besides the language factor, I feel that bcus buddhism contains too much restrictions and nowadays youth only wants FUN. like they go to their church and with all their cell groups to make more friends, play music etc. in their mindset buddhism is all about chanting and praying. of cus the fact is that they do not know/are not opened to any of the buddhist teachings.. buddhist organisations should organise more activites that will appeal to the youth.. its not that easy . buddhism deals with all the can only 'do good' and many of the youth are still in the rebellious, not settled down state that they can't accept all the rules or restrictions to get attracted to the religion.. like say, can't wear shorts/ spag tops to the temple, no screamings/shouting etc. we know all these is to respect, but the youth do not understand.. there's a lot to be done..
Originally posted by Catknight:Hi guys, For those who are more then nominal buddhists, is it true there a revival of our youths to know more about buddhism? But many youngsters like to be christians cause now they are English educated
There is alot of good ang mo Venerable who preach the Dharma, who came to singapore to give dharma talk. Furthermore, most of the local venerable received bilingual education, they can also preach Dharma in English or Chinese. As far as i have known, there are always been english speaking buddhist in singapore since long long time ago. Buddhism is also flourishing in the west in recent years.
Originally posted by faith.capri:besides the language factor, I feel that bcus buddhism contains too much restrictions and nowadays youth only wants FUN. like they go to their church and with all their cell groups to make more friends, play music etc. in their mindset buddhism is all about chanting and praying. of cus the fact is that they do not know/are not opened to any of the buddhist teachings.. buddhist organisations should organise more activites that will appeal to the youth.. its not that easy . buddhism deals with all the can only 'do good' and many of the youth are still in the rebellious, not settled down state that they can't accept all the rules or restrictions to get attracted to the religion.. like say, can't wear shorts/ spag tops to the temple, no screamings/shouting etc. we know all these is to respect, but the youth do not understand.. there's a lot to be done..
Like what kind of fun. There are so many kinds of fun. I think wearing spag or shorts are only restricted when you go to temple, it is a form of respect. Anyway i also still see my fellow buddhist friends wear shorts to some temple. The venerable, they don't even stop you from going to temple becos of your attire.
This is a buddhist etiquette.Temple is more of a place for people to seek refuge. It is a quiet and peaceful sanctury for people to pray, to meditate,to chant, to have a peace of mind.
Ehh do you think the man couldn't have lust arising in them, esp of girls who wear .. showing their cleavage? It's kind of distracting. There is not the right place to flaunt your assets.
If you visit a foreign country, sometime you might get a culture shock, but it is courteous to follow the local etiquette cos it is a form of respect.
Btw, there are activites organise for youth. It just that we don't emphasis so much on the fun like Church do. However, i have to agreed with someone who have once said Buddhism is more of Xiu Xin, Yang xing.
Happiness does not have to come with so much fun. After the fun, what happen to the happiness? Happiness come from within.
I dont want to deny but im a teenager too. Many of the people i know have been 'dragged' to church and after that they become church-goers and some even christians. But as for me, i was once invited by a friend of mine to a church, not city harvest of course but one near city for a christmas event thing. This friend brought 3 other people, two whom was my friends too. The pastor talked and talked and after the whole session the two friends of mine said they wanted to become christian. They were so amused and fascinated by what the pastor says. Fortunately, two years later which is today they are not christians because they thought and thought again and found it should not be so. But at that moment, i think in their heart they are very confused and that's why they make sudden decisions.
Personally, though i find what the pastor says is quite charistmatic, i dont buy his ideas nor for christianity. To me, sometimes the reason why teens are attracted to other religions is simply that they have no destiny or fate with buddhism. Simply that, seriously. I have a friend whoose parents are devout buddhist, but shes a christian. How is that so? Its really a personal thing, not influence from parents or friends(though sometimes its peer pressure).
I know the majority of teens about my age are more attracted to Christianity, but as i thought again thats their own choice and they will face the effects of it according to their own will. For me, i feel that i have close karmic relationship with buddhism based on experiences and its philosophies. My parents aint very devout buddhist but i eventually followed Buddhism. Seriously, its all about the way each and everyone wants to go. But anyway, those teens who are christian now may suddenly change their religion as they grow older, because as people grow up, their beliefs slowly change and what they experience is a great factor too. I hope by that time they will learn buddhism.
You are right to say that Buddhism is spreading very quickly in the West, and there is no denial it is on the decline in the entire Asia. Though some people might argue that Buddhism is spreading in Singapore, i dont think so at all and thats the truth. Materialism cant go well with Buddhism, and you know most people nowadays are in 'materialism'.
Originally posted by Catknight:Hi guys, For those who are more then nominal buddhists, is it true there a revival of our youths to know more about buddhism? But many youngsters like to be christians cause now they are English educated
I think the language is not really a barrier anymore. As there are many monastery that the activities is conducted in english especially for theravada and vajrayana monasteries.
It is in fact like what people said, the way they attract new comers to join if they have any plan to actively seek people to join them.
I agree that the church service pays more attention on entertainment than other religions especially buddhism.
In fact, many buddhists also like to enjoy life and have fun, but we know what is the suitable time and place to have fun and what is not.
We still go outings with friends, chitchat, watch movie, surf net, play sports and so on.
But when it comes to time to learn about the truth of life, to study dharma, to meditate we will stay focus.
Imagine if the school allows the students to play computer games during lesson, I don't think that is appropriate, right? When it is about time to sit for the O level that will affect the rest of their life, can their entertainer help them?
So, to cherish our life, know when to enjoy, when to practice. :)
werther: I, we, buddhists understand why we need to respect and dress appropriately, but kids, youth, non-buddhists do not.. I agree with you on the 'Xiu Xin, Yang xing' part. My point is kids and youth who are not born in buddhist family or have the chance to understand buddhist teachings will not understand why do buddhists do these. kids wants to play, youth wants freedom, they won't get attracted easily to buddhism as compared to eg. Christianity.
even I myself, been born in a very devoted buddhist family and my family are strict vegetarians, I simply followed through the chantings, prayers and customs since young, its till when I started attending dharma classes, I truly start to understand why am I doing the things I do, what benefits will there be, I start to learn about karma and impermanence etc. Even though I live in a buddhist influenced environment, it took me years and a dharma teacher to understand buddhism. let alone about any other youth today. and as we know, many self-claimed 'buddhists' in singapore only go to temple and pray, wish for health & happiness, yet they do not take the three refuge or know of any buddhist teachings. so we have many youth who are 'buddhists' bcus they follow their parents who are also 'buddhists' and all they do is to follow blindly. or else, they go into other religion or be 'free thinker'. thats why its very important that we have to first attract youth to buddhism through ways to let them know buddhism is not only 'chanting, praying, boring and full of restrictions'.
In order for youth to understand buddhism, they will need the opportunity and the very important first step.
and if they're able to choose a religion, they'll prefer the easier one, with more fun & friends rather than chanting/meditating with aunties and uncles.
We know all these is like judging by the cover, but the truth is humans are ignorant, not everybody can easily make the right choice right from the start.
wilsonhao: yep. I believe in my point of view, kids get attracted to christianity cus they want to have fun, make friends, peer pressure and there's a lot of faith issues. like whenever they're troubled, they would like to think there's someone(god) they can rely on.. I also have got a close friend who used to be buddhist(not devoted, just follower) turned into christianity and got so influenced by it, she will sing praises, get excited by all the cell group meetings, and attend all sunday masses. but now, 1 year later, she also stopped going, though she still claim to be a christian. for a period, going to church is like the 'in' thing. people greet each other by 'which church do you go to'? and kids normally will go with the flow, and wants to be 'cool'..
I also hope too, when they grow up, they'll be able to learn buddhism. and here goes, where is the opportunity/chance to first let them be 'attracted' to buddhism to know about the teachings?
Buddhism is indeed declining in asia.. most of my friends are either christians or they have no religion(even though their family might be buddhists).
nowadays youth are exposed to more of fashion, clubbing.. they're more into enjoying life through 'have fun get drunk', hang out with friends till midnight, being cool and fashionable and so on. and Buddhism is like the opposite.. perhaps wait till they've experienced the temporary fun and happiness and start searching for lasting happiness..
Wonder if any saw this article?
And they are not just following the faith but also taking up leadership roles
Singapore -- YOUNG, educated and holding a white-collared job: This could describe the average credit-card holder - but it also describes the growing breed of practising Buddhists here.
Radiation therapist Melissa Koh, 25, for example, started taking Buddhist classes a few years ago, just before she began working and needed 'spiritual help' to sort out what she wanted in life.
'I can apply the teachings of mindfulness, compassion and impermanence to what I do every day,' said the young woman, who has since moved on to volunteering with Buddhist groups and is organising a conference for Buddhist youth in August.
She is part of a groundswell of younger followers who mark Vesak Day today with Buddhists here and abroad. Temples, missions and meditation centres confirm that most new followers of this faith are around her age.
That census also acknowledged a four-fold jump in Buddhists who were graduates between 1990 and 2000, a statistic fed by the jump in the number of younger people following the tenets of the faith.
The membership numbers of Buddhist youth groups are telling: The Kong Meng San Youth Ministry, which had 950 members in 2003, has almost 3,600 now; seven in 10 of their members have at least a diploma, said its manager Yap Ching Wi, 39.
At the Singapore Buddhist Mission Youth, membership jumped from 10 a decade ago to 200 members aged between 12 and 24 today, said committee member Alvin Yeo, 24.
And these younger people are not just following the faith in private. They are coming forward to take leadership roles in Buddhist groups, giving the top rungs new blood.
Ten years ago, less than a quarter of the members of Toa Payoh Seu Teck Sean Tong Temple's management committee of volunteers were under 50. Today, about half are, and most are working professionals, said the temple's ritual head Joe Lim, 42, who works in the information technology line.
(Seu Teck Sean Tong is not an orthodox Buddhist temple though, it is a Shantang)
So what is the draw?
Buddhist converts told The Straits Times that the religion offered comfort in the face of uncertainties and disasters, and a constant reminder to look beyond the materialism of the rat race and to attain calmness and happiness through meditation and reflection.
These were what pulled Hindu-born Tara Melwani, 43 and director of the retailing group Jay Gee Melwani, into the faith in the late 1990s, during the Asian economic crisis. She had then been picked to take over the family business, and felt that her life was in a shambles.
When a Buddhist monk she met overwhelmed her with his show of compassion, she decided that she, too, wanted to be 'free from confusion, hang-ups and anger'.
'Through Buddhism, I can be a better daughter, a better sister, a better friend and a better colleague,' she said.
The religion seems to have quite a large celebrity following. For example, actress Nadya Hutagalung, 34, born into a largely Christian family, became a Buddhist four years ago, sold on its philosophy of reaping what you sow.
Many young professionals encounter Buddhist teachings through centres and gatherings, and spread the word through e-mail, websites and even social networking sites like Facebook.
Buddhist groups have, on their part, evolved to attract younger followers: Most activities are now run in English, and even include programmes to hone leadership and personal development skills.
By making itself accessible and inclusive, the religion has reached out even to those of other religions.
Singapore Exchange chief Hsieh Foo Hua, 57, for example, is a staunch Christian who attends Buddhist talks, especially those by high monks.
He said: 'Buddhism is a very embracing and non- exclusive religion...I am fundamentally rooted as a Christian but I am impressed and influenced by Buddhist thinking, which has helped me in the uplifting of the mind and spirit.'
There are english Dharma classes as well.
haha its definitely good to see that :D
I don't really know how true is that, cus all around me, or my buddhist friends, whenever we talked we realised most of our friends(in school, work) are not buddhists. very very few.. even my friends younger siblings, all stopped going to temple and start going to church! so thats why we see how there's a problem.
more of those above the age of 25 being buddhists, its more likely true.. cus they're able to go into the teachings and start accepting what they feel is more comfortable and true..
Yup, we can slowly see buddhist organisations in sg like KMS, SBM offering more english activities and dharma talks..
Originally posted by faith.capri:haha its definitely good to see that :D
I don't really know how true is that, cus all around me, or my buddhist friends, whenever we talked we realised most of our friends(in school, work) are not buddhists. very very few.. even my friends younger siblings, all stopped going to temple and start going to church! so thats why we see how there's a problem.
more of those above the age of 25 being buddhists, its more likely true.. cus they're able to go into the teachings and start accepting what they feel is more comfortable and true..
Yup, we can slowly see buddhist organisations in sg like KMS, SBM offering more english activities and dharma talks..
Hello, how about attending more dharma class and join buddhist youth camp to get to know more dharma friend then.. if you are keen in making more spiritual friends.
Happy Journey.
Btw i think it is rather stereotypical that buddhism is for chinese speaking people. I used to think it that way but then i don't think it is really true.
buddhism got different kind right?
Originally posted by wonderamazement:buddhism got different kind right?
What kinds do you know of ?
Originally posted by werther:
What kinds do you know of ?
dunno... at home pray kwan yin, like a bit mix taoism leh.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:buddhism got different kind right?
Buddhism is classified into two main schools : Theravada and Mahayana. Ultimately their goal is the same.
According to Buddha, there are 84000 Dharma doors to one's enlightenment.This is because different people have different inclination towards a certain form of practise. Some people like to nian fo and some people like to meditate. etc.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:
dunno... at home pray kwan yin, like a bit mix taoism leh.
That is more like Chinese folk traditions. Not any particular Buddhist school.
There certainly is a major revival of Buddhism going on in Singapore.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:That is more like Chinese folk traditions. Not any particular Buddhist school.
Kwan Yin is oso adopted in Taosim ..its not a chinese folk tradition............
Originally posted by werther:Buddhism is classified into two main schools : Theravada and Mahayana. Ultimately their goal is the same.
According to Buddha, there are 84000 Dharma doors to one's enlightenment.This is because different people have different inclination towards a certain form of practise. Some people like to nian fo and some people like to meditate. etc.
hi,
There is another school called Vajrayan School Tibetan Buddhism...the goal are the same but the practise are very very different especially Tibetan buddhism.....
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:That is more like Chinese folk traditions. Not any particular Buddhist school.
well mom and dad do go to temples to chant sutras and stuff.
Actually, Buddha ever told us in sutras that his teachings is not what ordinary human being like and somewhat 'against the current'. Like when he say there is no God, then people will argue and dislike this statement, thinking theres a God. When Buddha spoke of suffering in life, people dislike and some tarnish it thinking that what he says is very pessimistic.
I feel personally, that the teachings of Buddhism will not be as popular and widely accepted as Christianity. Why is that so? Because most people dont want to hear the truth and face reality. They rather go to church and hang out with their friends, do a bit of singing and hear some preachings that they themselves are ordinary beings kind of agree with. Then they feel happy just like that.
Therefore if you want me to compare, Buddhism is a teaching from mudane to supramudane, and is very profound. Only those who are wise or have affinity with Buddhism will really understand that the more difficult path is indeed the higher path.
Originally posted by wilsonhao:Actually, Buddha ever told us in sutras that his teachings is not what ordinary human being like and somewhat 'against the current'. Like when he say there is no God, then people will argue and dislike this statement, thinking theres a God. When Buddha spoke of suffering in life, people dislike and some tarnish it thinking that what he says is very pessimistic.
I feel personally, that the teachings of Buddhism will not be as popular and widely accepted as Christianity. Why is that so? Because most people dont want to hear the truth and face reality. They rather go to church and hang out with their friends, do a bit of singing and hear some preachings that they themselves are ordinary beings kind of agree with. Then they feel happy just like that.
Therefore if you want me to compare, Buddhism is a teaching from mudane to supramudane, and is very profound. Only those who are wise or have affinity with Buddhism will really understand that the more difficult path is indeed the higher path.
Thats right. Good observations.
Of course, we also have to take into accounts of things, such as miracles, such as the promise of salvation and the fear of eternal condemnation, and so on.
Bible is 'simple' -- or appears to be simple, in that all you have to do is have faith, and be saved. It sounds like a simple message that appeals to the masses, thats why Christianity is now the most popular religion in the world.
And what about hell? Don't all of us fear being forever condemned in a lake of fire? That's why, fear is part of it.
For Buddhism, we have a very rich philosophy and is very practical to all our lives... still, it requires certain kinds of conditionings for people to turn and look upon Buddhism... for me I'm fortunate, because my mom brought me to Buddhism at a very young age. But not everyone are so fortunate.
i was approached by 3 girls from a church on my way to work. they invited me to join a game called Hungry go where. Go eat the whole journey for a fee. I thought, shouldnt them be thinking of helping the poor and needy? there are so many ppl need food and other stuff...