awakening. Its not like you do the thrid eye meditation for 1 hour then after that can see spirits lol.
I guess the whole idea for this meditation is to really visualise an eye that looks into you and this eye is right above the centre of your eye brows. I tried another third eye meditation and the forehead does not heard that bad now. I even feel that the focusing on the forehead is really good as you can really go into deep meditation easier even though you are in a rather crowded and noisy place.
Originally posted by jackal33:Just wanna ask more about third eye meditation. Third eye meditation is meditataing by visualising and focusing on the supposedly third eye area. How do you feel after doing this meditation for like 3 minutes?
Originally posted by jackal33:Hey
Thanks for the advice. Well, i was not told by anyone to feel the empty space around me. Its just that i suddenly felt that when i visualise myself in an empty space, my body just seem to be like that as well.
Btw, do you actually feel afraid when you feel so light in the body and mind? I guess i also wouldnt try third eye meditation though i still dont understand the pain on my forehead, is it really my body trying to open a so called third eye or is it that i focus too hard on a particular area of my body?
I believe enlightenment will come slowly over years of meditation in retreat. However, for me, i personally feel that my meditation will only only allow me to relax and visualise and think very clearly on issues when in a deep meditative state.
hi there, i'll just share a little.Originally posted by jackal33:Yeah thats for helping me explain the true meaning of the third eye meditation. This thrid eye is mroe like a eye to look into yourself. ITs more twoards self awakening. Its not like you do the thrid eye meditation for 1 hour then after that can see spirits lol.
Hi... may I ask were you writing this based on your experiences..? (just curious)Originally posted by paperflower:i say these because through the disappearances of body & mind, one can directly see into the nature of reality. the empty space you so called visualised has no observer in fact. it is not really the consciousness but this empty space is the pure awareness like pervading all space. here you cannot identify with anything or give a name to even the space you perceive because when you want to locate the mind as in form, it is all pervading and cannot be pointed out and even you wanna call space - space, you can't possibly do so because it's also the one mind.
yesOriginally posted by An Eternal Now:Hi... may I ask were you writing this based on your experiences..? (just curious)
wow, interesting. so how you going to proceed further from there.Originally posted by paperflower:i'd also love to share one of the meditative moments i experienced. readers please read with discernment or for the fun of reading. descriptions are not 100% accurate because experiences are not that easy to put into words. moderators, if this content deem inappropriate please delete.
Meditative Moments:-
What I experienced / How I practicedÂ….