Anybody with children studying in a Buddhist primary school like Maha Bodhi, Mee Toh? Does Buddhist school focus more on moral/religious education rather than competition and examination?
Hey there everyone (:
I was a graduate from Manjusri Secondary School by the Singapore Buddhist Federation 6 years ago (:
From my 4 years there, I could say that the school focuses more on moral and religious education than competition and examination.
I remember that every morning, Buddhist students would recite this and it's not compulsory for all students..
"We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Buddha, and respect the Buddha as our teacher. We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Dharma and practise the noble teaching. We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Sangha and accept the guidance of the Sangha. We pledge ourselves to cultivate kindness, to keep right speech and to do good deeds. With the blessings of the Triple Gem, may our wisdom grow for the betterment of our conduct and studies. May our deeds be filled with loving kindness and compassions. May all beings attain the state of calmness, peace, prosperity and happiness.
Every Monday, Dharma teachers would be invited to teach during our first lesson of the day. Students are not obliged to listen to whatever the Dharma teachers, but out of respect most students would participate.
We have Vesak Day celebration to commemorate the Birth, Death and the Nirvana of the Buddha. We have the showering of the Prince Siddhartha ceremony in school and invites our school supervisor to be part of the celebration as well. (:
Originally posted by TIB744U:Hey there everyone (:
I was a graduate from Manjusri Secondary School by the Singapore Buddhist Federation 6 years ago (:
From my 4 years there, I could say that the school focuses more on moral and religious education than competition and examination.
I remember that every morning, Buddhist students would recite this and it's not compulsory for all students..
"We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Buddha, and respect the Buddha as our teacher. We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Dharma and practise the noble teaching. We wholeheartedly take refuge in the Sangha and accept the guidance of the Sangha. We pledge ourselves to cultivate kindness, to keep right speech and to do good deeds. With the blessings of the Triple Gem, may our wisdom grow for the betterment of our conduct and studies. May our deeds be filled with loving kindness and compassions. May all beings attain the state of calmness, peace, prosperity and happiness.
Every Monday, Dharma teachers would be invited to teach during our first lesson of the day. Students are not obliged to listen to whatever the Dharma teachers, but out of respect most students would participate.
We have Vesak Day celebration to commemorate the Birth, Death and the Nirvana of the Buddha. We have the showering of the Prince Siddhartha ceremony in school and invites our school supervisor to be part of the celebration as well. (:
Its a pity we have so few Buddhists schools in Singapore. Only three (? Maha Bodhi, Mee Toh and Manjushri) in a country where 42% of its population are Buddhists ![]()
I would like to enrol my children in Buddhist schools, but the Buddhists schools are simply too few and far between.
Manjusri Secondary School is a result of great effort by many Buddhists such as �木�居士:
è¿™æ ·çš„äº‹ä¾‹å¤ªå¤šäº†ï¼Œä¸�èƒœæžšä¸¾ã€‚æˆ‘å…¶å®žå¾ˆæƒæ„§ï¼Œå› 为这些居士è€�è�©è�¨ï¼Œå¥½å¤šæˆ‘å¹¶ä¸�认得,我想,她们这么å�‘å¿ƒï¼Œæ˜¯å› ä¸ºå¥¹ä»¬çœŸå¿ƒçœŸæ„�ã€�全心全æ„�地信奉佛法,这些普通的信众,她(他)们æ‰�是所有佛教团体的ä¸å�šåŠ›é‡�。
Does the canteen sell only vegeterian food or got meat as well?
me sister from Mee Toh at the old campus at race course road
(fann wong sister oso from Mee Toh)
btw, affiliated to manjusri
one level oni 3 classes... bcos the sch damn small
vesak day celebration is more happening than any other festivals
their students take PSLE in the hall of the temple next door, which i think is kind cool...
other than tt, they don't enforce or have compulsory lessons on buddhist studies or wat... everything else the same as any other mainstream sec sch
Originally posted by TIB744U:Hey there everyone (:
Glad to know that. I think focus on moral before focus on competition and examination is a good approach for students. If one doesn't have good moral, having competition skill and knowledge can be a liability to a company and whole society.
Originally posted by Beyond Religion:Its a pity we have so few Buddhists schools in Singapore. Only three (? Maha Bodhi, Mee Toh and Manjushri) in a country where 42% of its population are Buddhists
I would like to enrol my children in Buddhist schools, but the Buddhists schools are simply too few and far between.
If really no chance to get in, then you do something to ensure he on buddhism path lor. Probably teach him on your own or help him get the right companion.
he relationship between teacher and student in Singapore makes me worried about our education system....
1. Our education is too exam-oriented... in such an environment, moral education takes a backseat
The 1st day entering school, teacher will 1st classify students according to "those who attends tuition and those who do not".
2. Parents are not teaching kids to respect teachers in school ... blow up cases are common today ... students use handphone to take teacher's. Teachers in turn, become unforgiving.
See blog by a teacher Wu Pei Qi (published in MyPaper today) at http://blog.sina.com.cn/s/blog_4cab83a601008gzj.html
Her teacher is really forgiving and obviously some teachers in Singapore are not so forgiving now !!
3. Teachers, giving up students perform poorly in exams even in primary one
Example: my colleague's son entered primary one (not top schools), recently, a teacher called my colleague to schoool and said "your kid's result is too poor, I give up and there is nothing I can do liao" .... imagine just primary one and the son is an obedient, kind-hearted kid.
Originally posted by JitKiat:Manjusri Secondary School is a result of great effort by many Buddhists such as �木�居士:
"è·�今 二å��一年å‰�,也就是1982å¹´å�§ï¼Œä¸ºäº†ç¹å»ºä½›æ•™æ–‡æ®Šä¸å¦ï¼Œæˆ‘作为总务,带领å…å��多组两百多个人,跑ä¸å…ƒä¼šï¼Œé‚£æ—¶æƒ…å½¢é�žå¸¸å›°éš¾ï¼Œå¾ˆéš¾è¿›åŽ»ã€‚æˆ‘è¿�用自己交游广阔的优势,å�‘动那些出租桌å�椅å�的朋å�‹å…¬å�¸ï¼Œå“ªé‡Œæœ‰ä¸å…ƒä¼šé€šçŸ¥æˆ‘,还跑到负责申办执照的部门,è°�æ�¥ç”³è¯·ï¼Œæˆ‘就在一边抄录。与æ¤å�Œæ—¶ï¼Œæˆ‘åœ¨å±…å£«æž—å¤§æ®¿å®£å¸ƒï¼Œä½ ä»¬é‚»å±…æœ‰ä¸å…ƒä¼šè¯·é€šçŸ¥æˆ‘,我就去。一时之间,消æ�¯ä»Žå››é�¢å…«æ–¹ä¼ æ�¥ã€‚
ä»Žå…æœˆä¸‰å��开始,我就驾ç�€è‡ªå·±æ–°ä¹°çš„车开始跑,晚上跑到å�Šå¤œä¸¤ç‚¹ï¼Œæ—©ä¸Šå…点ç��开眼ç�›å�ˆå†�跑。如æ¤è¿™èˆ¬ï¼Œè·‘到å��五,我就开始累得å��血了。结果å®�船法师ã€�常凯法师他们出æ�¥ï¼Œå�«æˆ‘ä¸�å�¯ä»¥è·‘,必须è¦�å�œã€‚我说,æ£åœ¨å�šçš„æ—¶å€™ï¼Œå�Šé€”ä¸�å�šï¼Œæ€Žä¹ˆè¡Œå‘¢ï¼Ÿä¸�å�¯ä»¥å�œçš„ï¼�å…å��多个组两百多人,我è¦�指挥,我è¦�去招,æ¯�天都是我招的,我å�œä¸‹æ�¥é’±å°±æ²¡æœ‰äº†ï¼Œä¸€å®šè¦�å�šã€‚结果还是跑足了一个月。å�Žæ�¥åŒ»ç”ŸæŸ¥å‡ºæˆ‘肺上长瘤,说是一å��血就è¦�动手术,明确就是癌症。那是å�Žè¯�,这里就ä¸�多说了ï¼�ï¼�事实上,那以å�Žçš„æˆ‘在陈笃生医院出出进进八年,最å�Žæˆ‘那个瘤å��而照ä¸�到了,å�ªå‰©ä¸‹ä¸€ç‚¹ç—•迹而已。我的æ€�度是,ä¸�管它,没什么了ä¸�起。我è¦�说的是,真æ£äº†ä¸�起的,ä¸�是我们个人,是广大普通的信众。
就是在那次跑ä¸å…ƒä¼šçš„æ—¥å�里,在女皇镇è�œå¸‚场,有一天,我去招ä¸å…ƒä¼šï¼Œé�‡åˆ°ä¸€ä¸ªç®¡äº‹çš„,胖胖的男人,我跟他说,我是佛教总会的代表,我们è¦�建文殊ä¸å¦ï¼Œè¦�在这边募æ��。没想到这个胖男人大å�¼ä¸€å£°“èµ°å¼€ï¼�”手上还拿ç�€æ�€çŒªåˆ€ï¼Œæ€�度é�žå¸¸å‡¶ã€‚é‚£æˆ‘è¯´ï¼Œæˆ‘ä»¬çœŸçš„æ˜¯ä¸ºäº†å¦æ ¡ï¼Œä»–æ ¹æœ¬ä¸�买我的å¸�,说:“ä½ è·Ÿæˆ‘å�«æ�Žæœ¨æº�æ�¥ï¼�”糟糕ï¼�我跟他å�ˆæ²¡æœ‰å†¤ä»‡ä¸ºä»€ä¹ˆè®²è¯�这么凶,还拿æ�€çŒªåˆ€ä¸€æŒ‡ï¼Ÿæˆ‘就照实跟他说,我就是æ�Žæœ¨æº�,哪知é�“人家一å�¬ï¼Œé©¬ä¸Šå°±å�˜äº†ä¸€ä¸ªäººä¼¼åœ°çƒæƒ…:“ä½ æ˜¯æ�Žå…ˆç”Ÿï¼Ÿå��ã€�å��ã€�å��ï¼�è¦�ä¸�è¦�å–�咖啡?”为什么å�˜å¾—这么快?我问他,他爽直得很,告诉我说“我æ¯�äº²æ˜¯ä½ ä»¬çš„ä¼šå‘˜ï¼Œå¥¹è€�人家交代我,è°�æ�¥éƒ½æ‹’ç»�,å�ªæœ‰ä½ æ�¥å�¯ä»¥æŽ¥å�—。”è¿™æ ·çš„äº‹ä¾‹å¤ªå¤šäº†ï¼Œä¸�èƒœæžšä¸¾ã€‚æˆ‘å…¶å®žå¾ˆæƒæ„§ï¼Œå› 为这些居士è€�è�©è�¨ï¼Œå¥½å¤šæˆ‘å¹¶ä¸�认得,我想,她们这么å�‘å¿ƒï¼Œæ˜¯å› ä¸ºå¥¹ä»¬çœŸå¿ƒçœŸæ„�ã€�全心全æ„�地信奉佛法,这些普通的信众,她(他)们æ‰�是所有佛教团体的ä¸å�šåŠ›é‡�。
Very touching. 真的�感谢四��。
however, there are too little buddhist pri sch...
and they are in the east side...
some parents who wanted to send their children to the buddhist sch will find it not practical to do so as the sch is really too far...
take for example, if staying in woodlands, yishun, chua chu kang, jurong area...
Can also consider sending children to attend some buddhist's classes (typically weekly) like Tzu Chi Foundation children classes (in Pasir Ris), AMTB's 弟å�è§„ class etc
hi everyone, i m an ex-mahabodhian and currently in Manjusri sec school =D
I m proud of my current school though it don't really have gd reputation.
My school focus on moral education and some monks will come and give a speech(recently, ajahn brahm has came to give us a speech)
I have been in two buddist schools and it really teaches us the moral values.
My school have vegetarian food stall but there's only one. There are muslim food stall available for muslims and hindus, chicken rice stall and chinese cooked food stall.. and many others so it did not only serve vegetables -__-".
I love my school ~
Originally posted by AsimpleKid:hi everyone, i m an ex-mahabodhian and currently in Manjusri sec school =D
My school focus on moral education and some monks will come and give a speech(recently, ajahn brahm has came to give us a speech)
My school have vegetarian food stall but there's only one. There are muslim food stall available for muslims and hindus, chicken rice stall and chinese cooked food stall.. and many others so it did not only serve vegetables -__-".
I love my school ~
Welcome to the forum :) Interesting Ajahn Brahm also teaching there... that's great.
How old are you now btw?
Originally posted by AsimpleKid:hi everyone, i m an ex-mahabodhian and currently in Manjusri sec school =D
I love my school ~
Wow you are really blessed to be in not one, but two Buddhist schools... To top it up you also get to hear Ajahn Brahm. He is an excellent speaker.
and red swastika!
Haha, he just came for 1 hour to give a talk and left.
I am 15 yrs old this year.
Originally posted by AsimpleKid:Haha, he just came for 1 hour to give a talk and left.
I am 15 yrs old this year.
Wow great! Gd you are beginning interest and practice in Buddhism at such an early age...
p.s. me too hehe... in fact I took over this forum as owner when I was 14. Now I just turned 18 ;)
Oh that means you are still studying ... =D haha.. It is very Gd of you to manage this forum and studying at the same time.. You have potential as a great leader.
Do u intend to be a monk/nun ?( curious)..
Originally posted by AsimpleKid:Oh that means you are still studying ... =D haha.. It is very Gd of you to manage this forum and studying at the same time.. You have potential as a great leader.
Do u intend to be a monk/nun ?( curious)..
Erm... no intentions to be a monk nor a "great leader".
Just an ordinary practitioner.. lol
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Wow great! Gd you are beginning interest and practice in Buddhism at such an early age...
p.s. me too hehe... in fact I took over this forum as owner when I was 14. Now I just turned 18 ;)
buddy ,u r so young ,good .bless u