Why not? My dharma center is starting and intending to develop cell grps in such fashion. And im sure other buddhist grps have done the same as well.Originally posted by Spnw07:As most of you here would already know by now, I am presently a beginner Buddhist, but yet prior to that I have been studying at Christian schools for a decade. The majority of my friends and acquaintances are mostly Christians and paiseh to say, I really have a good impression of their organisational structure in developing the leadership of their youths and young adults.
I really like what they call 'cell group' meetings in church. Encouraging and sharing with one another, forging strong spiritual and friendship bonds...etc.
For example, if you stay in Punggol, there will be a person assigned to take care of the spiritual development of members in that area. I think they call that position 'Area overseer'. Down the hierarchy, you would then have the cell-group leaders and so on.
I have not joined any Buddhist youth organisations at the moment and am interested to find out if there are any Buddhist organisations that engages its youth and all new members through a 'cell-group' model like most, if not all churches in Singapore.
Pardon me for my naivety or idealistic thinking, but I can't help but wonder constantly like: "hey, if only Buddhists temples and organisations can adopt the cell-group model like Christian organisations, then newcomers to Buddhism or to the particular Buddhist organisation would not feel so alone, or confused when practising the faith.
What's more, we can show to youths out there who are free-thinkers that Buddhist temples and affiliated organisations are lively places, full of human warmth, that's not merely about imparting dharma teachings and active volunteering, but also to enjoy each other's company through various activities and meetings to foster bonding and camaraderie. Not forgetting that through such group interactions, we actually can guide and encourage one another during times of spiritual struggles, that each and everyone of us may encounter at different stages of our lives.
Whew! Writing the above felt good. Even if I gonna kena flamed for my ignorance or idealistic thinking, I'm nonetheless grateful for having the opportunity to say this out more easily and comfortably than during real-life and real-time interactions with people or fellow Buddhists.
Amituofo!
There is a serious question about the sanity and logic of various Buddhist groups in the first place.Originally posted by bohiruci:Singapore Buddhist community have an serious issue .
That is no two temple group can sit down to discuss on teaching due to different venerable Point of View.I encountered this umpteen of times and got a few scolding from their "realisations"
I can say the segregation is clearly defined and only a few buddhist group can work hand in hand with Singapore Buddhist Federation perfectly
this happen also in Christian Church in singapore .I dun thnk u can see City Harvest Church Combining to perform a christian xmas celebration with New Creation and Assembly of God ,St John St Margaret and Methodist Church of Singapore
basically issue of the line is clearly defined .
standing on a neutral POV is still the best in Wisdom Bliss .
some of the forummer encountered the worst backlash of office politics in some buddhist organisation and its quite sad to see such trend happening
which even christian counterpart not spared
Wow ! What happened ? For power or they cant control their speeches ?Originally posted by bohiruci:some of the forummer encountered the worst backlash of office politics in some buddhist organisation and its quite sad to see such trend happening
which even christian counterpart not spared
Yes, if only Buddhist organisations and temples are able to set in place a cultural value of pastoral care in reaching out to fellow buddhists, especially new ones, how good it would be...Originally posted by yamizi:The function of the cell group is to provide pastoral care. Pastoral care is not just about preaching about bible but give care and counselling to the members who encountered problem. This is a much of a cultural value that the organisation has to set pace.
To my experience, christians have the value of sacrifice which is I don't find it from buddhists. When there is an issue, christians will pray and put into actions. Buddhists will just pray and just probably sit and radiate metta and do little or nothing to really alleviate the problem.
I am currently a volunteer religious counsellor with Singapore Prison Service. It is very 'encouraging' when everytime I go to the prison, one or (at the most) two buddhist counsellors to a group; whereas christian counsellors (at least to the prison I'm visiting) never have less than six. There was once I saw eleven christian counsellors going to the same group.Yes, most christians go in a rather large group for almost all activities and some more you can feel their enthusiasm and sincerity in reaching out to you, to try to help you in a practical way. I admire and respect all my Christians friends for their sincerity, enthusiasm and commitment.
They see a problem, they pray, and they become the solution to the problem, or at least they try. I really admire and respect them for this.
I agree with you on most of the points above, but I'm not sure if it's ok to really to use the word 'demand' when respect is a basic virtue to observe regardless of one's religious belief. It is stated in certain scriptures like the Brahma Net sutra that layman should not criticise the monastic order or regard them poorly based on their human flaws alone.Originally posted by yamizi:Lastly, having a cell group would have meant that the members would have a more closer relationship to the cell group than to the preacher. Because the preacher can go on leave and a stand-in will hold the service. As said, sermon is to bring message across, it is the respective cell groups that handles the feedback part.
I think this would have definitely be a no-no situation to Buddhism. Where monks still demand respect to them. So if such respect is 'shifted' to a layman (assuming a cell group leader is layman), I think there may be out of questions to many venerables in Singapore. In fact, it has been a culture that norm buddhists have. That monks must definitely know more than layman, which may not be necessary true.
Okay, I have talked too much. Spwn07, if you're really interested, you will really have to join a church/cell for sometime to observe how they run, then observe some buddhist gatherings and observe how they run. Compare and contrast and you will see the light.Yamizi, I don't think you have talked too much. At least you were willing to spend time to share with me and all of us here what you have observed so far and what you personally feel about the current state of Buddhism locally.
I don't like buddhist gatherings because when comes to food, it has to be vegetarian. Vegetarian food may not necessary be healthy too. I bet that may be one of the disadvantages that stops young people from coming.Could be so, I think, but that might mean more needs to be said and done to let the public know about the purpose of vegetarianism in both religious and non-religious circles.
I think I have heard about the cell group with RC. A truly successful cell-management is that it can really grow like a cell. That's why it is call 'cell group'. Hope all the best to your RC cell.What's rc group? I don't think i can really start a buddhist cell group, cos i seriously lack the capabilities and virtues required of a Buddhist youth cell grp leader.
mistyblue-person of action.Originally posted by mistyblue:If want to organize, might as well organize some activity where people can help out - such as helping in kitchen or participate in organizing party for old folks or sick people etc. Generally i prefer to do these things given the opportunity than to sit down and listen to another session of talk.
Here's a place with Buddhist course
http://www.basicbuddhism.org/
Agree, that's my experience so far too. However, the basics like the 4 noble truths and the eightfold pathway are common to all. We, as buddhists, should try to brush up up our knowledge and personal cultivation on that. And most importantly, we need to learn more, so that we can give lots of real-life examples to others on how to apply them. Hold lively discussions on how to react and behave for certain moral dilemmas with respects to real-life situations of applying basic Buddhist concepts. I personally feel that venerables, for most of the time, do not understand the difficulties faced by laymen buddhists, even though before they were ordained, they were like us too.Originally posted by yamizi:Firstly, at least to what I had experienced, christian cell groups talk very practical things that can help in life. Buddhist teachings, otherwise, often talks about very abstract of even weird ideas (as experienced when my inmates told me some of what other counsellors had told them). You see, even among buddhists, we probably can't even come to an agreed and concluded teachings to share with others.
Secondly, there is only one God in christianity. No matter which church you're from; what denominations are you, etc, end of the day you pray to only one God.Apparently, this makes it appealing for the public (young and old) as they are able to understand and practise their faith more easily.
Thirdly, to create a cell group or a network of cell group will take up a lot of time and money. Monetary speaking, it has no return. Besides been well versed in the doctrines, cell leaders has to attend at least some kind of basic counselling skills, to counsel to members who are troubled; time management skills in small group settings (ie. moderate the dialogues in the cell group, not to exceed time etc); oral communications (one may know the Dhamma but may not necessary talk well, know of some venerables, good in speech, bad in writing and vice-versa), etc. So I think in any organisations, seeing that there is no immediate monetary return, they would have probably drop the idea.This boils down to attracting talented yet committed young people to come to contribute to the organisations involved. The whole chain of reaching out to new members, training group leaders and future young venerables, is the most important thing for all Buddhists to take note of and discuss seriously and eventually come to a common agreement on a list of possible effective and practical solutions to the issue.
I will say churches are more far-sighted, 'youth is the pillar of the future', we often hear this and the churches are working hard in reaching out to the youth. Not forgetting that churches has regular tidings (some churches no longer make it a mandatory practice), so they will have certain financial basics to fund cell-management activities.
I agree with you on walking the talk, but dharma classes are there to actually help us reflect upon ourselves more effectively than what simply volunteering in various areas of life could do for us.Originally posted by mistyblue:If want to organize, might as well organize some activity where people can help out - such as helping in kitchen or participate in organizing party for old folks or sick people etc. Generally i prefer to do these things given the opportunity than to sit down and listen to another session of talk.
What's rc group?Ren Cheng.. my Buddhist organisation. More specifically he's refering to my dharma center. www.humanbliss.com.sg
Well I'm not sure had mistyblue attended cell group session before but then cell group session is not just another session of talk.Originally posted by mistyblue:If want to organize, might as well organize some activity where people can help out - such as helping in kitchen or participate in organizing party for old folks or sick people etc. Generally i prefer to do these things given the opportunity than to sit down and listen to another session of talk.
I agree with yamizi that Buddhist teachings and practices have to be adapted to fit into our modern context. I also think the same in that the primary function of the cell group is to create bond among church's members. For without bond, we would just be like colleagues, where the relationship is mostly utility-based. If there's nothing I think you can help me on, I just ignore you. But if I spot even something wrong with you, I'm very quick to point it out even in full view of others. Surely this is not a healthy environment for one's spiritual or personal growth, isn't it?Originally posted by yamizi:Well I'm not sure had mistyblue attended cell group session before but then cell group session is not just another session of talk.
The session would often start with simple praise and worship. Then the cell group leader would open up by reliterate the last sermon. Sometimes, additional bible verses will be supplied to further elaborate the sermon. Everyone will get a chance to speak up what they understand and how they feel about the message. Cell group leader act as a moderator to mould and guide the understanding of its members.
Sometimes they will pray for members who have problems and talk it out in to help to the best of their abilities. In professional counselling, it is important to 'close an issue'. Cell group leader or pastor (if it's serious case, they will have to refer to a pastor who is skilled in counselling as well) will either close the case or reassure by keeping up with the progress of the troubled member.
They can take 'shifts' in visiting hospitalised members so that they don't feel alone but loved and cared. Sometimes if the parent church has activities, these cell groups can be modified into small project group to help bits and pieces. Sometimes the parent church may organised social outing, going to old folks home etc, and these cell groups would go.
So the function of the cell group can be very versatile. The primary function is to create bond among the church's members.
The problem with buddhist gatherings is that it seems that they must always do something in relation to charity. It is not saying that it is not good but you cannot assume that because it is good, then buddhists have to naturally like to come for such activities! The society is ever-changing and that the management skills should be modified to fit to modern context.
Though it is true in the scriptures that we should not criticise the fault of the monks/nuns but definitely it is clear that the Buddha mentioned that we respect monks/nuns not simply by the robe they don but by the virtues they carry. Again I'm not saying that it is wrong to respect them but then you must understand that by the nature of cell group management, it is natural that members will be closer to the cell group members than with the monk.I agree with you that it is natural that members will be close to cell group members than with a venerable cos it is stated explicitly or implicitly, I can't remember, that those of the monastic order should not be too 'familiar' with laymen, even if it's Buddhists.
There was this particular big-shot monk in Singapore who attended a funeral wake. When he arrived, one of his personal assistance announced his arrival and everyone in the wake must stand. Then one of the family members of the deceased offered a cup of tea to him. His assistant asked that family member what tea is that and learning that tea is not what that big-shot monk like, told that guy this big-shot monk doesn't drink this type of tea but the other type (can't remember which kind of chinese tea liao) and made that poor fella to make the tea which the big-shot monk like.
I don't remember Buddha ever refused any dana. Maybe nowadays monks supercede Buddha?LOL