but do you sit there and wait for it to go away?? where do you draw the line between being stubborn and having the right effort in seeking a cure?? what if the cure is so near and yet so far?? what if you dont even know what the sickness is??
No we dont sit there and wait for sickness to go away. If you think you have a sickness, go for medical checkup or seek medical help. When you are sick, seek help and cure. And if you can, try to do some meditation stuffs.
But meditation isnt going to help alone. There are cases where many people who have terminal illness think they can cure the sickness by just meditating, or go to miracle healer to cure the sickness. In the end, these people suffer because they divert their attention to miracle stuffs instead of seeking real medical cure.
That is why, simple line is : Eat when you are hungry. Sleep when you are tired. Seek cure when you are sick. Thats enligtenment.
Originally posted by extra one:but do you sit there and wait for it to go away?? where do you draw the line between being stubborn and having the right effort in seeking a cure?? what if the cure is so near and yet so far?? what if you dont even know what the sickness is??
Just go to the doctor, if the doctor can't help, go specialist, if specialist can't help, it's probably beyond the field of medical knowledge.
Originally posted by An Eternal Now:Just go to the doctor, if the doctor can't help, go specialist, if specialist can't help, it's probably beyond the field of medical knowledge.
Ya lor. Sick liao sit there for what? Wait till it gets worse and turns contagious or causing inconvenience to others?
Seek treatment lah!
sickness is part of life..What is not part of life?
Though this is buddhism forum, but I would like to offer some health tips.
1) Drink a lot of water after wakeup
2) Do morning exercise everyday
3) Use cold water to shower
4) Sleep early
If you can do all these 4, your health is guaranteed.
Originally posted by Display Name:sickness is part of life..What is not part of life?
Though this is buddhism forum, but I would like to offer some health tips.
1) Drink a lot of water after wakeup
2) Do morning exercise everyday
3) Use cold water to shower
4) Sleep early
If you can do all these 4, your health is guaranteed.
Eh I heard about the shower with cold water. But why huh?
Originally posted by yamizi:Eh I heard about the shower with cold water. But why huh?
It is said that cold water can stimulate the body cells, make it more alert and able to allow electric flow through it easily. Chinese physician also said that, can't remember what is the term they use to explain this.
Swimming in cold water even help more, but the feeling is miserable when you begin to go into the water. But is ok, greater pain comes with greater result.
For the benefit of all human sentient beings, I think the water cooler should be for shower room and the water heater should be for drinking purpose. They have swapped it wrongly, that's why we have so many diseases.
u got ur point, but i cannot imagine drinking hot water, in such hot weather in singapore
Originally posted by rokkie:u got ur point, but i cannot imagine drinking hot water, in such hot weather in singapore
Then drink warm water lor. Cold water also bad for gastric.
Originally posted by rokkie:u got ur point, but i cannot imagine drinking hot water, in such hot weather in singapore
If really die die must drink cold water, then let the cold water stay in your mouth to warm up first before swallowing it. Sometimes I can't finish the cold drink, just let it be.
Money is already paid, you can't get back the money even if you can't finish.
in fact, i found different people have different tolerance to cold water, anyway after i played basketbal, i found i can hardly resist the extremely cold water.The best is ice water. But now,i feel bad when eating icecream, maybe my stomach have been hurt because chain smoking
Originally posted by rokkie:in fact, i found different people have different tolerance to cold water, anyway after i played basketbal, i found i can hardly resist the extremely cold water.The best is ice water. But now,i feel bad when eating icecream, maybe my stomach have been hurt because chain smoking
Don't be mistaken, the ice water is for your shower room 1. Next time when you play basketball, you will 功力大增. wow.
Anyway, having a good health is more meaningful if you make good use of it. With good health, you can practice dharma, can concentrate better, no need to trouble people around you when you sick.
At least be able to die peacefully (善终), seriously, this is one of the five fortune (五�).
When one die in a miserable way, it is rather difficult for him to remain mindfulness or even chant buddha's name/mantra. But of coz to be able to 善终, you need a lot of practice everyday rather than relying on just the health.