Not just da bei chou.. u can chant other Buddha name too.Originally posted by metalcar:hmm see hu u meet lo.. if u have real bad karma.. those tings dun care whether u got wisdom or peace or chant wadeva tings.. imo every mantra got diff effect.. da bei zhou... if u wan to ward off asuras n above.. no use de -.- they love it.. if having peace n wisdom is enuff.. buddist temple no nid to put the 4 heavenly kings on top of the temple .. guan di and wei tuo inside the temple le ma..
as for normal dirty tings.. chant wadeva ting oso can.. but watch out for tat da bei zhou oso.. chant at wrong time not beri gd =.=
di zhang wang pusa.. oh ya.. TS.. u can go temple every 7th month chant di zhang pusa pu wen pin.. after tat u say "yuan yi ci gong de, hui xiang yu wo de yuan qing zhai zu".. as for those hu noe u got really bad karma.. n if u can.. go chant oso lo.. there might be sum bad effects happenin on u..Originally posted by Isis:Not just da bei chou.. u can chant other Buddha name too.
Like Namo Guan Shi yin pusa, Namo Amituofo, Di Zhang Wang Pusa and other chanting.
The dharma protectors will come to your protection. If you have taken the five precepts and has kept them. You are also under protection for every one precepts that you keep.
Please don't say wisdom is not important when you meet those beings. It is because of past life karma cause, it because of ignorance that leads you to have the karmic conditions to meet them. It is also what trapped us in samsara and suffer. It is also ignorance that lead those devious beings to come and attack you.
All dharma, in their true essence are equal; neither high or low, neither more or less..
/\
I need to go out now..Originally posted by metalcar:di zhang wang pusa.. oh ya.. TS.. u can go temple every 7th month chant di zhang pusa pu wen pin.. after tat u say "yuan yi ci gong de, hui xiang yu wo de yuan qing zhai zu".. as for those hu noe u got really bad karma.. n if u can.. go chant oso lo.. there might be sum bad effects happenin on u..
hmm "It is also ignorance that lead those devious beings to come and attack you." .. hmm wad does this mean .. err maybe u can enlighten me abit..
i guess i am better now but it is just that i could not practise 2 of the five precepts like not to lie n not to go n visit gigoloOriginally posted by Isis:Hi kumangal,
It is a good thing to do good deeds and with wholesome intention of dedicating merits to them so that they will alleviate of suffering or to be well and happy. Do continue to practise chanting.
Do you still commit bad deeds in this present lifetime? It seems like a never-ending cycle for u to repay karmic debts, don't u think ?
Spirtual practice come from understanding of what you are doing now. Read up dharma book, attending dharma talks by dharma teachers. It could bring your spirtual practice to another level. With better understanding, wisdom and faith will develop and you can resolve obstacles in your life better. Blind faith isn't wise and is not encouraged by the Buddha.
And you can also dedicate the merits to them while listening to dharma talks.
Originally posted by bohiruci:As said, how are you going to prove that they are indeed and genuine established masters? If you believe that it is your own belief. We are of not that level and are unable to truly know what is in their mind. And as said, it is not as if all of the suttas in the tipitaka ask you to recite the 6-syllabus mantra. There are more meaningful and practical things to do.
\
I am still back to the point .If Buddha introduces various Bodhisattva who encourage for centuries the practice of reciting Om mani Padme Hum and
reciting Namo Amitabha for centuries alot of people have realised Great Wisdom and Energy to overcome Difficulties ,I am still surprised why are you still here , emphasising your own view of Buddha Sakyamuni
I am pretty amused
If you can attain the Whole Dharmakaya and become a Buddha based on your so-called experience
I will definitely bow to you .If not , pls respect the [b]established practice for centuries
That 6-syllabus mantra if to be interpreted literally really means that. Of course you can add in other meanings if you like to. Like a certain lama said 1 syllabus representing shutting down the door to 1 realm. And therefore shutting the doors of 6 realms of rebirth. Symbolically sounds nice and inspiring lah (to be honest), but technically and doctrinally speaking there are many flaws to it.Originally posted by bohiruci:
Noble Eightfold path is the basic of All teaching of Buddhism .I have never indicate any interest in what is more popular .Perhaps you should focus ,the thread starter is Kumangal ,not meOriginally posted by yamizi:That 6-syllabus mantra if to be interpreted literally really means that. Of course you can add in other meanings if you like to. Like a certain lama said 1 syllabus representing shutting down the door to 1 realm. And therefore shutting the doors of 6 realms of rebirth. Symbolically sounds nice and inspiring lah (to be honest), but technically and doctrinally speaking there are many flaws to it.
[/quote]
there isnt any flaws with that .Its just that you not convinced that Avalokiteshvara Great Compassion Ability .Whether or not you advance from there , doesnt warrant the explanation "simply " in your earlier post .If you not sure , just say not sure .
I do not think that I have injure my buddha-nature. I used to recite buddha-name too. We have to advance from there. It is a fact.
Or if you simply dun rejoice in such practice ,follow what Isis does in the other thread
quote "Isis said :perhaps you can ask AEN or other on the forum "
Even if you reborn to Amitabha's pureland, you can only attain Mahasattva, still cannot attain Anuttraksamyaksambodhi. It is a fact.
[/quote]
of course we cannot attain Anuttrasamyaksambodhi in Pureland .Its hard fact
the highest is still Apipachek [Final stage of Mahasattva] ,but remembering our purpose is not to stay there to becomes Buddha ,but to go back to Saha World .I can tell you if other slack in Western Paradise, I wont .Thats priceless value stated for this promise .yup,thats right
So since we are here as human, then make good use of this human life for practice lo.
[quote]
How come you like not supportive in Buddha's Noble Eightfold Paths? It is preached in the very first sermon in the Buddha's discourses. You are like more interested in preaching what is more popular.
Originally posted by yamizi:then may I ask how you going to prove that Om mani Padme hum doesnt work since so many master have accomplished and Great Realised
[quote]
As said, how are you going to prove that they are [b]indeed and genuine established masters? If you believe that it is your own belief. We are of not that level and are unable to truly know what is in their mind. And as said, it is not as if all of the suttas in the tipitaka ask you to recite the 6-syllabus mantra. There are more meaningful and practical things to do.
I guess that if you take a closer look at Expedient means , there are a thorough discussion on expedient means.Mani recitation is said by Sakyamuni
If you have notice the difference between the Early Buddhist Teachings and the latter developments of Buddhism, recitation of mantra and buddha name are obviously expedient methods. In fact in the Pali Canon, I think Buddha mentioned that reciting of dhrani (at that time He was refering to the bramins) are meaningless activities.
you are contradicting .You lumped two different sentence of different ideas to a paragraph. Thats not proper english
Reciting of mantra and buddha-names were a latter development in order to make Buddhism an easier approach. It is so obvious that you don't see any mantra in Pali Canon and mantra only appears from Mahayana onwards.
historically you are right ,but technically you are showing an assumption
I don't see myself as emphasizing my own view, rather I hope that people would not be so easily taken popular view and believing Buddhism to be just that --- reciting. There are many important things. If recitation can indeed lead to enlightenment, then Buddha must have wasted His time in preaching the Turning of the Dhamma Wheel Sutta to the pioneer 5 bhinkhus. Might as well just ask them to recite then settle liao what.
Have we mentioned pompous ritual like singing hymns first then must put Big Joss Stick then in a Big temple ?no .It still a recitation ,why you bring this subject into the forum proper when I have never mention anything on ritual?
I always believe that Buddha had definitely gave an alternate view as compare to many mainstream religion.
What alternate view?
And that the spiritual advancement is about the quality of the heart, not some rituals or rites to be performed.
u need Great Wisdom. If You havent reach the level ,dun start thinking Mani Recitation cannot lead to First realisation
But of course if you sincerely believe that just by reciting 6-syllabus mantra itself is enough for enlightenment, then all the best to you.[/b]
Originally posted by longchen:Yes!
Just my opinion,
If one want to really clear karma, there is no easy way out. Must pass through some difficult period of time. Karma is habituated energy... can be mental, physical or emotional.
In fact, the whole need to fix things is a karmic grasping.
Yes and what prevents the seeing? Images may or may not appear but the mind more often than not filters before the ‘seeing’.
For karma resolution, one does not really need to see what happened in the past life in order to be healed.
Truly so! You may want to see ‘clearing’ from another perspective.
One is however required to be very 'attentive' to whatever sensations and reactions that arises. By allowing these sensations and feeling to arise and not habitually block them with fear and mental denial, we may actually discover new ways of viewing/experiencing a condition that allow for karmic release.
It is important to know how to just let whatever that arises to be just that and not allowing chains of thoughts to mess up the situation.
Pure presence cannot be understood apart from conditions. Not only physical conditions but to all conditions including mental, social, economical, political and spiritual, not to mention business conditions . Still the mirror sensation void of a center must be experienced as clear as possible in all circumstances. That is the whole purpose of having insight into emptiness -- seeing spaciousness for every arising condition. While non-dual experience dissolves the Subject-Object split, emptiness nature dissolves the Presence-Conditions split.
Also the inherent compassion that is within us can soften some unpleasantness and aid in the resolution.
Also, conventionally, because the body can be subjectable to harm. Sometimes, there may be a need to response in a way that get the body out of harm's way. So, it is not just a case of 'all is illusion' that leads to the disregard of the physical condition. No doubt at another level, 'body is not mine' but compassion nevertheless necessitate a skillful response in the conventional sense.
Wow! Another wonderful post by Thusness.Originally posted by Thusness:Truly so! You may want to see ‘clearing’ from another perspective.
Since there is merely letting whatever arises to subside on their own accord with luminous clarity, it is not so much of 'clearing' of karmic propensities. It is rather a ‘non-re-enforcing' process. Ignorance unknowingly deepens the tendencies due to dualistic action.
I used to find this a great challenge because the sense of self never fails to arise during challenging conditions but that is perfectly fine now. Smile However one must know the exact reason why it is fine and the mechanism of how karmic tendencies works. This knowing of 'exact reason' is not a form of rational deduction but rather a form of reflection due to clarity of the process when there is non-interference.
If it doesn’t arise, it is not cleared. The very arising is itself a clearing process; otherwise with a ‘seed’ latent and without condition for it to arise, how is it cleared? Therefore one must turn ‘conditions’ to practice. Mr. Green
>>>>..........
Pure presence cannot be understood apart from conditions. Not only physical conditions but to all conditions including mental, social, economical, political and spiritual, not to mention business conditions . Still the mirror sensation void of a center must be experienced as clear as possible in all circumstances. That is the whole purpose of having insight into emptiness -- seeing spaciousness for every arising condition. While non-dual experience dissolves the Subject-Object split, emptiness nature dissolves the Presence-Conditions split.
Just a sharing.
Hehe…Ur articles are full of sincerities and have given ‘yuan’ for me to reflect my understandings. The benefits are reciprocated -- one body, one manifestation.Originally posted by longchen:Wow! Another wonderful post by Thusness.
Thusness, you wrote it so clearly
Thanks for the sharing.
Hi bod,Originally posted by bohiruci:u need Great Wisdom. If You havent reach the level ,dun start thinking Mani Recitation cannot lead to First realisation
Like a infant who dont know how to run , have to crawl first .
First lets summarise the whole view of discussion
Some like Kopi-O kosong , some kopi-O siu tai or Kopi (like me)
Since Avalokiteshvara Who out of Great Compassion introduce the
Om Mani Padme Hum recitation for all sentient beings
does it mean that we see the words we liberated.NO!
Practise is the hardwork needed .
Pureland school , Esoteric school are different approaches to the Question of Life and Death ,but they all going to one source ,Buddhahood .
Attaining Buddhahood is alot of hardwork .If the seeds is not even cultivated ,
whats the point of dwelling in the richness of Buddha teaching when dont wish to realise for oneself ,and insist on a certain teaching ?
Some Mahayana master dun rejoice in Amitabha recitation ,but they still prostrate to Amitabha .It personal "family mannerism " in the Buddhist family
Likewise ,if you feel no need to develop faith (saddha) ,just practise on , then you are taking a mere academic aspect of the whole teaching itself .Whats the point of Buddha keep emphasising Faith , Understanding ,Practice and Realisation .
Dear Yamizi ,
Walk out of your ivory tower and open your mind towards other school of practise .
You will realise the Lotus Sutra will Guiding you
Walk the Lotus Sutra ,not Lotus Sutra walk (hog) you
Errrrrr......... Gigolo .Originally posted by kumangal:i guess i am better now but it is just that i could not practise 2 of the five precepts like not to lie n not to go n visit gigolo
Then cut down your lying and visiting to gigolo lo.Originally posted by kumangal:i guess i am better now but it is just that i could not practise 2 of the five precepts like not to lie n not to go n visit gigolo
Originally posted by yamizi:it depends:
If recitation can indeed lead to enlightenment, then Buddha must have wasted His time in preaching the Turning of the Dhamma Wheel Sutta to the pioneer 5 bhinkhus. Might as well just ask them to recite then settle liao what.
y u say i am braveOriginally posted by knightlll:Kumangal is so brave.
Nothing intense Isis. You should take it just to mean that the mind explains away what that is presented before it is understood by way of mere reflection. Actually many images surfaced but are filtered or explain away very rapidly. To the conscious mind, some of these images never even existed. The mind is not even aware of their existence. Nothing more than that.Originally posted by Isis:Quote from long chen:
Hi
Don't mind...
can elaborate on what do u mean images may or may not appear but the mind more often than not filters before the 'seeing' ?
Interested to know the mechancism of the mind here.
Originally posted by yamizi:Hi yamizi
Hi bod,
But to say that it is the [b]only guaranteed way to gain enlightenment then I will have to disagree. Because to my understanding, it is definitely not so. If 6-syllabus mantra-reciting is the only way, that would have undermine the various other methods of cultivation as well.
...[/b]